We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT FIND” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cortisen am See

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Cortisen am See
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“GREAT FIND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

I went to St wolfgang as a last minute decision. I arrived by bus from Bad Ischl. I had no reservation. I just though I do not want to drag my stuff around and I will take the first hotel I see. I entered the Cortisen. The reception area was nice. And immediately you see the interior design is warm and with personal touch. The lady at the disk asked me to see the rooms available and choose what I like. It was magnificent in a settle way. I was planning to stay a day and I ended staying for 3 nights and I would have stayed longer if I had more time. Every room is different. The furnishing is modern and esthetic. The room had all these gadgets that I did not see in 5 star hotels, a flat screen TV, not much english channels though, DVD, music/radio box, iPod with speaker charger. there is a balcony over looking the lake. Nice amenities available in the washroom. the place is spotless clean. The staff are amazing. The breakfast was really good. Mr Roland, the owner and manger really impressed me with his very courteous attitude. He lent me his backpack and hiking sticks to use as I was hiking up in the mountains. He provided the maps and instructions. I really had a great time. It felt personal and familiar. The hotel had original paintings all over.. it would be great to have ability to make coffee and tea in the room as it would be nice to read at night in the balcony. One can not stay for extended period as the price could be an issue but I will definitely like to go back for longer time. The outer terrace is at the edge of the lake. I would imagine it would be terrific in summer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSHY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    48
    23
    14
    8
See reviews for
28
307
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Cortisen am See Hotel is truly an experience beyond just being a hotel. The decor is so well done; funky yet so stylish. A room facing the lake provides a fantastic view of Wolfgangsee. The location is perfect, the staff is very accommodating and the selection of travel books is impressive. A must if visiting the Salzkammergut in Austria.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the lake...beautiful view and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jglgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We just had 5 amazing days at the Cortisen am See. What a beautiful place. Roland went out of his way to provide us an unforgetable hotel experience. The hospitality is just amazing. We will definately return. Whoever is planning to go, just enjoy it to the fullest.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our second stay in Cortisen and we were not disappointed. We had the Suite at the Top and the view was spectacular from a huge window. You could lie in bed and watch the view! It was very private. Top notch toiletries provided. Parking is over the road in the public multi storey but you don't have to pay. Spaces are on the small side but we hovered around until someone vacated a larger one!! The location is excellent and we were visiting the Christmas market which was excellent and just 5 min walk from hotel. Restaurant is fab. We ate there on our last night of two in St Wolfgang and it was excellent food and affordable wine. Roland and his team run a tidy ship and I would highly recommend a stay here and treat yourselves to a suite it is worth it as all are different! We will return!

Room Tip: Book a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnowQueen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Beautiful rooms. Good food. Nice staff. The garden is bit small but the lake is direct in front. If you like something different from typical austrian style hotels,this is the one to choose. It is modern stylish and up to date.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aguenther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

A true gem of a hotel! A unique place to relax and unwind. Great interior design with much attention to details. Very stylish, individually designed rooms with stunning views of the lake and the mountains. Great art all over the place, a wide selection of art books, an excellent restaurant with outstanding choices of food. Personal and attentive service. Though traveling a lot, this is one of my absolute favorites.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

On our recent trip to St. Wolfgang, one of the owners, Roland Ballner went out of his way to provide us with an extraordinary hotel experience. He went above and beyond in terms of making us feel welcome, including restaurant and hotel recommendations in other European cities we were heading to next. We love the hotel. We loved the restaurant in the hotel. We loved our room and our balcony overlooking the lake and everything else about Cortisen Am See. But
Roland just made it all more special. I highly recommend this hotel. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
0.3 mi away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
0.0 mi away
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
#5 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Peter
Hotel Peter
#8 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
#7 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Seehang
Hotel Restaurant Seehang
#12 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortisen am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortisen am See

Property: Hotel Cortisen am See
Address: Pilger Strasse 15 | 5360 St. Wolfgang, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Wolfgang
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Wolfgang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Wolfgang
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Wolfgang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cortisen am See 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star superior hotel Cortisen am See, the first boutique-hotel in that area, brings luxury accommodations to one of Central Europe's most beautiful areas. This refined hotel with 20 modern double rooms and 12 individually designed suites, has achieved the perfect liaison in its design between modern decor and a cabin-like feel. Situated directly at the Lake Wolfgang, with superb views. Children older than 12 years are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Cortisen am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortisen Am See St Wolfgang
Cortisen Am See Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing