We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Alexandria
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

I'll start by saying seeing Fox News on 24/7 in the lobby didn't set the tone well for me. They would be better off running Disney or resort information than pissing off half the guests at check-in. Why does this resort, its owners and management, feel the need to blatantly display its politics? Odd.

That said....

We booked a two night stay here when we were in town for a swim meet.
The room we were in was very large so that was a nice surprise. There were plenty of things for kids to do including the waterpark, cross-country skiing, and other winter activities. The resort had some organized activities like cookie decorating and crafts on one of the days but we were in the waterpark at the time. Both of our meals in the dining room were nice.

The waterpark is more for younger kids 12 and under. We all did the waterslides and found the seams beat you up a little. So we didn't go too crazy on the waterslides like we would have at The Dells. We used the slide that tubes were ridden on more. There is a lazy river. basketball hoops, and a pool for the younger kids with mini-slides. Concessions are available. A typical kiddie game room with prize tickets is in the waterpark area as well.

There is another pool just downstairs from the lobby along with the fitness center and an outdoor pool.

It looks like it could be really fun in the summer here. If the price is right, I say this place is a no-brainer to stay while you are in Alexandria if you are looking for more than just another hotel room.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newdryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    118
    80
    59
    29
See reviews for
222
44
1
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2008

My family went there for a get together and its was so fun, especially the HUGE waterpark! The rooms that we stayed in were townhouses the most expensive rooms there is and it has 4 bedrooms 1 master bedroom 3 bathrooms 1 kithcen 1 living room 1 balcony 1 washer 1 dryer and many other features. It cost about $175 for one night but it WAS WORTH IT! The townhouse is like a hotel house! We stayed for 5 nights

Helpful?
Thank racetowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2008

We were part of a large party staying at the Arrowwood for three days for a business conference. I must say, it was not at all what I expected. We stayed in a spacious room with two double beds. They were very uncomfortable. The room overall was a bit dated but, it was suitable. The bathroom was small but was in decent shape. Our room included a desk and a chair with an ottoman. The view was beautiful (even in the winter) we could see the lake and golf course from our room. The restaurant left us both sick after our evening meal and left way too much to be desired in the quality. Especially for the expensive price of the meal. We will never eat in the restaurant again. We didnt bring any kids so found our activities limited to walking around the hotel. There wasnt anything else to do. They do have an indoor pool which is nice. The walk to the rooms is pretty long especially when you have more than one bag. I would recommend a cart to carry your stuff. We also used the internet quite a bit, it was horribly slow like dial up. Im not sure what was going on with that. The staff was pleasant but there just wasnt anything great about this place other than the location. Next time, we will ask to hold our conferences elsewhere. We would not go here for a family vacation.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of things to do, rooms were uncomfortable
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank milspo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alexandria hotels

South Dakota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

My family and I stayed at this resort for a business conference I was attending. I have to admit that I was a bit shocked. On a previous visit at this property, we had a wonderful room/suite that had recently been re-done and was well maintained. On this recent visit, we stayed in a different part of the resort, and found our room to be depressing and dismal. From peeling wallpaper and "bubbled" carpet to a cramped bathroom space, I couldn't believe the difference in the two rooms. Certainly, a few years had passed between stays, but I'm not convinced that this was purely an issue of things running down terribly between visits.

Still, the resort is in a great lakefront location, with nice facilities for a family getaway. Just be careful when booking a room, and don't hesitate to ask for a room change if you encounter a less-than-desirable room. Had the resort not been completely booked when we were there, we certainly would have done so.

  • Liked — lakefront property, recreational facilities
  • Disliked — condition of room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrairieWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrowwoodgm, Manager at Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2008
Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay at Arrowwood. I'm glad you enjoyed the facilities and the great lakefront location! We are responding to your comments regarding guestroom accomodations. We are in the process of a major guestroom renovation, which includes new carpeting, wallpaper, bathrooms and beds. We take great pride in the facilities and staff of Arrowwood. The major renovation of guestrooms is our committment to our customers to ensure the best resort experience possible.

Thank you again for your comments...we look forward to your return so we can provide you with the level of service and accomodations you've come to know and expect from your friends at Arrowwood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

We had a special birthday celebration weekend at Arrowwood that was relaxing. The grounds are maintained beautifully. The room was updated and had two queen beds; my son liked the desk so he could be on the computer or in the chair reading.

One review mentions the long walk to the room and that is very true, it is long walk from the front desk to the rooms. Remember that when bringing your things in. When we left we parked closer to the water park door and wheeled our stuff out on a cart. It’s on a sloped tier level so the rooms can face Lake Darling. The balcony /decks make the best use of this.

The water park was fine for us. We have been to several and this one, good size, smaller than some but bigger than others. We don’t need to have the super big parks and different slides. I liked the hot tub and the lazy river. One good thing is the separate pool on another floor, in case you don’t want to be in the waterpark.

We sat on the balcony having coffee in the mornings and enjoyed a light breakfast that we brought in. I loved having a fridge/microwave. We had pancakes that were frozen and kept in our fridge, strawberries, bagels and juice. We know we could have had breakfast in the dinning room, next time we might have to try that for brunch. We went out for dinner one night to Doolittles (superb) and later back in our room had cake and ice cream. Later we were back and spent time in the waterpark and hot tub. Around the area we went to the Carlos Creek winery, just down the road and picked up a bottle of wine.

  • Liked — Lake, room ammenities
  • Disliked — would conside updgrade to a bigger room next time
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wateronbluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

I said "mixed bag" because it really was! Our original reservation was for a kids room...but when we went down to look at it we were really taken aback. The "older" area was very dingy, dirty, and must have been a bit moldy as my allergies were flaring up right away!

In the room the kids bunk was broken on top and the drain in the shower was dirty and gross.

The service at the front desk was a mixed bag as well. One person in particular did respond to our issues- Dustin- others not so much. Kind of felt like we were bothering them.

Dustin moved us in to a room in the new section- and it was much, much better. Still some of the same issues in the halls. every other vent on the floor was duct taped...just not the kind of thing you like to see.

Ended up getting a townhome the second night. thanks dustin... it was much nicer, of course.

Waterpark was lots of fun for my six year old, completely boring for the 15 yo. There really isn't much for kids older than maybe 11 or 12. The deepest area was four feet, I think. It was really kind of gross in spots and broken in a few sections- I bet it was pretty nice when it first opened!

If we ever stayed at the resort again (not likely), it would have to be in the townhomes. We wouldn't consider a stay in the actual hotel part again. If you aren't going to be in the room much and don't really care how it looks...the hotel is a good value.

Food was okay- nothing amazing.

It was a bit of a disappointing vacation. For what we ended up having to spend to stay the second night in a decent place...we could have gotten a great room in a more updated hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MN
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

We ended up here because we were visiting family in the area and most of the hotels were booked because of some event.

Despite it being quite expensive, we found this place to be a great place to stay and may consider it again in the future as a weekend getaway location from the cities.

The room's decorating was definitely dated. Our balcony, however, looked over the putting green course and the lake. Very nice view. The room was very spacious and the fridge and microwave are great if you have a family and want to pack some of your own food.

Our child (less than 2 years old) loved the waterpark. There is a zero entry pool along with a number of kiddie slides. There are also a lot of areas for older kids including three large slides, a lazy river, large hot tub, and an arcade. They also have a bar right in the pool area. The waterpark itself was way overpriced, but, you can get tickets bundled into your room package. I agree with other posters that they should consider repainting the floors of the pool. It would make the place look a lot nicer -- but, that didn't take away from the fun.

The golf course and putting courses looked nice. The place also has boat rentals and stables for horse rides.

Finally, the staff was great.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank senort01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Alexandria
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
5.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alexandria Inn
BEST WESTERN Alexandria Inn
#3 of 12 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
#10 of 12 in Alexandria
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
5.2 mi away
Days Inn Alexandria MN
Days Inn Alexandria MN
#11 of 12 in Alexandria
2.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center

Property: Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center
Address: 2100 Arrowwood Lane Northwest, Alexandria, MN 56308
Location: United States > Minnesota > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrowwood Resort And Conference Center
Arrowwood Hotel Alexandria
Arrowwood Resort Alexandria
Alexandria Arrowwood Resort
Arrowwood a Radisson Resort Alexandria
Arrowwood Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing