We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“now called hotel midwestern”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Heritage Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Albert Lea
iowa
2 reviews
“now called hotel midwestern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

the sign needs to be changed so people don't give up trying to find it and go elsewhere. the sign is still knights inn. they are still renovating so things were not like the "hilton" but we only paid $40/ night. beds comfortable, staff very friendly and helpful, if you want your beds made every day, let them know, as they don't do it. maybe needing to save money in that area. would stay there again. they are working on the fans in the bathrooms and the thermostats in the rooms. they supplied us with a fridge and a microwave for our 3 day stay. wifi in the rooms too.

Room Tip: this hotel has recently changed ownership and is in the middle of renovating, so there are still thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    5
    9
    32
See reviews for
32
9
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albert Lea, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this motel. The staff was very enjoyable and nice. They are in the middle of many updates. The thing that sticks out the most is the friendly staff they were great. I would stay here again and i plan to stay here everytime i come to the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel was every nice and the front desk staff was ever helpful to me getting to my room .the room was clean and the pool was ever nice.I wood stay agine and wood have my friends stay at the knights inn

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceblueeyes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
Level Contributor
214 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel has name issues with at least 3 names given to me when trying to find It on sat nav, the reception were friendly and apologised for name issue, the lobby area was clean as was my roo m On the ground floor, it was quiet. The pool was nit clean though it was greenish in colour and the breakfast was terrible, the food was processed rubbish as was the juice, the hotel is ideal for a overnight sleep only

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyBenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I were traveling on business; came here looking for a Days Inn. We learned it was now a Knights Inn, after going through many different names. The lobby was immaculate with polished marble floors, statues etc. The rooms were totally different. The first room had blood on the sheets. We were moved to another room with clean sheets however the room was ill-kept. We were told Wi-Fi worked but the fax did not. Turns out neither did the internet.
This was a nice place in its day. That has long since passed. I would describe it as a low budget motel with a nice lobby. I would not recommend this place nor will we be back.

Room Tip: Go some where else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albert Lea hotels

Isanti, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is a older one, but what really was bad was the housekeeping. In the bahtroom in our room there was a bar of used old soap still in the tub and dirty washcloths hanging over the shower curtian.
Connie of Isanti

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Very unhappy with our stay at this hotel. If you plan of staying at this hotel more then one night do not expect to have your room freshened up. We got back to our room and found it just as we left it in the morning. Granted some hotels do not change bed sheets because of being green but they did not make the bed. There were not clean water/coffee cups or a clean bag for ice. The garbage was not taken ect.After a long day of shopping, visiting with family and hot weather it would of been inviting to have gone back to a refreshed hotel room to rest and enjoy. I hope that this hotel management and staff will bring up thier standards on hospitality. They will find happier guest and better reviews.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albert Lea
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 10 in Albert Lea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Albert Lea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Albert Lea
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35
17.8 mi away
Days Inn Austin
Days Inn Austin
#1 of 7 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Hotel

Property: The Heritage Hotel
Address: 2301 East Main Street, Albert Lea, MN 56007-3924 (Formerly Hotel Midwestern)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Albert Lea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Albert Lea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Heritage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NEWLY REMOLDED luxurious 3-story full-service hotel/event center is conveniently located at the intersection of Interstate 35 and Interstate 90. The historic Heritage Hotel of Albert Lea features a clean, comfortable, and affordable nights stay including an onsite restaurant, indoor pool, sauna, hot tub, free continental breakfast, and exercise room. Come and stay with us where luxury meets affordability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Albert Lea Hotel Albert Lea
Albert Lea Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing