We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese food in town!”
Review of Great Hunan

Great Hunan
Ranked #15 of 73 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Evansville, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in town!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

No one beats Great Hunan in Alexandria for Chinese food! (at least that I know of). Crazy fast service, fantastic food!

My personal favorite is the sesame chicken - but they have a pretty extensive menu to choose from! Plus, free hot tea to drink, and a great atmosphere.. decorated pretty authentically.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great food, good prices and authentic atmosphere. Menu had a variety of choices. Was shocked at the large portions for the reasonable price. Would go back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank judy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The food is completely over priced for what you get and the people do not even understand what you order. . I was very disappointed. .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeshiaFincher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great family place”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Great food for a great price. Family run establishment with care for the customer. This is our favorite take-out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and service, surpassed my expectations”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Food was wonderful, lots of lean protein and fresh veggies. Service was great, too. At one point, when our baby started crying and we were having trouble eating (baby wanted to be carried....), our waiter offered to hold her for us so we could finish our food! You don't get service like that at a chain restaurant. Loved it and will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahjayne456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Great Hunan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing