We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Alexandria
Minneapolis, MN
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The good- breakfast. Saturdaymorning- Scrambled eggs, sausages, waffles, bagels, toast, yogurts, cereals, muffins, coffees, juices. Looked like a hotel room had been added to dining area for extra seating so not crowded. Monday morning instead of scrambled eggs, there was biscuits and sausage gravy (not refilled the 40 minutes I was there reading).
Price- we do the loyalty program and got a suite for a combination of around $50 and 5,000 points.
Room size- living room with sofa, chair, desk, two wooden chairs, TV in armoire. Bar sink, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker area with counter space, mirror and outlets so I could style hair while hubby in bathroom. Bathroom adequate size with the curved shower rod so shower feels roomier. Old style shower head with Awesome water pressure. Door closing off separate bedroom with king bed so someone could sleep in while another is in living room with Tv on.
Front desk- we stayed both Friday, May 17 and Sunday, May 19th and both nights we were asked if we had a reservation (we did) and as soon as we gave our name, the woman grabbed our paperwork and keys which were waiting. Polite, efficient, no complaints.
Areas where they could improve- bedding. Personally I hate the polyester bedspreads, much prefer duvets and covers that are changed with each visit. I don't mind feather pillows, but four small pillows on a large king bed, not enough, could use a few more or mx of firm and soft.
Furniture in living room. Plaid sofa and chair are quite worn, wingback chair pretty much unbearable to sit in. Bathroom floor was not immaculately clean, although the ret of the bath and room appeared clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine55416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    64
    40
    61
    52
See reviews for
134
55
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Booked a one night stay as a stopover on the way to Minneapolis and wish I had driven the extra 140 miles!
The front desk staff were pleasant on check in but that was as good as it got.
The bathroom floor had not been cleaned as it was stained and the bins had rubbish from the previous occupant still in them, The sofa was frayed and falling apart.
The noise from the truck stop next door went on all thru the night with monster trucks coming and going (not the hotels fault, but worth mentioning)
The only other plus point was the bed was reasonably comfortable, but certainly would not recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If you want a good room try a different hotel !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugs100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alexandria hotels

Centerville
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Well I will start out with the good.
The Breakfast was stocked and fresh, and counters were clean. The woman working the breakfast had it under control and cared about doing a good job.
The pool was good, clean area.
Now for the bad.
Towels in the pool were really frayed, worn out.
Carpet in the lobby had not been vacuumed in a long time.
In our room, the shower curtain had large rips in it.
The sofa bed couch had many crumbs under the cushions, and bedding was such a mess that we could not tell if it had fresh linen.
The sofa bed frame was bent or just so broken at the top that our heads were sinking into this thing.
The fabric on the sofa bed was torn, and stained.
Large groups of loud people in and out of the hallways all night, received prak phone calls from other other hotel guests at 3:30am! from the content of what they said, I'm certain they had been drinking.
We were not able to sleep at all!
One Employee after another smoking cigarettes at the front door, the smell was awful.
Many strange, threatening, had written notes from "The Owners" throughout the hotel.
At check out I told the woman at the desk about all of these things, and she said to me "Sorry, will you be paying with the credit card you have on file?" After she checked me out, she went out by the front door to smoke.
The "Owners" should fix there broken Motel.

Room Tip: Don't ever stay there......EVER!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryce77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Bryce77,

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel and lack of professionalism displayed by the desk agent during your stay.. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.

~Deanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnesville, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Spent one night in March to met friends. Had asked that our room be close together but we were placed in opposite wings and floors of the hotel. Hotel was full and not enought chairs or tables in the pool area. Nothing for Kids to do in pool area other than float around. Hotel was under renovation and the quiteness of rooms was terrible. Two very loud groups. Sign in the pool aea stated if they run out of towels the pool will be closed. What's up with that? Pillows were some of the cheapeast I have ever experienced. Had a double queen room with four pillows. When used they turned into the size of a marshmellow. The heater/ac in the room could not or would not stay at a comfortable setting. Very poor sleeping conditions. I wil say the the breakfast offered was good. Other than see friends it was the only highlight.

Room Tip: With the experience I had I am not sure I could give a good recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I am so sorry to hear of the problems that you experienced while at our hotel. It is always our goal to have every guest leave satisfied with their experience. Please know that all of our guest comments are taken seriously and we are working to ensure that they do not happen again. Again, please accept my more sincere apologies for the issue that you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

From the outside this place looks decent, but once inside it was horrible. There were signs up saying they are remodeling, but that is no excuse for the condition of this place. As we were walking to our room the hallways carpets were filthy and looked like they hadnt been vacuumed in weeks. When we entered our room we were overtaken by the smell of smoke/stale smoke. It was unbearable. There was a chair in our room that was stained and smelled horrible. The bathroom ceiling tiles were yellow and discolored. The ledge by the window had 2 dead flies on it. We then hauled all of our stuff back down to the front desk to see about a different room. We were told that they are a non smoking hotel and she had no clue why it would smell like that or why the housekeeper hadnt reported it as it is a half remodeled room (Yikes). She stated that she now had charge $200 to the credit card of the last person who stayed in the room for the smoke smell, which there is no way that was just from the last person. It also made me think if we had just dealt with the smell, (which there was no way we could have) and then next person reported it, they would have just charged $200 to our card even though we hadnt smoked in the room. She showed us another room which had a pulled out couch that had a huge rip in it with stuffing hanging and was very worn around the edges. Needless to say we took our things and went to a different hotel. I am not sure why Carlson wants their name associated with this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ND1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are extremely unhappy to hear of the challenges that you experienced while visiting our hotel. It is our goal that each guest leaves satisfied with their stay. Please know that your comments have been heard and we are working very diligently to ensure that this situation does not happen again. We hope that the next time that time you are in our area, you will return to see that we have been able to make changes to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebeka, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I hope the "New Management" signs are not an indication as to what the hotel will offer in the future. We planned a trip with some friends and all four of us requested we be close to eachother as far as rooms go due to having small kids. We were all four on two two different levels and opposite ends of the hotel we couldn't have been more far apart if we asked to be so that set the tone for the night. We have three kids and at bed time realized the room only had four pillows so when I asked the front desk for an additional pillow I got a "Sorry we don't have extra pillows" Really? What hotel doesn't have extra bed linens, pillows, etc? The beds were horrible,the pillows were flat and less than desirable and the heater in the room didn't maintain a certain room temperature. The greatest thing about staying at this hotel was....leaving.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsEwert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Seems Clean but need new beds and bedding. Bed are old. Linens are yellow. Pillows r horrible. Not many people here tonight. The American was full. Stayed here due to low price only. Western Minnesota needs better hotel choices.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DW54016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Alexandria
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
#9 of 12 in Alexandria
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Alexandria MN
Days Inn Alexandria MN
#11 of 12 in Alexandria
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Alexandria Inn
Best Western Alexandria Inn
#2 of 12 in Alexandria
193 reviews
21.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Parkers Prairie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
Address: 5304 Highway 29 South, Alexandria, MN 56308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing