We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but the views are incredible.”

Schafberg Cog Railway (Schafbergbahn)
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,043.42*
and up
Private Tour: Austrian Lakes Day Trip from Salzburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pricey but the views are incredible.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

A great experience. At €31 per person it is expensive but the views at the top are worth it. There are walking routes at the top but are quite strenuous and steep. Check the top of the mountain though as the weather can be beautiful at the bottom but cloud at the top. A with all of these types of trips its ok if you are in resort but if you are coming in on an excursion you take your chance with the weather on the day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterG2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    131
    39
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit for the views”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the experience. Just a pitty weather had not been better.Enjoyed my meal when we got to the top but due to the cloud not able to see much at the top.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peeny55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Interesting apart fom the mist at the top.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Not cheap, but worth doing on a clear day. Unfortunately the timings of our excursion meant that we were there quite early. We went up through the mist and got above the first cloud base into an attractive area where we could see the lower peaks poking through the cloud. Unfortunately by the time we got to the top we were in the next layer of cloud so didn't get the views depicted on the boards. Interesting form of locomotion and worth doing on a clear day if you have the euros to spare.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The best way up”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This trip is worth it just for the train experience. However, the views from the top make this a must do trip. Go up in the morning, walk round the top, take in the views and have lunch at the restaurant or take a picnic.

If you are up for it walk down, but the train ride is wonderful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pricey, but worth it”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I took our two young children (one and three years old) on the cog railway to the top of the mountain and we were not let down. It managed to keep the kids entertained and the views left me speechless. The price was high (around 30 Euros each), so fortunately they did not charge the children. We had lunch at the restaurant at the top which was OK, but I think the setting makes up for a lot. We hiked around the top for a bit, taking in the scenery until we got cold (beautiful day in late September - warm in St Wolfgang, but very different at the top). I can't emphasize enough how beautiful it was with the 360 degree views of the steep mountains and cliffs, the lakes in all directions, and the towns below. One of my favorite days in Austria.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CoMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schafberg Cog Railway (Schafbergbahn) also viewed

St. Wolfgang, Upper Austria
St Gilgen, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Schafberg Cog Railway (Schafbergbahn)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing