We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real confusing place”
Review of Interlachen Inn

Interlachen Inn
Ranked #17 of 71 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“a real confusing place”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

this is prototypical northwoods dining. small and intimate but very casual. much more lows key than buggaboos but nice. the food is variable and the service borders on the poor. i had the ribs which were good but borderd on the smallish side. others had hamburgers (good) and prime rib (good). the sirloin steak was average. call ahead for reservations because they are busy.; the location is very nice with a good view of lakes carlos and homme dieu on the drive in. i gave it three stars because i don't know what to say. by the way, the food is inexpensive.the bill for six was $102 with drinks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank artsmith147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love that Prime Rib!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Eddy's is one of those guilty pleasures you just can't resist. We went for the Friday night Prime Rib special. They offer a queen and king cut--if your appetite is smaller order a king cut and split it. Their augratin potatoes are a special treat and choose the clam chowder instead of salad for another special treat. We have also had their ribs and they are worth the trip as well-- a great sauce on an excellent pork rib! Our server was great but we have had uneven experiences in the past. More a lack of training and low staffing.

Nice outdoor seating for a lovely summer evening. Weekends and summers are the busiest so if you want to eat before 8PM a reservation is a good idea ESP if you have a party of four or more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, but substantial service issues”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

It pains me to write this, because I really like the food at Interlachen. Sadly their service has become so spotty, that we are taking Interlachen out of our rotation. Boo. More than half the time, we don't get what we order. It's crazy. We rarely if ever have this problem at other restaurants...but here....it's the norm.

And it wouldn't be quite so bad if the staff was even remotely apologetic, but alas they are not. Never is so much as $1 knocked off the bill. Just a casual - oh...well if you want what you ordered instead of what I brought you...that will take another 15 to 20 minutes."

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMS6395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible food and service”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our recent experience with the Interlachen Inn was horrible. First we got sat underneath an AC vent and it kept dripping on us and our food and drinks.. We told the waitress and she just said it was the AC condenser and didn't bother to move us. That was disgusting, there was dust and who knows what else was up in that vent dripping down on us. Next we order onion mound for an appetizer and they brought us potato chips. My husband ordered soup and the cup was only half full. I asked the waitress if there was garlic in the alfredo sauce and she said a little so I asked for extra garlic in the sauce since I love garlic. Mine came and there was absolutely no garlic taste. My dad's meal, she forgot to put in the order for his shrimp so he never even got his shrimp. His steak was way over done. My husbands steak which he order medium-rare was well done and the steak was 80% fat so he couldn't even eat it. We ordered drinks and she has to come back and ask me twice what I had ordered. Then we never got our buns and had to ask for them and she finally brought them after we finished our meals. Finally when we got the bill she had charged my dad for the shrimp he never got and over charged for the shrimp. Avoid this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DHaberer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great up-north dining experience”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Old-time feel updated and clean. Friendly service and good food.
would eat here again. Good value off the beaten trail, but worth the drive. Lots of history and character.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Interlachen Inn also viewed

 

Been to Interlachen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing