We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in St. Wolfgang” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Peter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Peter
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in St. Wolfgang
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best hotel in St. Wolfgang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a gem of a hotel!

Great food, great views from all the rooms and a family run business that makes you feel welcome. Why would you want to stay any where else?

Another real plus is the free hotel parking which is important in St. Wolfgang.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    21
    4
    4
    6
See reviews for
26
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pardessia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Room overlooking St. Wolfgang Lake. Helpful staff.Very spacious suite with balcony with beautiful lake views. Breakfast with much choice. I was missing a Pool in order to justify four stars to this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeritPardessia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

1. It is a disgrace that Thompson brochure does not mention that there is no air conditioning in the so called 4 star Peter Hotel rooms or anywhere in the hotel. For the entire week temperature outside was 27-33 and plus 5 in the room; a torture chamber where we found it impossible to sleep at night.

3. The hotel with Thomson's/Crystal's full collaboration defies the trading standards. It is NOT a 4 star hotel:

A. No night porter, late entry by room card in the hotel.

B. No room service.

C. No laundry service.

D. One pathetic lounge measuring 5X3 meters and with plus 6 degrees temperature to outside; no air conditioning.

E. No swimming pool

F. No gym

G. Dinner Menu with a choice of just 2 main courses presented to the half board guests at breakfast time.

H. No porter service

The whole experience was a nightmare. I must also point out the one person who acted as the receptionist, manager, restaurant waiter, MR. MULLER was the rudest and most obnoxious person I have ever come across in my life.

Thompson! Shame on you for misleading and for me to spend close to £2000 for a B&B standard establishment, posing to and confirmed by you as a 4 star hotel with no mention that it does not have air conditioning. I will never, never book a holiday with you and I expect a full explanation of the way you have misled me and continue to do so in your brochure.

This is a true and genuine comment and is not written by some one to discredit either the hotel or Thompson/Crystal. You are most welcome to write to me through email and I give full permission to Trip Advisor to divulge my email address if required.

18th August to 25th August, Peter Hotel St Wolfgang

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

we stayed here for a week, a party of five, the rooms are very big, the hotel is super clean and the design really helps to feel the austrian atmosphere.

the staff are very good.

theres a nice pub, the hotel's restaurant and a pharmacy just beneath the hotel.

there was one big con that separate this hotel from perfection, and it is the fact that the rooms don't have a/c. I assume that in most of the year it is not necessary, and for most of our stay it the weather was good enough, but there were few days of 30+ degrees Celsius and it was unpleasent to be in our rooms, especially in night.

I think I will stay there once more, but without a/c it will probably wont be in august.

Room Tip: we had two rooms, room 309 was the nicer one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashditz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We visited this hotel with 2 toddlers and were very pleased with beautiful room, with a balcony which had lake side views.the hotel stuff is great and helpfull, the breakfast is very good,in the same restaurant you can have your dinner, which is great, you can also upgrade to half board, you wouldn't regret it, the hotel was a free parking next to it, but no bell boy, so you need to carry your own luggage. When it is hot, there is no air condition, which was bit disturbing, but rest of the days were ok, the location is great for st Wolfgang , you could take a boat cruise to st. Gilgen or further, or go by foot to the main street.
Loved this hotel and would recommend it

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Location, Location, Location!!!

2 reasons -
One, the hotel may not have access to the lake, which others like Weissen Rossel and Cortisen have, but the higher rooms atleast have a wonderful view of the lake.
Two, the hotel is right at the start of the lake strip, so you can simply park your car at the hotel and then roam the strip on foot.

Dont be disappointed by the indifference at the reception - half the times, we didnt see anyone at the reception of Hotel Peter. But their service in the restaurant is good..

All in all, good location - and thats what matters in Wolfgangsee.

Room Tip: Choose the higher floor rooms - the views might not be good at the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niraj_Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two weeks and had a really good holiday. Everyone was friendly and helpful, the food was good and the view from our room (308) was fantastic. Would definately recomend it. Had exceptionally hot weather over the fortnight which hindered our plans for walks but it did not spoil our enjoyment of the village and surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
0.0 mi away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#2 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
#7 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
#5 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel  Zimmerbrau
Hotel Zimmerbrau
#6 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peter

Property: Hotel Peter
Address: Markt 54, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Wolfgang
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Wolfgang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Peter 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Peter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter Hotel St Wolfgang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing