We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Behave, you're being watched”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Garni Anzengruber
Ranked #18 of 44 St. Wolfgang B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Quaint, quiet, clean, close to everything, free parking in a garage right across the street, very good breakfast with many buffet choices. Maybe you can do without bacon and eggs :-), or maybe you can get them if you ask. The way breakfast is served: tablecloth, real napkins, nice china, makes you feel luxuriously treated.
The only flaw: the hostess is not very gracious and we felt "watched" at all times except when we were right in the room. If you don't mind being watched, this is a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the lake and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank immersonntags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 25 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

I booked this hotel for a family trip months ago and just got this email from the owner. I spoke to her on the phone and she told me to just deal with it. They threw us out of our reserved suite because their daughter decided to visit them. She offered us two apartments which are significantly worse instead...

Dear Sir,

you have a reservation by booking.com in my house for a suite 12.7 – 24.7.014, now I have to tell you, that I don´t have the suite available in 2014 1nd 2015, because our daughter is comming home and we need this appartment for her and her family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arsentap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have read the other reviews and I am glad that the other travellers had a great time here; I did not. Having said that there are positives. The hotel is right in the town, you have access to all the shops and can shop and take the boats on nice days. The parking is free, a tremendous plus.The beds comfortable.
We had room 3 and when we complained we were offered the Junior suite , which I am sure is very nice, but we stayed where we were and spent as muxh time as possible sightseeing and drove to neighbouring cities as well.
The hotel advertises wifi , but is was not working many days. We stayed a week.
The hotel is extremely overcluttered with ornaments; the soap was not refilled in the rooms , you only get soap the first day, in tiny little bottles.
When we asked for clarification on some things, the hostess said , " I already told you ", well pardon us , but we are the guests and it is not easy to find things or get instructions in a new town on how things work.
I have visited Austria about 20 times before and have been struck by the generosity and friendlyness of the people, but this visit really made me unhappy.
I also wish to warn guests that the hotel is advertised as " by the lake " but is not; it is about 100 meters from the lake and you have a small patch of land that opens onto the lake that you see on the website.As mentioned , you have to walk about 100 meters at least to be by the lake.
We also asked for ice and there was a a lot of fuss before we were finally given a plastic bag of ice every morning. Is this any way to treat a guest in a three star ?
Please do not make any phone calls using the phone in the room , we made a local call to a health centre and it could not have been more than one minute and we were charged 1 Euro 50.
The breakfast is continenal, nothing wrong with that , but do not expect bacon and eggs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melanie77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have just returned from a whistle stop tour of Austria and stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel Garni Anzengruber. Frau Eisel was the perfect host and was very helpful regarding information about the local area and also Salzburg. We had a junior suite (room 6) which is very spacious and had good views of the lake. The bed was big and comfortable and the whole hotel was very clean and tidy. There is a large varied choice of food to have at breakfast, which sets you up for the day. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the town and the parking opposite is a bonus in a small town. We went to Salzburg from here and it only took 45 minutes in the car, and there is also a bus which goes there from the town. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, without any hesitation, as it was a good value hotel in a lovely location with a superb host.

General tip: Austria hasn't yet fallen in line with the no smoking policy that the UK has and most of the bars and restaurants still permit smoking in them. Some do offer a no smoking area albeit still within the confines of the smoking area, but don't let this put you off visiting this lovely country if you are a non-smoker.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelot62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. Hotel Anzengruber ist small family hotel with nice furnishing, very friendly staff and great location. The room had beautiful view to the church and to the lake over the the roofs of the houses underneath the hotel, balcony with table and chairs. Breakfast delightful, room and hotel very clean. The accomodation with the nature, friendly austrian people and delicious food make the area perfect for holiday. Very well recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PP-pprg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We are just back from 4 nights in St Wolfgang and 3 nights in Hallstatt. Our four nights in St Wolfgang were at the Anzengruber. We had room 3 which is the junior suite referred to by a previous reviewer. It was lovely. I would recommend it to anyone. Frau Eisl was lovely. All the staff were lovely. An added bonus was that they all speak impeccable English. I live in Lowestoft. Try walking into almost any hotel in Suffolk looking for a member of staff who could speak ten words of German. Impossible. We hoped for an evening meal on arrival, which they cannot do, but Frau Eisl's daughter immediately arranged for us to eat at the Weissen Bar 50 mts along the road. It was so good, we ate there every night thereafter. You want somewhere to stay in St Wolfgang at a reasonable price - go to the Anzengruber. One tip though, there are no tea/coffee making facilities in most German/Austrian hotels, so take a travel kettle and tea bags, etc.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a junior suite on the 1st floor. Our friends were in room 2 which was a double, next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fizzioKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in December 2012.

What a wonderful spot. Frau Eisel was helpful, courteous.

Accommodation was superb, with the most convenient location near town centre! We stayed in the top floor suite. It was luxurious and spotless and a super view of the lake on the small balcony! Great continental breakfasts. Convenient under cover parking across the road. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenK830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Wolfgang hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Im Weissen Roessl
0.4 mi away
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
Hotel Furian am Wolfgangsee
#5 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seebockenhotel Zum Weissen Hirschen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Landhotel Berau
Landhotel Berau
#5 of 44 in St. Wolfgang
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Foersterhof Hotel
Foersterhof Hotel
#17 of 25 in St. Wolfgang
119 reviews
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Haus Sommerau
#21 of 44 in St. Wolfgang
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Anzengruber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Anzengruber

Address: Markt 115, St. Wolfgang 5360, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > St. Wolfgang
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in St. Wolfgang
Price Range: $139 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Anzengruber 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Garni Anzengruber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing