We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Train visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minnesota Zoo

Minnesota Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
St. Paul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Train visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We rode the travel car with our kids this year. Wowwy! Josiah , our grandson, attempted to get in the driver's seat. He sat down and closed all the doors by pressing the button which got our attention in time to reroute his travel plan. Imagine, 2 years old and on his way to train director. Wowwy!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynda1715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    180
    63
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great zoo, lot's to see and do.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Many attractions to see with a lot of information relative to the animals/fish you are looking at. Zoo staff (many are volunteers) to answer questions. A great walk around the Minnesota Trail, the Bear exhibit is the best. New theme events ( African Safari and the animatronic dinosaurs) are very enjoyable and great for children. This zoo is great for all ages from toddlers to seniors. Very easy to get around the zoo grounds and if you need to rest but want to see the zoo, you can take the monorail.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice trip site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Best for family and couples. Lot's of interesting animals and many fun area. I would suggest you go to this place. Average time for tour is 2-3 hrs. so it's a short and fun trip

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luyao Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“New exhibits coming, but still average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Even though my husband and I are zoo members, the MN Zoo is just an average zoo. They seem to have a lot of effort on husbandry and don't have an extensive variety of animals. The open spaces are nice, but even last week, they didn't have water in any of the pools/water holes and we weren't sure that some of the animals were on exhibit yet.

The Russian Coast exhibit is, however, very good and not to miss. Too bad the zoo can't get dolphins anymore. The aquarium is a bit boring now.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MNtravelbugs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Place for the Kids in any Season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We got a membership here last summer and just love it. It is well worth what you pay. The trails are easy to walk and there are a lot of animals to see. If it's a rainy or cold day, there are plenty of indoor exhibits to check out. In the summer, there is a kiddie splash area with fountains the kids can run and play in, and there is also an awesome outdoor playground. It has changed a lot since I was a kid - for the better. Our two-year-old son just loves riding in his wagon as we walk around.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trista J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnesota Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Minnesota Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing