We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel rooms reeks of cigarette smoke!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Albert Lea
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Albert Lea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Do not recommend this hotel to anyone! Our "non-smoking" room was so smokey that considered checking out at 4:00AM, but since we were in town for a family funeral had no choice but to stay. Window could not be opened to let in fresh air; carpet was dirty and we questioned wheter the bed sheets had actually been changed . We stay in hotels over 50 nights per year...this is the worst we have ever had. Prices are not cheap so one would expect much better. Non smoking rooms are adjacent to smoking rooms...talk about poor planning.

Also hotel has no elevator so you will need to carry your own luggage up and down steep steps. This is not the hotel for mature travelers or anyone with allergies.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xmiiniegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alamericinn, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Albert Lea, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2011

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to announce that we are now 100% smoke free and have repainted and updated all guest rooms including 32" LCD flatscreen tvs and new beds and there will be new updates coming soon.
Thank you again for your comments and please consider giving us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for AmericInn Lodge & Suites Albert Lea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 147 of 147 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2005

My family of 4 stayed at this hotel on a long road-trip. I must say it was very dissapointing. Below is a letter I wrote to AmericInn that was forwarded onto the general manager since they are individually owned franchises. It has been 3 weeks and I have not heard a response from him.

------------

To whom it may concern,
My family and I stayed in room 124 at the AmericInn off of I-90 in Albert Lea, Minnesota last night. Based on our experience there, I am writing this letter to express my displeasure with several items. They are:

· The room was very cold upon arrival. The AC was on maximum, and although the outside temperature was about 90, the inside was closer to 60. It took several hours for the temperature to become comfortable throughout.

· For a "king suite with a sofa bed" the room is extremely small when compared to other chains "suite" style rooms.

· The windows were stained with some sort of film either on the outside or between the panes so one could not see outside.

· The bathtub and both sink drains drain very slowly. It's sort of gross to take a shower and end up standing in 4 inches of water.

· The towels are some of the worst I've ever seen. If they were in my house, they would be relegated to the garage.

· The toilet flushing and shower were both incredibly loud.

· Since the smoking and non-smoking rooms are mixed in, the hallways reek of cigarette smoke.

· The breakfast area is so tiny and minimal that there were people stacked up waiting to get food and then there was nowhere to sit down. We ended up going to McDonald's.


Some positives:

· The pool area was nice

· The room was clean



In the end, we paid way too much for the quality we received. I am requesting that AmericInn please refund at least $50 of the $119 we paid as that would be more on par with the level of accommodations provided when compared to comparable motel chains. In addition, I would like to be reimbursed the $15 we paid for our breakfast at McDonalds since we expected a reasonable breakfast at the motel as part of the room rate. Please refund / reimburse $65.

Please be aware that we are not singling out AmericInn. I spend approximately 50 nights a year in various hotels, motels, inns, suites, etc. on business and have a very good idea of what to expect for what amount of money.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank amorsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alamericinn, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Albert Lea, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2011

Thank you for your feedback, in the time since your review we have updated many areas in our hotel including new 32" LCD flatscreen tv's and new beds with more improvements coming this summer. With all these improvements we have strived to maintain competitive rates for the area and season.
Again thank you for your feedback and we invite you to come back and see the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mfiorella28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alamericinn, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Albert Lea, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davidino99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albert Lea
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Albert Lea
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 10 in Albert Lea
291 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Albert Lea - I-35
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Albert Lea
18.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Austin
18.8 mi away
Days Inn Austin
Days Inn Austin
#1 of 7 in Austin
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Albert Lea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Albert Lea

Address: 811 E Plaza St, Albert Lea, MN 56007-2084
Location: United States > Minnesota > Albert Lea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Albert Lea
Price Range: $98 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Albert Lea 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Albert Lea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing