We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff terrible breakfast”
Review of Super 8 Austin MN

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Austin MN
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Austin
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    38
    14
    21
See reviews for
34
23
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The owner/staff is very pleasant but the rooms are in very bad need of TLC. The curtains have little holes (maybe moth holes?) that light comes through. The bathroom tile/trim and caulking are terrible and it makes the bathroom feel very unclean. The towels are just horrible. It is a convenient place for me to stay when I visit friends in the area, but if I stay again I'd have to take my own towels. Sometimes it is really the little things that make a difference and there really aren't any here. The "breakfast" just lacked that little spark that can make a difference. With such good value and location it is a shame that this hotel feels a bit tired and lack luster. Again, the owner/staff are so friendly I hope they can upgrade a bit so that they continue to have a good property to offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank ValC12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stopped here after a long day of driving and found the owner/manager to be very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Not impressed with the continental breakfast....frozen waffles sitting in the case with bagels and muffins, yogurt sitting in water with no ice. We skipped the breakfast and stopped somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Body stains on the sheets and chair, mold in the bathroom and flooring peeling up - dirty.....No refunds were an option! Not a well lit area for motorcycles overnight - no washing/cleaning area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H-D_Biker_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Bimini
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here by default because there was a MS bike ride passing through town and all the hotels were booked. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and pretty basic. Not something I'd expect to pay almost $80 a night for however. Free wifi, coffee and pastries in the morning, far from town. Overall not a bad experience, but given the choice would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astraykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

In addition to the filthy room conditions, don't think that if you make reservations online you will be able to change them, no. Last October I reserved one room for Christmas eve online. A week later a friend offered me her guestroom for that date so I called the "hotel" to cancel. There was no English speaking staff to assist me, but I knew enough Spanish to understand I was (rather rudely) being directed to the 800 number. I was informed by that staff that no reservations made online can be cancelled, even 60 days in advance!. It was only then that I noticed the reviews and decided that I didn't want to spend $68 being bitten by bugs and inhaling mold all night on Christmas Eve--a manger would have been better. My credit card was charged anyway.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judi070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Checked into hotel. Son was exausted because of long drive and fell asleep on top of bedspread. Son woke up because "bugs crawling on him". Pulled back sheets to discover bugs crawling all over pillows and mattress. Checked out ASAP and went to the Holiday Inn...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jme23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Austin
Days Inn Austin
#1 of 7 in Austin
304 reviews
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Austin
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 7 in Austin
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Austin Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Austin
57 reviews
16.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 10 in Albert Lea
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Austin MN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin MN

Property: Super 8 Austin MN
Address: 1401 14th St NW, Austin, MN 55912-1402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Austin MN 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Austin MN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Austin
Super 8 Austin
Austin Super Eight
Austin Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing