We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a hotel/motel restaurant”

Rudy's Redeye Grill
Ranked #30 of 73 Restaurants in Alexandria
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Join us for our classic American Fair in Rudy's Redeye Grill. Steaks, seafood, pasta, sandwiches, and more...something for everyone!
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not bad for a hotel/motel restaurant”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I ate at Rudy's on January 11, 2013 and had a very nice prime rib dinner. The setting was comfortable and the service from the wait staff was good. It is usually a more subdued environment where it is easy to carry on a conversation with others and enjoy a good meal. This particular evening however, there was a very large group of young girls and their parents in the restuarant enjoying their dinners after returning from a hockey tournament they were playing in. Needless to say, they were having fun and filled the place with energy. That was fun to watch and was not an unpleasant experience but did make it more difficult to carry on a conversation with my guest. However, I wouldn't hesitate going back in the future as it was still an enjoyable dining experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    10
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Poor Service, Below Average Food”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

As with other reviews, it seems almost unanimous this establishment is known for extremely poor service. My companion had been here before, and had poor service but I wanted to eat here, as I had never been. So she agreed. On her previous visit, when the food finally arrived they had to take it "to go". That is how long it took. But we were ready to give it another try! So we tried lunch on a Wednesday. There were only 2 other tables occupied, in the whole restaurant. That should have been a clue. Yet, it seemed as if we were interrupting something else terribly important. Because when our waitress brought the coffee, she put the cup down soundly and sloshed it into the cup. When she came back, we had to let her know the coffee was cold, could she bring some new coffee?. Her reply, "Well, I would have to brew some." "Well....okay, that would be fine...." Yikes! The salads had a very sad presentation. We had the spinach with a chicken breast. It was packed into a cereal bowl. The chicken was not a fresh breast, but some pre cooked thing that was grisly in places. Really NOT good. I really wanted to like this place, the atmosphere looks so fun, but it just isn't recommended for anyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabasha, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good food, decent prices, nice specials.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I'm a huge fan of this place when I stay at the holiday inn at Alexandria because whether it is breakfast, lunch or dinner.......I've never been disappointed. Good service , great food. Just try to avoid the psychotic karaoke folks on whatever night they do that there in the bar. It's awful !!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mn_mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimmerman, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Didn't like the breakfast”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We enjoyed the bar in the evening. Had some drinks and sang some karoke. We had breakfast both Sat and Sun and both times it was aweful. My kids wouldn't eat the pancakes and they LOVE pancakes. On Sunday they didn't like anything on the buffet except the donuts and cereal.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT CONSISTENCY!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great food, drinks and service! Go there for consistent everything!! Also check out their pasta bar!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TaylorMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Redeye Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Redeye Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing