We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning location, lovely apartment”
Review of Haus Windhager

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haus Windhager
Ranked #12 of 46 St. Wolfgang B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning location, lovely apartment”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed in the Comfort lakeside view apartment. The location is just stunning and the views out across the lake from the balcony were beautiful. Haus Windhager is a short way from the St Wolfgang centre (1.8miles, which is a 30 min walk or short drive), but is down a quiet country lane so it is very peaceful. The terrace on the lakeside is great for relaxing and taking in the views. You can borrow bicycles or a small rowing boat if you like. The apartment was lovely. Very well equipped, modern, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The owner Anne Marie and her Mother-in-law were very helpful and welcoming. The SeeRomantik Guest House is right next door and owned by the same family. Would not hesitate to return or recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahDManchester000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you decide to stay over just next to the Lake, this is the place, I couldn't believe the room is so big. It is even bigger and nicer than where I was staying currently. I had fantastic 2 nights in this lovely place. Value for money, Haus Windhager really is a good deal! Highly recommend to all!

Room Tip: Stay at the top of the floor (Ask for the biggest room)! You can watch the starry galaxy from the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed in Haus Windhager in mid-October as the second stop of a birthday holiday organised by my girlfriend and have to say, there is very little to not like about Hotel Windhager (HW). Located about 3km from the centre of St Wolfgang, when arriving in the town, it is a little bit of a walk from where the bus dropped us off, however, I would recommend staying here rather than in the centre of town. In addition to being cheaper, the location is simply stunning. HW is right on the lake front and every morning, you can eat breakfast on your balcony admiring the lake and mountain. Also, bike rental is free and the cycle into the centre of town is quiet and scenic. However, on those nights, when you want to stay local, there are two nearby restaurants serving local Austrian food. If the weather is nice, there are also a few rowing boats which you can borrow, also free or charge if you want to explore the lake, something we really enjoyed. The rooms are large and spacious (having a mini apartment is a major plus) and the beds were really comfortable, the bathroom and kitchen were clean and modern. The family that own the guest house are available pretty much around the clock and were really friendly although the matriarch of the house doesn't speak a word of English but loves talking at you nevertheless (in the friendliest possible way). One of the funny moments of the holiday involved her ushering us into her living room to watch Felix Baumgartner skydive from the edge of space on our last night. All in all, HW is clean, the beds are comfortable, the views are stunning the owners are friendly and welcoming. Would highly recommend it to anyone looking to visit this part of Austria!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blacklabel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had the most wonderful stay at Haus Windhager. This attractive property is situated in a very quiet situation, overlooking the lake, with a private grassed terrace and jetty. There is a rowing boat for guests' use and plenty of loungers. sunshades etc. Our top floor, one-bedroom apartment with balcony overlooked the lake and the view was stunning. The immaculately clean apartment had a comfortable lounge, separate kitchen, a beautiful spacious, modern re-fitted bathroom and very pretty bedroom. Our hosts were welcoming, friendly and cheerful. There were many quiet, safe and beautiful walks, and we can recommend a restaurant nearby which soon became our favourite, the Leopaldhaus. There is a convenient bus service into nearby St Wolfgang if you don't fancy taking the car (it is within walking distance, but quite far). We can throroughly recommend this beautiful establishment and area, and we intend to return.

Room Tip: All apartments have balconies with lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
0.6 mi away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
0.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cortisen am See
Hotel Cortisen am See
#2 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pension Hupfmuhle
Pension Hupfmuhle
#17 of 46 in St. Wolfgang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Seehang
Hotel Restaurant Seehang
#12 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Foersterhof Hotel
Foersterhof Hotel
#14 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Windhager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Windhager

Property: Haus Windhager
Address: Ried 36, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in St. Wolfgang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Haus Windhager reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing