We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal”

Casa Rio Tex Mex Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 67 Restaurants in Anoka
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
236 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Enjoyed a great meal at a great price. The fajita skillet was overflowing with ingredients. I recommend the corn tortillas vs flour. Each person gets a basket of chips and salsa to start. Beware you pay for refills should you decide you need it. The sweet corn cake is awesome.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharkhunter2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place. Best guac!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I come here whenever in Anoka from St Paul. I usually order the seafood enchilada with some guac for the chips. Super yummy and even when busy I never have to wait long. Sometimes they will have specials that I wish would be added to the menu as they are so good. (Like the tinga. A pulled seasoned beef) On a small note the photo shown is not Casa Rio.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't darken their doorstep again.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I would like to recommend this restaurant, but make sure you pay cash, don't use a debit/check/credit card as they might double charge you. It isn't bad enough to get double charged, but they don't even return your phone call, not once, but TWICE. I finally gave up and called the C/C company to dispute the second charge. The one time I actually got to speak to the manager, she told me that sometimes the C/C company double charges, but that she would look into it and call me back. Guess what, no call back. I even offered so that they didn't have to mess around with accounting, that they could just issue a credit. This is unfortunate, we really liked the food, but highly disappointed that they couldn't be bothered with the simplest thing, a phone call, even if just to say it wasn't on their end.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank veronica f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Choice in Downtown Anoka, MN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Casa Rio offers tasty Tex-Mex food with a small town, friendly atmosphere. Happy Hour specials are great, their chips and salsa can't be beat and the service is top-notch...they even remember your preferences from previous visits!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MiMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
147 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Tex-Mex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

We had lunch here --- we are pretty critical of our Tex-Mex cuisine since we lived in Texas for over 10 years and were very pleased with this restaurant--lots of menu choices--I had the chicken soft tacos and they were stuffed with lots of tasty chicken---the refried beans tasted home made---none of that stuff right out of the can--the chips and salsa had a nice kick---prices were reasonable. We will return next trip!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganderMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Rio Tex Mex Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Casa Rio Tex Mex Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing