We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Alexandria
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We had a great stay!”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband, two daughters and I stayed here in June. Despite the dreary, and rainy weather, we had a great trip! We stayed in one of the newly renovated Kid's Rooms. The girls had a separate alcove area with bunks and a TV which they really enjoyed. The room was spacious, and clean. On the first morning of our stay our room was cleaned by 10am!

We ate at the restaurant at the resort twice. While the first meal was great, the second time the cook burned my daughter's dinner. The Lakes Cafe was really busy that night because all of the outdoor reservations needed to be moved inside due to the rain. By the time the waitress noticed it, it was too late as the rest of us were already done eating. Nevertheless, the rest of the food was really good and the staff members were friendly. They had a guitar player performing in the cafe that night again due to the weather since he had been scheduled to perform outdoors. This added a new vibe to the cafe which was pretty quiet the night prior.

The majority of our trip was spent in the waterpark. It was during the week and not very busy which was great. We have been here on the weekends when there are long lines. The lifeguards, and snack bar staff were friendly and attentive.

The Darling Spa was a wonderful experience. I stopped down there two hours before I wanted an appointment. They were really accomodating and I think they had to shuffle some schedules, but they did it with a smile. I took my daughters back the next day for the kiddie manicures and pedicures which they loved. Jenna and the other cosmetologist were so friendly and the girls loved them.

I highly recommend Arrowwood! Whether it was the maintenance man joking with my children or the woman in the gift shop, the staff could not have been nicer. The rooms are excellent with free wi-fi and the resort offers so many different activities. I can't imagine how we would have fit everything in had the weather cooperated!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenniferBenson_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrowwoodgm, General Manager at Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful and detailed review of Arrowwood Resort! We appreciate the wonderful comments about our staff, accommodations and recreation activities. I hope the weather cooperates better on your next visit! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    119
    80
    59
    29
See reviews for
222
44
1
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2011

My husband, myself and our two boys ages 7 and 2 had a great time. We had a newly updated room which was very nice, clean, comfortable with a big TV. I called for reservations and the staff was helpful and friendly. They offered a few different spring break specials which was nice. Very reasonally priced. We arrived a hour before check in and they were ready for us. We headed straight for the water park when we got there. Our oldest had fun on the larger water slides while our youngest enjoyed the wading play area. Temperature of air and water were good. There were 3-4 lifeguards on duty and all were polite and paid attention. They had a snack bar where the prices were reasonable. Beer for adults and smoothies for kids.
We had dinner at the resort. They were a wide assortment of selections for adults and nice kid menu. Staff again was very nice even when our two year old had a tantrum and had to be taken out for a time out.
After dinner we went to another pool located on a different floor from the water park. This was very clean and warm. Good place to work on swimming skills and get away from the excitement of the water park.
Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Schimmys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrowwoodgm, Manager at Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Thank you for the great review of your spring break vacation at Arrowwood Resort! We are happy you enjoyed our renovated rooms, the indoor water park, the food in our restaurants and all the activities we offer!

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

When we arrived, the resort from the outside looked very dated. After we checked into our room, you could tell the rooms have been updated, but the heater was old and the temperature constantly went up and down. The bathroom was very small and lacked an exhaust fan so when you took a shower, the entire bathroom was steamed over. The staff was very nice, the food was very good, but the main restaurant was also dated. The lounge was great for happy hour, even with kids as there was a nice little arcarde for them to play. The waterpark was nice and clean. Two days would be plenty if visiting with your family.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrowwoodgm, Manager at Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor! We appreciate the feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, we are renovating the resort and are doing everything possible to update the resort. I am happy you noticed the renovations and see we are making significate progress. Again, I'm happy your family enjoyed the water park and the newly renovated accomodations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2011

My husband and I took our girls to the Arrowwood Resort this past weekend for a waterpark getaway. We arrived and when my oldest daughter and I arrived, our eyes were instantly red, swollen and itchy. The room was spacious, but the beds were a little firm. The TV, fridge, and microwave was very nice. The waterpark itself was okay. It's a little small for what you pay for the rooms. We were pleased with the additional pool on another floor. The arcade was a bonus with the prizes they handed to my girls. The major problem I had was the itchiness of our eyes and when my daughter and I arrived home, we both had a rash that covered our bodies. I'm not sure if it's from the water or something in our room. The two youngest girls had an absolute blast, especially with the arcade prizes. Their housekeeping staff does a wonderful job cleaning the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicHau01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrowwoodgm, Manager at Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Thank you for your review of Arrowwood Resort! We appreciate your positive comments about the rooms, water park and indoor pool. I am sincerely sorry your stay was less enjoyable than it should have been because of the itching eyes you and your daughter experienced. I'm happy to hear that the rest of your party did not have the same issues. (Perosonally, I have a sensitivity to chlorine and get simular reactions to pools, so I really do understand!)
Thank you again for your comments. We hope you return to Arrowwood Resort in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We stayed at the Arrowwood Resort in January for a weekend get-away. This was our first trip to Arrowwood, and we were impressed with the large variety of activities they offer. Our 5 and 7 year old girls had a great time at the water park. We also braved the cold and had a blast ice skating. The room was very clean and spacious, and we thought it was well taken care of; despite the fact that it was not one of the new and remodeled rooms. The friendliness of the staff was the best we have experienced anywhere. This includes everyone: front desk, waiters and waitresses, lifeguards, snack bar employees, maids, spa employees...everyone. It is very clear when a business and their employees take pride in what they do, and the Arrowwood Resort and Conference Center should be very proud! I also cannot forget the Sunday buffet at the Cafe. The selection was outstanding, and the food cannot be matched! We can't wait to return! Well done!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirtgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrowwoodgm, Manager at Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
Thank you for the great review! We appreciate the compliments on the service and accommodations! It's nice to be recognized as the friendliest staff ever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We went to Arrowwood because we wanted our son to enjoy the waterpark and do snow activities. It was a perfect choice for a winter weekend. We had a spacious, updated room in the main complex. Walking from the reception to our room and then to the waterpark was quite a trip through a snake-like very long hallway but it was perfect for our two-year old who likes to run which he can't do safely outside at subzero temperatures. There wasn't only the waterpark but also a different, much less crowded spa area with a larger than normal pool.
The only thing which could be better was that despite the quite high price, no breakfast was included. It wasn't a big deal though because we were prepared and brought food, and the room had microwave and fridge. Be prepared that on weekends you might need reservations in the hotel restaurant due to large group/high school business. We found out too late and drove the 3-4 miles into town instead were we found very nice (and cheaper) restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auswanderer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrowwoodgm, Manager at Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review! We love your idea of making Arrowwood a new family tradition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We just spent a few great winter days at Arrowwood for a some family fun after the hectic pace of Christmas. Our room was well-kept (renovated rooms have warm, comfortable decor), we enjoyed our meals at the restaurant, and enjoyed so many of the activities available...swimming, skating, skiing, sledding, snowmobiling (which led us to snoring through the night). Our two boys, ages 4 and 13, had a terrific time, as did Mom and Dad! We're considering making this a new family tradition since we had such a blast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmwEagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrowwoodgm, Manager at Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
We take great pride in our services and accommodations and the number of amenities we offer to our guests. Thank you for taking to time to write a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Alexandria
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
5.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Alexandria Inn
Best Western Alexandria Inn
#3 of 12 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
#10 of 12 in Alexandria
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
5.2 mi away
Days Inn Alexandria MN
Days Inn Alexandria MN
#11 of 12 in Alexandria
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center

Property: Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center
Address: 2100 Arrowwood Ln NW, Alexandria, MN 56308-9063
Location: United States > Minnesota > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Arrowwood Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrowwood Resort And Conference Center
Arrowwood Hotel Alexandria
Arrowwood Resort Alexandria
Alexandria Arrowwood Resort
Arrowwood a Radisson Resort Alexandria
Arrowwood Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing