We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, Team and Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seehaus Familie Leifer
Reviewed March 16, 2014

If you are looking to Ski on a budget and also want a warm and friendly hotel you need not look any further! The Leifer Hotel is extremely friendly with FANTASTIC food and a real family atmosphere.

Special mention to Frank Jr, who's services and approach made our stay extra special!

The rooms are large and traditional with large Bath's to ease those pains from a days skiing, the onsite Sauna aided that even further! The beds are very supporting and clearly aimed at the skiers, a great nights sleep!

*Please note - it is a 35 coach minute journey to the main slopes at Postalm but this it totally worth it for the Hotels great location on the lake, with a mountainous views and a great little village.

All together a great location for Couples, Family and Friends. Make sure you enjoy a social drink in the bar and try Unicum spirt to keep the cold away!

Looking forward to visit number 2 next year!

Thank you

Room Tip: Try and get a lake facing room for the very best views and remember a holiday is all about experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellerone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 170 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

We spent a fantastic week at this hotel at the end of February. We chose the Leifer with Crystal holidays as it was a budget friendly way of introducing our children to skiing. The owners Frank and Maria were fantastic....they were accommodating to my fussy 7 year old eater, allowing me to make alterations to the dish of the day (choice of 2). Dinner also included soup, salad, dessert and cheeseboard......the cheeseboard was my favourite!!! This a cosy Austrian hotel with a friendly atmosphere. Our triple room was huge with a double balcony ( beautiful views)... the only downside being that rooms were not kitted out for a fourth person so my husband had to have a single room on the floor above. Happy hour started when the ski bus dropped us back at hotel.. wine was then 1 euro 25 and soft drinks at 1 euro ( the wine was very good).
There is also a free sauna which is open for 2 hours in the evening. Free wifi in the bar and restaurant and sometimes on the first floor. Frank also had an extension lead so that the children were able to plug in tablets, phones etc
Skiing on the Postalm is good for beginners and children but I wouldn't recommend for intermediates or better, although you could take the other free ski bus to Gosau (Daschein West), which had much better skiing. On the plus side the Postalm was very quiet with no lift queues and felt very safe. Our two ski instructors Wolfgang and Thomas were both amazing with children. The children, myself and husband also took advantage of the free tubing and sledging on offer at the slopes ( great fun).
We met fantastic people from all walks of life. All in all probably the best holiday we have ever had as a family :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojam33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, food was great, rooms are very clean and warm. Now and again hot water was limited. The views from this hotel are amazing..... Lovely crowd of people at the time of our stay......the town it self was like a ghost town due to end of season. Overall a great hotel.
Downsides was the travel to the slopes nearly 2hrs round trip , opening at 9am close 4pm (bus pick up 9.15-30 returning @ 4pm only limited bus service so be prepared to stay there all day) Postalm great for beginners Gosau had a few difficult reds that is not ideal for beginners. I myself have been skiing for many years and enjoy a leisurely blue/easy red this is not the case here and due to the condition of the snow it was hard work.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank donna1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have skied for 20+ years and try to go to a different resort every year. I was on a budget going with just me and my six year old daughter. As it was her first time skiing and she was young I chose a smaller resort for cost as I did not know if she would take to it.

The hotel was lovely and the owners were very friendly and had no problem cooking chips for my daughter as their food was rich and tasty but kids don't like this - kids like chips! I loved the food. the soup was homemade and to die for. The hotel right next to the lake was gorgeous and some of the rooms are HUGE. (ours wasn't).

The only 2 problems with this as a ski resort was the TWO hours a day travelling to the ski area (one there one back). If your kid gets travel sick you are stuffed. It reduces your ski time (but this was ok as child was only six). The ski school was very good and she was put with other children. The instructors were great as well. By the end of the third day she was at the top of the mountain. The other problem with the resort was that it is split into two areas about 1/4 mile apart but the only to get from one to the other is to walk which is a killer. Very limited by way of runs but ideal if you are just doing a few runs while trying to keep an eye on your child who is in lessons. The food was not too expensive in the one restaurant at the base of the mountain.

This resort is ideal if you do not want to ski every day (we did) as you can take a boat trip over the lake to the local swimming pool. If you are a photograph freak you will have lots and lots to shoot the lake is GORGEOUS with the mountains as a backdrop.

We were there in January. Although there is a little town in walking distance with a lovely little church, don't expect the shops to be open - it appeared most of the shops were closed for the winter. Bear in mind this is not a ski resort as such - it is a lakes and mountains summer resort which has tried to make the most of itself in offering winter accommodation for skiers. Please don't take it seriously as a ski resort if you are a serious skier as you will be disappointed and frustrated at the distance from the slope and lack of facilities. However, if you want a nice not too expensive holiday in a beautiful location with good food to get away from it all and do an occasional spot of skiing in a quiet resort with virtually no lift queues then St Wolfgang is for you.

Room Tip: The family rooms overlooking the lake are HUGE with the most magnificent view - well worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HevWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is our 3rd stay and what can I say but excellent staff Maria and franc ,clean fresh towels daily,happy hour free drink,great meals,great skiing and lovely views of St Wolfgang.friends came with us who thought it was idyllic and will return.

Room Tip: Balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Firstly if you want 5 star food, 5 star facilities then go elsewhere. You do however get to be treated very well by Frank and Maria who run the hotel. Frank is such a softly spoken kind man who is so obliging. Maria is there in the mornings at breakfast with a lovely greeting. Views across Lake Wolfgang are breath taking. Food pretty good and rooms very clean and well attended by staff. Short walk to town. The beds are a bit hard but with the pain of skiing all day you hardly notice. There isn't much for kids to do but the wi fi is free and Frank puts extra plugs in the bar area for kids to run Tablets, Laptops etc...
A nice quaint hotel for skiers as the bus stops outside!!

Room Tip: Don't expect luxury but say hi to Frank and Maria. They are wonderful hosts..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Munters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed in the Leifer in January 2014 for a week along with two friends. The hotel was booked through Thomson and Crystal Holiday and was therefore was booked entirely based on the companies recommendation. Having done what i always do before holidays and consulting good old tripadvisor I can safely say that I was pleasantly surprised by the reviews, and found a lot of the bad reviews to be incredibly nit picky and written by people expecting the Austrian Ritz.
Arriving at the hotel late on Saturday evening, dinner was put on for us and the other guests arriving late, the food was homely and basic, but tasted fantastic and the soup and salad starter allows you to have as much as you like. Also, a free drink is provided from the bar being either beer (a local brew called Zipfer which is a quintessentially European pilsner,) red or white wine, or soft drinks.
The room we had was for three and included and Austrian double (a double bed with two single separately made up mattresses, so there was no awkward decisions between my friends and I as to who would have to share a bed. The balcony which was lakeside provided stunning views and both sunrise and sunsets over the water.
Breakfast was more than adequate and your standard German/Austrian spread including cereals, fruit, rolls, cheese and meat and fruit juices. It was at breakfast that the evening meal could be selected from a choice of two options, I will recommend the Veal goulash and any dish with the pork (falls apart in your mouth.) The only thing I will say is that there seemed to be no vegetarian option in the two options, however, as none of our party required vegetarian meals we were not bothered, but I do not know what the hotel would do if this was the case for your party.
As for St Wolfgang itself, winter is not a busy time for this small predominantly summertime village. However, during our stay we found that many of the bars open in the evening were welcoming, reasonably priced and played a good selection of music. My personal favourites were "Die Kap Horn" perfect for a quiet beer as this bar never seemed to be that busy. "Haus 13" has a pool table and seems to be a haunt for the local teenagers and early twenties, has good priced drinks including a range of cocktails, however the music is incredibly loud and conversations can be hard. The best bar in St Wolfgang by far was "Grabovski" which is an awesome cocktail bar at the top of town, a little more expensive than the other bars in St Wolfgang but the atmosphere is amazing and Andy the barman will drink with you if it is a quiet night, or a busy one. He made us feel very welcome and if you're up for getting him and yourselves very drunk ask him to play the "checkerboard drinking game" you won't regret it and it will be a brilliant night.
One thing to bear in mind is that despite a ban, many bars in Austria do allow indoor smoking, something to bear in mind if you are particularly adverse to smoking.
All in all the Leifer and St Wolfgang combined for an awesome holiday and all three of our group agreed that we would be happy to go back to both for another holiday.I cant speak highly enough of the owners of the Leifer and how enjoyable they made our week. Both this hotel and the town are highly worth visiting, and as long as you gloss over the dated decor and look at what really counts at the hotel, then you will have just a week just as good as ours.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room for beautiful views, and all day sun on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HenryLyne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
0 mi away
Strandhotel Margaretha
Strandhotel Margaretha
#1 of 44 in St. Wolfgang
157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
0.2 mi away
Foersterhof Hotel
Foersterhof Hotel
#16 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Landhotel Berau
Landhotel Berau
#5 of 44 in St. Wolfgang
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#1 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehaus Familie Leifer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehaus Familie Leifer

Address: Markt 104, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria (Formerly Hotel Dr. Leifer)
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in St. Wolfgang
Hotel Class:3 star — Seehaus Familie Leifer 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DIY-Apartmenthouse with a beach at Wolfgangsee. Featuring a garden, Seehaus Familie Leifer is located in St. Wolfgang. Private parking is available on site. All units include a flat-screen TV. Some units also have a kitchenette, fitted with a dishwasher, a refrigerator, and a stovetop. Every unit features a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Bed linen are featured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Seehaus Familie Leifer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing