We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Schwarzes Rossl”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Schwarzes Rossl
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Schwarzes Rossl”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Although I had read some negative reports, my experience was very good. Staff were friendly and helpful, the room, toilets and showers were clean. Breakfast was more than adequate. Situation was very good for places of interest and in very pleasant area. Unfortunately the toilet nearest to my room was out of order, so I had to walk a bit further, but overall I was definitely satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank 337Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
8
15
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Not a bad Hotel at all. I read a couple of bad reviews but my room was quite new and had a great view of the lake from the balcony. Breakfast was very good. Hotel was located in the centre of the village. It was close to the bus service and the boats on the lake.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies. ask for one if booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caseyjonesDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Booked this before reading some poor reviews. Found the hotel to be clean and comfortable, good value. Balcony room overlooked the town square. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of food. Hotel is well situated in a very pretty town, easy to walk around the local streets. A good choice of restaurants nearby. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica_M255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

if you are looking for high quality service, top wellness and really great comfort you probably will be disappointed. The last major investments definitely have taken place a while ago. The plumbing units are very, very functional. Staff looked like to be reduced to the minimum necessary.

But if you simply try to find a good place to stay overnight for really fair money and value to be in the very center of St. Wolfgang, where everything is round the corner - this is your pace.

Rooms - as said - are rather simple but clean and beds nicely laid out. Though staying only one night I enjoyed the balcony and the view from it.

Staff is friendly and keen to help you.

Breakfast is fine - good average I'd say.

The View to the lake and the nearby church was fantastic on a sunny autumn day and I guess it will be so in winter as well.

And the price is really fair compared to all the posh locations around.

Room Tip: Not sure whether there ARE rooms on the other side but make sure you have a room with lakeview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ketchup99Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We booked this hotel when it had last 2 available rooms (we chose this hotel because we were on a way back home and it was pretty late whe we arrived so we just overslept 1 night). We had a room without balcony. This room was REALLY simple, old but clean and I have to add one thing, sheets should be thrown away because they had some marks that are not possible to wash out and it's not really pleasant to see something like that (it never happened to me even in cheaper places).
Comparing to prices of this hotel I would expect MORE. We heard the owner is a Polish guy - the hotel looks like there was no reconstruction at least 20 years - rooms, reception, lift - everything.
Breakfast: typical European not much to choose from - I mean variety of salami or cheese wasn't wide. Of course you can also have something sweet, too. I would like the hotel owner to tell his staff to clean the tables after people leave, also refill drinks and food because it was missing. No one even came to ask me if I want a coffee, in fact I didn't even see the person who's responsible for the breakfast at all.
What I appreciate is that the hotel is pet friendly, but once again there was something - pet per night cost 15 euro not 3 euro as stated on their home page (not a big deal but it should cost as it is).
Even if they don't have their own parking you can park near by on parking places that have blue color. If you're lucky enough you will find something :) if not there's a parking house 300 meters away - but we did find parking place on Friday during hot season at the end of June.
Location is right in the heart of the town on a main square that is marvelous, in fact the whole town is absolutely stunning.
You can rent a little motor boat for 15 euro per hour near from the main square, there are lots of options for outdoor activities.
Hotel doesnt have it's own restaurant (the one downstairs isn't the hotel's) but it's okay, there are restaurants wherever you move. I would recommend the one with the logo of fish, they serve fish from this lake and it's a really nice restaurant with nice food and staff .
I would not recommend this hotel to my friends at all and those who can afford hotels with price from 100 to 150 euro (or more - our room cost 68 euro via booking..com on last minute). The town is really nice and if you stay more than a night please choose something more classy it worth every penny to go to St. Wolfgang...and to be honest St. Wolfgang is the most beautiful town around this lake (well it's something like a capital of that lake).
There is a Romantikhotel Im Weißen Rössl ( white horse) - we did like it a lot. It's on this square but there are lots of nice hotels and private pensions all over the town.
We are young couple, travel a lot - be aware that this hotel is hotel without any star :))) funny, isn't it - I always say, you're not so wealthy to throw your money out for a s''''t products or services. Pay 20 euro more and enjoy your stay in another place. Pictures from web page are far away from the reality, the bathroom is some kind of plastic (can't name the material, but it doesnt have tiles...).
It's a shame and a pity that a hotel with this kind of potential and top location looks as it does...

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are looking at the square, without to a backyard of another private pension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinaSt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Visited August 2007
My husband and I booked a 1 week ‘Taste of Austria’ break with Inghams (via last minute.com) departing on the August bank holiday weekend. We paid £199 for flights, transfers and a week’s half board accommodation.

Having read the other reviews we were expecting to stay in the annexe of the Wiesbauer, but we actually ended up in a different hotel - Hotel Schwarzes Rossl (The Black Horse).

The original room was large with a big and light bathroom and toilet area, although there was no balcony. As the weather was good we asked to change rooms and the management happily obliged and transferred us to a room at the front of the hotel with a balcony. The room itself was a good size with two twins (set up as a double), colour TV, table and 2 chairs, along with a small balcony with two chairs and a small table. The bathroom is best described as a ‘pod’ but had a full shower and was adequate, the downside being there were no windows to open so it could smell a little musty unless you left the bathroom door open whilst out for the day.

The hotel is right in the centre of St Wolfgang and our balcony overlooked the church with the mountain views behind. It can be a little noisy (although not an issue for us) as coaches drop off and the dustbin visit is early, also one evening there was ‘Summer’ festival with bands and bars in the street.

Breakfast was taken in the hotel and was good, consisting of cereals, yoghurt, a selection of hams and cheeses along with breads, jam and honey. There were also usually hard boiled eggs and each morning a couple of different items such as tomato, cucumber, melon or grapes and even profiteroles (!)

The evening meal was taken within the Wiesbauer and probably best described as ‘adequate’. There was a soup each evening with choice of two main courses (which had to be ordered the day before), and a small sweet (such as ice cream). There was also a small salad selection, usually sweetcorn, carrot, lettuce and cabbage. We ate out a couple of nights as there wasn’t anything on the menu that appealed. We have been on Inghams ‘Taste of Austria’ twice before and the evening meal has been much better. However, considering the cost of the holiday and how much the hotel must receive, its still excellent value overall (it would be interesting to see if anyone had paid brochure price – around £550 each - for a comparison).

St Wolfgang is a lovely place. We were lucky to have a several days where the weather was fabulous and the lake itself had a great atmosphere with people sunbathing (although mostly private areas), swimming, sailing etc.

We walked around the lake – around 16 miles and most of the walk is pretty flat apart from the part between St Wolfgang and St Gilgen, so would suggest that you do this part first before you are too tired!. We also experienced the cog railway to the top of Schafberg Mountain for stunning views. It’s also easy to get the ferry from St Wolfgang to the neighbouring villages on the lake such as St Gilgen and Stobl. In St Gilgen we walked up Zwölferhorn mountain (around 2/12 hours) but there is also a cable car. The tourist information office has small maps which has walking routes included.

Overall a good break in a lovely location which was excellent value for money and is reflected in the rating.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — evening meal
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SpecialTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East Wales. UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

I saw two reviews of this hotel (after I booked it!) on the web. Both terrible. But its a great place to stay!

Firstly,I booked on price. It was very well priced compared to everywhere else in the area. Think 'posh travel inn' and you hit the mark. The view from the room was of the frozen lake. The hotel is opposite the square from the white horse inn- a hotel that has an operatte named after it (its a bit danny kay to my ears mind you) and the square is the centre of St Wolfgang (and just where the skibus stops). There was another absolutely marvellous restaurant across the square (venison/trout/lots of austrian special/ deserts to die for (and of)), the hotel breakfast was excellent - cold meats/cheese/ fresh bread rolls, cake, jam , butter , cream cheese, ample coffe and four types of tea..and as the concierge introduced to us with a flourish as she lifted the lid of a basket... 'zee varrrrm heegs'. Your room key opens the hotel door also as the reception is on the first floor. It was warm, perfectly clean (yes one of the the sheets had been darned, but austrians do that - the hotel opposite darned its tablecloths....), well decorated with some excellent pictures on the walls, oh and we were told there was tv but no english channels ...almost true, there was a CNN english news channel (but thats american so point taken).

We would go back.

One important point. The week in feb we picked was a holiday for austrians. The brilliant restaurant opposite and the four star white horse were all the eateriers available! (There is suppose to be a pizzeria somewhere and also a fish and chip shop but they remained hidden). There were three bars we found. Nicely appointed and EMPTY. Actually one or two locals used them- they were vey cultural. Everyone we met howevere was exceptionally pleasant. :) No shops open on sunday or saturday afternnon mostly (again this was a holiday week so may not have been too representative- but St Wolfgang is a summer 'day trip' resort it appears. It IS very pretty howver and the inside of the wonderful church in the square is one of the best you will ever see. Honest! Lots of walking for summer visitors too (and a rack and pinion train up the mountain)

So I thought the previous review of this place was a bit harsh. (black) horses for courses??


NB Skiing at Postalm was my first experience of such places. Mostly easy runs Im told. They looked pretty steep to me.... Did hear one or two negative comments about the standard of teaching - impatientce and stuff like that- but I dont do skiing so thats all hearsay and could we be a one-off. I enjoyed snow shoing through the woods just fine,.,.,.

Carl

  • Liked — Location, Clenliness and accessibility from ski bus
  • Disliked — No restaurant (but a very good one across the road)
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clwydian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
0.4 mi away
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
#8 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#2 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peter
Hotel Peter
#6 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
0.2 mi away
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
#4 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schwarzes Rossl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schwarzes Rossl

Property: Hotel Schwarzes Rossl
Address: Markt 30, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schwarzes Rossl 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Schwarzes Rossl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing