We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one store open by chance.”

Arrow Rock State Historic Site
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stroll through the history of a once-bustling river town that’s now the serene village of Arrow Rock. You’ll walk streets lined with the architecture of the historic “Boone’s Lick Country.” At Arrow Rock State Historic Site, you may wander into the historic Old Tavern, which dates back to 1834 and provides a dining experience in a period setting or see displays of old-time wares at the Huston Store. You can learn about it all through exhibits in the visitor center. The historic site is part of the larger Village of Arrow Rock, which features quaint stores and a bevy of antique shops.
Joplin, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Only one store open by chance.”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

It was a very cute town but too far off the beaten path to not be open. The one store was open only by chance. Weve visited small towns for years on the days after Christmas for our anniversary and always found them open and ready to sell Christmas inventory.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tamjoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    25
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Historic Village”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We are blessed to have some really great state parks in Missouri. This is a declared historic site where many of the buildings are open to explore along with a very nice bordering park for hiking etc. This is a really nice walking town where some buildings date back to the 1830's. It is a well preserved town with a very interesting history. This is about 20-30 minutes north of I-70 west of Columbia Missouri. Well worth the visit if you are in the area. There is also a couple of restaurants and (1) family style dining out of the tavern built in the 1830's.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Beach, Mo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Arrow Rock: A Special Place Indeed!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I said in an earlier review that we had visited Arrow Rock on September 26th to celebrate my sweet Mom's 96th birthday with an unforgettable dinner at Catalpa on Elm Street. What I did not say is that Arrow Rock itself is a romanitic, charming historical town where, almost 50 years ago on a Sunday afternoon, I proposed to my wife of 48+ years at the town park high above the river valley. We drove back through the park in September and it was exactly as we remembered it except for updated facilities. We also visited the tiny museum where artifacts and history of Dr. John Sappington who developed quinine pills for treatment of Malaria in the early 1800's. This place is a must-see for all visitors to Missouri! And, don't fail to dine at Catalpa (reservations recommended)!!!! Don Hagan

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank don143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice village, good museums”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The visitor center had a very nice small museum with Indian artifacts, guns, and info. I was surprised to see that the village had residents living there. I would like to have seen living history characters. The shops in the village were a disappointment. Most things were something available in any downtown. There is a restaurant but we did not go in.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank arrrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cute!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a great small village. it offers shops, wineries, hiking and camping. Everyone is friendly and eager to share the town's history. We camped and hiked. It was beautiful. The shower houses were very clean. Overall we had a nice visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LongDogRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arrow Rock State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Arrow Rock State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing