We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Albert Lea
Certificate of Excellence
Sainte Paul
2 reviews
“Nice clean hotel Great Staff”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here spur of the moment and it was a great choice! Rooms where very nice and updated. Breakfast had a wide verity for being continental. Staff was very friendly and always had a smile, especially Kendra. I had the pleasure of being checked in by Kendra and she was absolutely great, very friendly and helpful with directions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmitchell_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel as well as one of our employees! I will pass your comments on to her and we hope to see you again in the near future when your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    97
    19
    12
    3
See reviews for
155
42
14
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

There was a snowstorm, so the required BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP when plows back up gets really annoying really fast with exterior walls this thin. Cleaning under and behind furniture was not done recently and I found candy and tissues in both those areas. The HVAC unit in the room woke me up every time it turned on. Carpets had noticeable staining.
Continental breakfast was acceptable for this level of hotel. Staff was friendly. Green Mill is right next door when looking for dinner.
Was in accessible unit, not by request, next to exterior door on first floor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mkwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I apologize the necessary beeping from the snowplow as well as the tissue and wrapper found in your room behind the furniture. I thank you for bringing this to our attention so that I can get it addressed immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

After a long road trip what a nice surprise. Got the "honeymoon" suite, double jacuzzi tub in the living room. Soaked my dawgs while watching my Cats get thumped by the Buckeyes! Staff very nice. Bed and pillows incredibly comfortable. Price was right! Breakfast only downside. Eggs tasted like powdered, less varieties than most chains. I will search out this chain in the future. Wifi worked great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
It sounds like you had a great stay in our "honeymoon" suite! Thanks so much for taking time to review us! I hope that you will stop by again when your in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just stayed at this hotel for a hockey tournament, along with 2 other hockey teams. The hotel was clean, the rooms were nice, and the breakfast quality and assortment were amazing.

We inquired at booking about utilizing the breakfast area for a team lunch and was told it was first come first served. We have done this on other occasions at other hotels and have never had an issue, this is standard procedure. After organizing a large lunch and sitting outside the room an hour ahead of time while the room was closed for cleaning, one of the other teams showed up ready for their lunch in the same room, and I was told they had the room held for them. It is very unfair for one group to be told it could not be reserved, only to have another group reserve it. When checking at the front desk, despite every alternative we came up with, our only option was to upgrade to a suite, which meant moving all of our stuff to another floor AND organizing lunch for about 25 people at the same time. It was not an option to utilize this room for just a short term, and moving at that time was extremely inconvenient.

Later that evening, when our team went into the pool for the first time all weekend, there were no towels in the pool area. One of the moms went to the front desk, where a very inconsiderate male was now working who refused to give her a towel for her daughter, adamantly claiming he could not give out any more towels because people were taking them to their rooms. He finally gave her 5 towels, despite being told we had 12 kids in the pool. He was extremely rude to her; knowing you have at least 45 kids coming in for the weekend, the hotel should be prepared for this. I later witnessed him being very rude to a group of kids in the lobby area, yelling at them to stay out of cabinet rather than politely asking them, and when I had to go to the desk to get my key activated, he never made eye contact with me and acted like I was interrupting him. Every interaction I saw him make he was rude and inconsiderate, always scowling and never smiling.

I am certain we will be returning to Albert Lea for future hockey tournaments, however I do not think we will be staying at the Country Inn & Suites again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments regarding the cleanliness of our hotel as well as our breakfast selection. I apologize for the issues that occured during your stay. If you would like to discuss further please feel free to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here almost ten times in the past three months and I've been pleased every time. The rooms are clean and in very good condition. The fitness room is on the smaller side but has enough to get a decent workout while away from the gym. High speed free wi-fi has never failed to provide video streaming and VPN when I need it. The people here are helpful, like when the desk attendant helped me jump-start my car at the end of his shift. If you're looking in the Albert Lea area, I don't think you could be disappointed. And, I was calling around for rates for an extended stay and this hotel had the best price and was most flexible, which is how I came to stay here the first time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! It's alwasy nice to have you stay with us when your in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

While encountering a Minnesota snow storm, I decided to stay at this property. Upon check-in, the staff was extremely Helpful and seemed genuinely concerned about the weather and making sure I received the type of room I wanted. The property was very clean, lobby, room and breakfast area alike. Two exits south of the Interstate 90 exit I found it to be an oasis in the middle of a snow storm.

Room Tip: The third floor was nice a quiet. The property is located a few blocks off of interstate 35 so there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
I am grateful that you did get off the roads and stayed with us! Thank you for your kind words and please stop in again when your in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SI NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have been staying at this hotel for the last few years when we are in Albert Lea for business. The hotel is clean, room very comfortable, staff courteous and breakfast included. Gym small but fills my needs. Will keep going back each fall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SITravellerSiNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel! I'm so glad that you enjoy your time while here and we look forward to your future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albert Lea
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 10 in Albert Lea
279 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Albert Lea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Albert Lea
17.9 mi away
Days Inn Austin
Days Inn Austin
#1 of 7 in Austin
288 reviews
14.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Northwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea
Address: 2214 E Main St, Albert Lea, MN 56007-3921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Albert Lea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Albert Lea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Albert Lea
Albert Lea Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing