We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“not worth the price” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Heritage Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Albert Lea
Stratford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not worth the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

would not recommend this hotel. The location is okay the price is very reasonable but the quality of the hotel is not acceptable. It does need an upgrade and did not feel safe at this hotel...........

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    5
    9
    32
See reviews for
31
9
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lacona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Booked this online and hotel was under different name. When arrived informed us we had no heat in room so gave us heater. It was chilli out with just having 12 inches of snow. Room,,, t.v. is old fashion maybe 12 inch. No remote, tried calling front desk no answer. Went to front desk myself to get one. Brought it back didn't work no batteries. Hotel had buckets, garbage cans sitting all around to catch leaks. On Saturday when arriving back to room, drip, drip, drip right on clothes. Clothes all wet, tried calling front desk again. No answer AGAIN, went to front desk told guy. He wasn't concern going to put us in another room. Didn't offer to help or anything. While packing up ceiling fell down. Didn't stay was afraid for our safety. Guy at front desk very unprofessional. Ice machine was also broke, had to go front desk to ice hoping the guy would be there to get it for you. When leaving asked for owners name, guy would not give it to me. He was young kid, that don't know first thing about customer service. OOOO breakfast... what a JOKE!!! Was in banquet room,, milk in tubs, cereal in containers and that was your breakfast. Room was held in smelled and was dirty. Had one hallway closed down in both directions due to water leaks and ceiling falling. Not a safe place. The state health inspector needs to look at this place and close it down.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albert Lea hotels

Albert Lea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I booked this hotel online and when I went to the hotel it was under a different name. To my surprise it was so disgusting that we stayed for a short while and left. It was suppose to be non smoking- but the hallways were filled with cigarette smoke. There was trash at all entrances to the hotel. The lights in the room did not work. There was no water in the toilet bowl- we had to flush it to see if it worked. Cracking, peeling paint and walls. Dirt on the counter tops. TV remote did not work. I will NEVER book from online again. I can't trust what I will get. VERY disappointed and VERY disgusted!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Josette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Upon arrival, the workers were very unprofessional. One was sitting in a lobby chair and the one checking in was talking to us about how the workers don't get along and how the one sitting in the chair never does anything.

When we needed something, every time we went to the front desk, no one was available to help us. There was lots of noise from children coming from the pool past 11 p.m. Very distracting and made sleeping more difficult.

We found a dirty sock in one of the beds in the room; the sheets had not been changed since the last guest was there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My family and I make a trip back to southern Minnesota every late January. We all grew up here, but now everyone left the area for college and warmer climate. We booked this place online and omg this place is terrible. They overbooked our meeting room and they have to "warm up" the one we are going into as a replacement. Are you kidding? Why is the heat not on all the time? If you're hurting that much to have to turn heat off then just sell the place. Wow. Oh, and the toilet seat slaps you on the back when you're using that bathroom. That's really cute, too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

After seven tries we acheived access into a room. The issue was locks not working with key card. Then, in the room there were holes in ceiling and walls from remodel project. Shower ceiling tiles fell when my 11 year old granddaughter was showering. Good thing she looked up when rinsing shampoo from her hair! Barely got out of the way! Hot tub was a distrubing shade of brown. Pool was littered with water toys, beer caps, papers and a serious clogged drain on pool decked that allowed for a very unsafe puddle to form. This was our second time staying at this hotel. First time,September 2012, the hotel was adequate. The room we were giving should have never been rented out. I won't even mention the carcasses of dead bugs in common areas. At least, they were DEAD!! An inspector needs to close this hotel before someone gets seriously hurt!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherlockanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

the sign needs to be changed so people don't give up trying to find it and go elsewhere. the sign is still knights inn. they are still renovating so things were not like the "hilton" but we only paid $40/ night. beds comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful, if you want your beds made every day, let them know, as they don't do it. maybe needing to save money in that area. would stay there again. they are working on the fans in the bathrooms and the thermostats in the rooms. they supplied us with a fridge and a microwave for our 3 day stay. wifi in the rooms too.

Room Tip: this hotel has recently changed ownership and is in the middle of renovating, so there are still thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albert Lea
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Albert Lea
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 11 in Albert Lea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Albert Lea
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35
17.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Hotel

Property: The Heritage Hotel
Address: 2301 East Main Street, Albert Lea, MN 56007 (Formerly Hotel Midwestern)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Albert Lea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Albert Lea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEWLY REMOLDED luxurious 3-story full-service hotel/event center is conveniently located at the intersection of Interstate 35 and Interstate 90. The historic Heritage Hotel of Albert Lea features a clean, comfortable, and affordable nights stay including an onsite restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, hot tub, free continental breakfast, and exercise room. Come and stay with us where luxury meets affordability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Albert Lea Hotel Albert Lea
Albert Lea Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing