We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Getaway!!”
Review of Arcadia Academy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arcadia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arcadia Academy
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arcadia
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife Charlie has been trying to get me to take a trip with her to the Arcadia Valley ever since we first met over 40 years ago. We finally made the trip this past weekend and we stayed at the Arcadia Academy. What an amazing place! Kathryn and Darwin have converted part of the 150+ year old campus buildings into a wonderful Bed & Breakfast. We stayed in the Bishop's Room. It was very charming, clean, and comfortable. We had a chance to see the other rooms in the B&B and plan to return and perhaps try another room, although we would be perfectly content to stay in the Bishop's Room again. We were truly impressed at how Kathryn and Darwin have made the rooms of this memorable place built before the Civil War so warm and inviting.

The food was terrific. Kathryn served a great breakfast each morning and we ate dinner in the Abbey Restaurant the two nights we stayed at the B&B. It was so nice to be able to have such wonderful meals at the B&B since we spent the days exploring the area around the academy, including Johnson's Shut-Ins, Elephant Rocks, and the Taum Sauk Lookout. There is so much to see and do. We just scratched the surface. We would like to learn much more about the history of the area.

We have traveled quite a bit and we found the Arcadia Academy to be truly unique. Kathryn and Darwin and their family are preserving a remarkable piece of Missouri history. The story of the academy is fascinating. The campus includes not only the original academic buildings, but also a beautiful church and a gymnasium that were used by the academy for over 100 years. What a tragedy it would be to let this rich piece of the area's history ever slip away. Kathryn and Darwin are working very hard to make the Arcadia Academy a memorable destination for anyone who wants to see this beautiful part of Missouri, learn about its important place in Missouri history, or just have a relaxing getaway. We definitely recommend that you check it out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 68 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in the "Mother Superior's Quarters" which is no longer listed on the website, I noticed.
Pro's: The bed linens appeared clean and the curtains appeared new.
Con's: Terrible odor. Not musty or old building, but really pungent, like a food odor.
Too few outlets so lamps etc. were plugged into power strips, to the max, which made us feel unsafe. Rooms had not been cleaned in some time. They were dusty and dirty. Bathroom fixtures needed to be refurbished or replaced. "Kitchenette" did not include a refrigerator. A towel was stuck in the window above the air conditioner. All the pillows needed to be replaced as they were old and stained. We brought our own, thank goodness.
I can appreciate what the owners are trying to do in Arcadia but if I were trying to build a business, I would not have rented a room out in that condition.

Room Tip: We only experienced the "Mother Superior' Quarters", which I see is no longer listed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thee K, Manager at Arcadia Academy, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Michael,
We are sorry that your stay at the Academy was not what you expected. We make honest and substantial efforts to do everything we can to help each guest that stays have a wonderful experience. This fact is reflected in the vast majority of positive reviews on trip advisor.
We will take your complaints, look into them and make improvements. We regret that you did not speak to us directly about your disappointments during your stay. This would have given us the opportunity to correct these issues so that your stay would have been more enjoyable. We had asked your family on numerous occasions during your stay how the accommodations were and if there was anything you needed. Each time the response was “everything’s fine”.
We would have gone to great lengths to make your stay a pleasant one had we known of your concerns during your stay. It hardly seems fair to mislead your host during your stay and complain publicly afterward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Arcadia Academy over the weekend after visiting family in the area. The staff was absolutely wonderful and very accommodating We stayed in the Garden Room which was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed hearing about the history of the academy and the events held annually from the owners, who are extremely nice people. We also enjoyed the restaurant and the new menu, especially the Monte Cristo sandwich. The cinnamon rolls are also to-die-for delicious. I will definitely plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolFred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed in August and it was hot outside! When we entered our room we found it very comfortable and cool thanks to a new remote controlled air conditioning system we controlled during our stay. We had just returned from vacation and we had stayed in two historic hotels and the Grand Hotel in Michigan. The bed at the Arcadia Academy was the most comfortable bed we slept in. Thanks in part to new mattresses. The breakfast each morning was awesome. I agree with some of the other reviews Katherine and her family are some of the hardest working people I have ever met. The homemade custard in the homemade waffle cone was terrific but we have NEVER had a pastry as delicious as the cinnamon roll we got from the restaurant. We also ate late lunch in Thee Abby and were pleasantly surprised when we ordered roast beef deli sandwiches to find real beef pot roast and not sliced deli meat on our sandwiches. The service in all areas was outstanding. I can't say enough about the history and uniqueness of the Academy and the grounds. Katherine's father took us on a tour and the chapel is one of the prettiest I have ever seen. We highly recommend you experience this unique and amazing B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We didn't stay, just stopped on the way by out of curiosity. I wish I had found this place sooner as I would have loved to stay here. The grounds are beautiful, the buildings interesting and a bit run down looking. We took a stroll through the graveyard, it was all nuns and priests dating back to the mid-1800's.

They make their own ice cream and it was fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I have been to a number of bed and breakfasts in various cities both in Missouri and other states but I have to say we have never had as great of service as we did at Arcadia Academy. Katherine and her entire family are some of the hardest working people I have ever met! Our room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the games in the parlor. We loved the tour of the academy that Katherine provided. The breakfasts we were served were amazing (my daughter said the pancakes were the best she has ever had), the food at the restaurant was fresh and tasty, and the custard was unbelievable (again my daughter thought it was the best she has ever had!). They provided us with information about the attractions nearby and even made us some sandwiches to take with us on our excursion. Highly recommend! We will be back and we can't wait to see the changes they make to the campus.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden room since our daughter was with us. She slept on a sofa sleeper which she...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 67Dee45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Arcadia Academy in late May and are looking forward to returning! We chose this bed and breakfast because of its close proximity to Elephant Rock State Park and Johnson Shut-ins. We had no idea what to expect from this bed and breakfast, but were in awe of what we found. The Priest House was beautiful, clean, and had all the right touches that one expects with an historical building. We had access to a sitting room supplied with games and upstairs balcony. Our room was nicely decorated, comfortable, and included private bath (all rooms have a private bath), T.V., and sofa.

Katherine and Darwin were excellent hosts! They were welcoming, friendly, and went out of their way to make our stay special. The dining room in the priest house was supplied with water, soda, hot cocoa, and coffee with fresh cream which was available to us throughout our visit. Breakfast was first-class and included traditional foods, but with delicious gourmet touches that certainly exceeded ordinary status.

Next door to the Priest House is the main building which included a creamery, with fresh made custard and waffle cones (a must), bakery, and restaurant which were busy and clearly popular with the locals.

The tour of the Academy revealed the 100+ year old history of the grounds and buildings, but also the impressive amount of time and work the owners have committed to renovating the area. We are looking forward to returning to this hidden gem in the future to see their progress.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcadia
2.2 mi away
Shepherd Mountain Inn & Suites
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Farmington
Hampton Inn Farmington
#1 of 6 in Farmington
446 reviews
16.8 mi away
Quality Inn Farmington
Quality Inn Farmington
#5 of 6 in Farmington
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fort Davidson Hotel
Fort Davidson Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pilot Knob
97 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Academy

Address: 211 S College St, Arcadia, MO 63621-9164
Location: United States > Missouri > Arcadia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arcadia
Price Range: $129 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is a renovated home of the Catholic Priest who looked after the Arcadia Ursuline Academy nuns years ago. The B&B is attached to the Academy, which has a fantastic history, acres of beautiful land, and is in a peaceful setting. The food here is amazing, you'll see! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arcadia Academy Hotel Arcadia
Academy Hotel Arcadia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing