We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and smoke filled rooms”
Review of 40 Club Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
40 Club Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Aitkin B&B and Inns
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Old and smoke filled rooms”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Please don't make the same mistake I did and stay here. The pool was gross and beds terrible. This will be my last trip to the 40. Front desk was not trained in at all. Just a horrible experience. The food is good next door but hotel is terrible. I should have listened to the other reviews.

Room Tip: Choose different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    8
    0
    5
See reviews for
11
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester,MN
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The first thing you notice when you enter the room is the beds only come up to your knee. They are so old and flat. The box spring was a brownish color with hair and crumbs all over it. All the furniture is extremely old. The carpet was stained with something that looked like kool-aid. The bathroom has exposed rusty pipes with a sprinkler on it. I can not image that it would work in a fire. The pool has paint peeling off the liner. The hot tub was nice and large. I realize this is a small town hotel, but it needs to be updated or condemned.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midwestmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aitkin hotels

Aitkin, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed at this motel and it was terrible. Rooms are old and all seem like smoking rooms.
The breakfast containers are just bowls with peanut butter in them. I saw one child stick his knife in and then lick it and put back in. WHY dont they have little containers like other motels. Was going for a dip and hot tub, but swimming pool was dirty and cold and hot tub was like bath water. Pool area was dirty with dead flies all over. Place really needs a face lift BAD.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We got a room last minute and stayed one night. The reception staff was friendly and free internet within the room was. Next to the hotel is a bar where the locals frequent. People are generally very friendly. The room was clean and overall a good value for money. There's not much to do in Aitkin besides visiting the local movie theatre and cafe. Once a year they have a street parade. Probably a nice place to stop over before driving all the way to Duluth from the Twin cities.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monivros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aitkin
20.4 mi away
Whitefish Lodge and Suites
9.2 mi away
Country Inn Deerwood
Country Inn Deerwood
#3 of 3 in Deerwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
24.5 mi away
Grand Casino Mille Lacs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hallett House Bed & Breakfast
12.4 mi away
The Red Door Resort & Motel
12.3 mi away
Woodland Beach Resort
Woodland Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Deerwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 40 Club Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 40 Club Inn

Property: 40 Club Inn
Address: 950 2nd St NW, Aitkin, MN 56431-1151
Location: United States > Minnesota > Aitkin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aitkin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 40 Club Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your 40 Club Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
40 Club Hotel Aitkin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing