We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I wasn't expecting much from a Holiday Inn in southern Minnesota. I am much more of a Marriott and Hilton girl. However I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the property, the friendly, can-do attitude of the staff, and even the bar/grill restaurant had good food, such that I chose to eat there both evenings I was in town.

Free internet, nice rooms, pool, business center. The only downside is that it is difficult to get a cell signal in the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack3806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at our Holiday Inn of Austin, MN. I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly, the location convenient, the hotel to be clean, and that you would return. I will be sharing your kind comments with all of our staff so that we may continue to deliver the level of service you had experienced. Regarding the poor cell phone service, we have been following up with one of the Cell providers that our guests have reported issues with to us and they are expecting to have a new tower being installed at the end of May which should improve cell reception in this area of Austin. Again, thank you for sharing your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 220 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

In 2006, I reviewed this hotel and found it lacking. I was recently in Austin again and found that
this is no longer the case. They have cleaned it up and it is now an acceptable place to lay your head. Clean and with a helpful staff which was not the case before. Bedding is up to date. No reason to not stay here. Had dinner and the meal was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast was actually very good with nice choices, well prepared and presented. I had a room with two queen beds which seemed a bit narrow so if u are thinking of having four bodies in the room u might want to check things out before paying. A full sized bed, they may be.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chucj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments on our renovations. I am sure this place looks quite a bit different than it did back in 2006! We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our breakfast and that you found it to have plenty of options to choose from. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We held our conference for over 200 people over the course of a day and a half. I can't say enough about how great ALL the staff at the Austin Holiday Inn was to work with - from the catering manager, to the wait staff, to the set up crew and front desk staff - literally, everyone there. We used 6 breakout rooms and attendees switched between them every 50 minutes. The crew came into each room to refresh water, do any cleanup in the 10 minute break. The meals were great and served with a smile. Need more chairs? We'll be right there - and they were! I've worked with many hotels and conference centers over the years and the Austin Holiday Inn staff was the best!! The hotel rooms are very clean, stylish and comfortable too. I highly recommend the Austin Holiday Inn and Conference Center for your next event! L. Burg - Region V Computer Servcies

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouAnne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

It has been a pleasure reading your comments regarding the conference that was held at our property! We are delighted to hear that you found our team of associates to be friendly and accommodating to you throughout your entire stay and that your event went well. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience and thank you so much for the 5 star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed for one night as my daughter had a interview at a company nearby. We were only there for a short time as we checked in late. I recently stayed at a HI in Chicago that seemed very similiar. This property is very clean and decorated very tastefully. The morning breakfast was off the menu and decent for the value, not overpriced. I used the fitness center the next morning. Two treadmills, two elipticals, a bike, and some free weights. All good equipment. Pool area looked nice and clean as well. The room was nice and had pillows of different firmness. Only complaint was that the mattress was quite firm.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BONZ516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences while staying with us! We are thrilled that you found our property to be clean and attractive and that you were able to enjoy breakfast with us. We truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we all wish your daughter the best of luck with her job search. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The HI in Austin MN is excellent! It's the nicest HI I've ever stayed in. Lobby & pool are beautiful, well-maintained. The Jacuzzi Suite is MOST comfortable for a long stay. Staff are wonderful. A calm oasis in an odd little place.

Room Tip: The back corner 2nd floor Jacuzzi Suite is quiet, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPImanager, Manager at Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear you had such a great stay with us. It is great to hear you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating - they work hard to provide each of our guests with the best customer service possible! We are also happy that you found our entire property to be well-maintained and our guest suites comfortable and relaxing. We appreciate the 5 star review and hope to see you in the future! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Overall - an OK experience. After many hours on the road we chose to spend the night in Austin before continuing the trip. The Holiday Inn is located ideally for such a stop since it is right off I90. The facilities were clean but felt a little “used”.. If you are traveling with a group there is and area next to the pool which works as a place to hang out. When you reserve a room make sure you ask for a location as far from the Bar/Lounge as possible. The lounge music is loud enough that the entire front of the hotel shakes and it is even difficult to have a conversation when checking in. For an overnight stop this hotel is certainly adequate.

Room Tip: Avoid the lounge area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WI_Parrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn of Austin Minnesota. I am happy to hear that you chose to stop at our hotel on your long trip and found our location off of the interstate ideal. I am also happy to hear you found our hotel clean and recognized the sitting area next to our pool as a great location for small groups. I am sorry to hear that the Live music we provided in our lounge was a not what you were looking for. It is our goal to exceed the expectations of all of our guests and we will use your feedback to continue to do so. I will be sharing your feedback with all of our staff so we can continue to deliver the level of cleanliness you had experienced and work to maintain the sound level in our lobby by ensuring our lounge doors are kept closed.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback,
Tracy Benesh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were part of a wedding party block and they were very accomidating in getting our rooms located near each other. Pool, bar, rooms,etc. were all clean and updated. Maids were some of the best I've encountered at Holiday Inns and they speak and understand English fluently! A little disappointed that there are no welcoming items for platinum priority club members.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn of Austin Minnesota. Feedback such as yours helps us to identify how we can exceed our guest expectations. I want to apologize that you did not receive your welcome gift. Our Priority Club members are very important to us and we will continue to focus on ensuring they are recognized with a gift. Also I happy to hear that our staff was able to accommodate you and that you found our hotel to be clean and up to date. I will be sharing your comments with our staff so we can continue to deliver the same level of cleanliness and service that you experienced

Thank you again for taking the time to offer your feedback,
Tracy Benesh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Austin
Days Inn Austin
#1 of 7 in Austin
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Austin
18 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Albert Lea, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Austin MN
Super 8 Austin MN
#6 of 7 in Austin
106 reviews
18.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Albert Lea I-90/I-35 Hotel
2.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Austin
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center

Address: 1701 4th St NW, Austin, MN 55912-1803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $135 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Holiday Inn Hotel and Austin Conference Center, Minnesota. Home to Hormel Foods located just fifteen miles east of the intersection of I-90 and I-35. We have 118 rooms and suites, including several poolside rooms for easy access to the recreation area. Our hotel is just minutes away from the Hormel International Corporate Office, the Hormel Institute and the world-famous SPAM Museum!Our indoor recreation center has a large pool, whirlpool and kids' pool, as well as a new fitness room and putting green. Enjoy free wireless Internet access throughout our building, as well as free wired and wireless Internet access in your guest room. We have something for both family and corporate travelers at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Austin Conference Center, MN. Come and enjoy a meal at the Harvest Buffet or take in some live entertainment in Torge's Live Sports Grill and Bar. Don t forget about the kids eat free program! The Holiday Inn Hotel and Austin Conference Center, MN also has 10,000 square feet of meeting space for receptions, corporate events or weekend retreats. Look forward to experiencing amazing service at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Austin Conference Center , MN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Hotel Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing