We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite stop at any hour -” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doolittles Woodfire Grill

Doolittles Woodfire Grill
Ranked #2 of 70 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Featuring woodfired rotisserie cooking, Doolittles Woodfire Grill is an experience that delights all of your senses! The woodfired rotisserie grills meat over an open flame for a savory wood roasted flavor. The rotation of the rotisserie creates self basting and slow roasting skewers resulting in juicy and succulent meats such as Spit-Roasted Chicken, and Smoked Hanger Steak with Horseradish-Whipped Potatoes and Red Wine Reduction. Doolittles boasts over 60 wines by the bottle and 30 selections by the glass. Warm, relaxing atmosphere...come as you are!
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“My favorite stop at any hour -”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I was looking on trip advisor and saw our local eating establishments and thought I would rate it since I always seem to have a great meal- I like that they are continually changing the menu and adding unique & flavorful / creative appetizers and entrees-
Favorite time is happy hour 3-5pm with delicious appotizer choices for 1/2 price- I love the balsamic tenderloin skewers $5 satisfyingly filling and cooked to perfection.
I don't think u will be disappointed :)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandGirl070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    72
    16
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very nice lunch or dinner spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have eaten both lunch and dinner at Doolittles in Alexandria. My most recent visit was January 12, 2013 for lunch with a group of six. Our wait staff was very courteous and efficient. He described an apple cherry crisp consideration for dessert prior to taking our orders so that we could take that into consideration while thinking about what it was we were going to order. So often the dessert suggestion is made after you have eaten your entre and you have no room, no matter how good it sounds. It's these little touches that make the dining experience more enjoyable. The food was all good, large portions and reasonable lunchtime prices. Dinners in the past have also been equally enjoyable and I would not hesitate recommending Doolittles to anyone finding themselves in Alexandria, MN looking for a nice dining experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara falls
Level Contributor
185 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nice Steakhouse - Upscale and Cheap!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This restaurant came highly reccomended by our hotel and some locals so we decided to check it out.

The menu has a great selection of beef, and other BBQ items ranging from apps, sandwiches to full entres. A great menu for any BBQ fan!

The atmosphere was upscale (staff was dressed nicely in white dress shirts) and the restaurant was more of an upscale grill, however the prices were very cheap - easily $20 per person for a decent steak and drink (there were more expensive options, topping out around $30).

We enjoyed our meal enough that we came back twice during our stay.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank NFTravller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
152 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good barbecue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We normally always have good service, I have had the chicken many times and never been disappointed, both of the flatbreads were good and the molten nirvana is great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mkm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
240 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Slowwwwwwwww”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very slow service .Food was ok buy very average .Server kept getting lost Wouldn`t have any reason to go back

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wbgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doolittles Woodfire Grill also viewed

 

Been to Doolittles Woodfire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing