We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Veiws, Spacious Clean Rooms, Great Food and Happy, Happy Hour!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Wolfgang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seehaus Familie Leifer
Ranked #9 of 46 St. Wolfgang B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stunning Veiws, Spacious Clean Rooms, Great Food and Happy, Happy Hour!”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Honestly I don't want to write this....want to keep this all to myself but the family who run this hotel deserve to be praised....so here goes. I usually book 4-5 star as I fear to be dissapointed after spending so much money. However we wanted a cheap ski break and after reading the reviews here we thought we'd take a chance and booked through Crystal Ski who's service was fantastic as usual in and out of resort..
The room we had N0 1 had the most spectacular views from a massive balcony. The room was large with high celings, furnished traditionally and was so warm with an additional convector heater if we needed it. Bed was a large double austrian bed. Although the decor was simple it was one of the cleanest rooms I have ever stayed in. Furniture was all hand painted. Ensuite sepatate bathroom and toilet...bath was a great size.
The food was excellent and simple, home cooked with plenty of british like dishes to please my husband. Breakfast was a great range in continental style, cerial, yogurt, friut, cheese, meat, bread, rolls which you could help yourself and make a packed lunch for the day. Cheese board from upper Austria was plentiful, delicous and the range was great, particularly in the evening. Every morning you would have the choice of 2 main course dishes for evening meal. Soup, salad, sweet and cheese were all available too as is a free dring in the evening with full board. Lunch was simple easy food like sausage and chips or pizza and with soup. We were stuffed every day.
Happy hour is from 5-6pm and is buzzing....at 3 euros for 2 pints or 1.20 for a glass of wine. Always busy and within a very small bar area everyone soon gets to know each other and it's a great atmosphere. Others who visit reguarly and couldn't get a room still came over for this.
The family work tierlessly to provide for your every need.....we loved our stay here.
Husband boards, ski bus picks you up from outside the hotel and everyone gets chatty and excited...bus takes about 1/2 hr to get to Postalm which is a lovely quiet relaxed resort with reasonable prices and frienly people. I walk and relax and there are some great walks up in Postalm and eating and drinking places.
Walk to Falkenstein chappel out the hotel to the right and then carry on 2km on road, then turn uphill (really uphill) into the mountains and you will eventally get there...maps available. Light a candle, put a note in the visitors book and ring the bell 3 times for a wish,12km round trip or continue onto St Gilgen village which has the most amazing cable car journey. There are walks everywhere and the scenery is stunning. For a fantastic spa experience book into the White Horse Hotel (Im wessen rossl). They have a heated pool and jacuzzi on the lake, an indoor pool, all the spa facilities and more. Wrap yourself up in a blanket and read in the loungers in the most fabulous surroundings. You can use the facilities from 9am - 9pm for the princley sum of 18 euro or have lunch and treatments, hire bathroob and slippers as well for around £100 or so all in.
Only downside for some people...upside for us was at this time of year very quiet and not all shops and bars are open. For shopping go into Salzburg for the day...plenty shops there.
Thank you Maria, the 2 Franks and the daily maid (I never got her name) Perfect spot, perfect hotel and perfect service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KMMT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    60
    14
    14
    9
See reviews for
35
94
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
truro cornwall england
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

My husband and I went through the Trip Advisor reviews and thought there were more positive than Negative, so we took a chance and booked our skiing holiday. .Flying to Austria I was wondering about what we were in for. Arrived at Dr Leifer Hotel St Wolfgang and what a relief. We met all the guess, they were lovely and relaxed and each night we got together for Happy Hour, had our meals, then we all met up then went out in the evenings together drinking and playing games..Fantastic. Rooms are very clean but dated but that wasn't a problem. Food was simple but good, if you didn't like something Marie the owner would try to suggest something else. Marie is such a lovely,caring,sweet, thoughtful lady. Franc the husband does all the cooking (GOOD FOOD)and Franc the son is the bar, waiter etc He is so very helpful..We got back home on 29/01/2011 and we are booked to go back on the 26th three weeks time. Don't expect a 4 star hotel but its well worth its money. Our room looked over the lake and mountains, it was perfect.
To be honest you do have to wait 10/15 minutes for the water to warm up but again that's not a real problem. I have always stayed in 4/5 star hotels but now realize the small places are cleaner and definitely friendlier. I would recommend Dr Leifer Hotel St Wolfgang to anyone. 10/10 Marie,Franc & Son Franc are so lovely.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cornishangel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comber
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

stayed there for first time skiing holiday what a great place staff franc and maria were superb .rooms were very comfortable and warm.the food was superb you never went hungry.met some lovely people in the hotel which made it all seem so homely .booking again for next year.thanks again franc your a star

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank renak4691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Just back from a week in Hotel Leifer (also known as Dr Leifer) in St Wolfgang. This was booked as a last minute deal through Crystal Holidays. The hotel offers great value with a free hot lunch or packed lunch as well as one free drink with dinner. The food is not haute cuisine, but it is perfectly acceptable and there is plenty of it. The hosts are very courteous and helpful. Front rooms have a great view of the lake. Many of the rooms have a bath, which is quite unusual in Austria in our experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NottinghamJourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Apart from the fact that the hotel is quite well worn, the rest of the experience is very good. The food is very good and the evening menu quite varied - you won't go hungry here! The rooms are clean and the heating works very well. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Superb lakeside situation although some distance from ski resorts. Extremely good value for a ski hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnham-on-crouch
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Our room was furnished traditionally and although quite basic was clean and comfortable. We had a room at the back on top floor which afforded good views of the mountains and part of the lake.The staff were very friendly and liked to practice their English. The dinner menu was limited but the food was very good and you got a FREE drink. Be aware that St Wolfgang is a summer resort and as such very few shops/cafes were open in Jan. I think the hotel offers good value but if you want something more upmarket then be prepared to pay twice the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldshep77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Having always holidayed in the town's various 4-star hotels in the past, it was with some trepidation that we booked a week at the Leifer, as it was such a good price! We were very pleasantly surprised. We found the service to be excellent from the start. The bedroom and bathroom were immaculately clean, view over the lake and mountains breathtaking and bed very comfortable. The food was of the good, home-cooked variety and delicious - I don't think we once sent anything back on our plates at the end of a meal! Frank and Maria always did their utmost to help in any way they could. The decor could do with a little sprucing up very occasionally, but I certainly wouldn't go so far as to call it scruffy. As has been said before, this is not a 4-star hotel, but such good value that we will happily return again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniejumpingbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
0.5 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#2 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Landhaus zu Appesbach
Landhaus zu Appesbach
#9 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
Seevilla Wolfgangsee
#4 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
#8 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehaus Familie Leifer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehaus Familie Leifer

Property: Seehaus Familie Leifer
Address: Markt 104, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria (Formerly Hotel Dr. Leifer)
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in St. Wolfgang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seehaus Familie Leifer 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing