We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place was awesome, most friendly staff, beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Afton House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Afton House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Afton B&B and Inns
Green Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This place was awesome, most friendly staff, beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

We stayed at the Afton for my brother's wedding. We arrived hours early, but they were able to get us checked in right away. The front desk girl, Penny was great. All the the waitstaff was wonderful. I think our waitresses name was Carrie who waited on us for about 3 1/2 hours in the afternoon was probably the best, most friendly waitress we have EVER had. I was in the hotel/food service business for years. No complaints about this place. The Inn was clean & beautiful. It would be great for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylGreenBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    78
    49
    39
    19
See reviews for
15
227
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MSP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

We selected the Afton House Inn for our Strategic Planning meeing and it was quite a huge success. The Staff at all levels were extremely pleasant and a joy to work with. The rooms were very comfortable and inviting. The meals were delicious and the boat ride was the icing on the cake. Afton House Inn made a tedious meeting very enjoyable due to the great hospitality we received, we will most assuredly turn this in to an annual event for your company!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsEventPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

Our trip was a perfect one! I would love to do it again. Magical is a good word to describe it. The staff was super nice and helpful. Made us feel like we belonged. The room met our every need. I would recommend this inn to anyone that wants a bit of heaven on earth .......

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2009

Shower was like using a waterpic and when you aimed it away from your body to prevent the pain, the black mold that was never cleaned would come out from under the door. Clearly if the shower could loosen the dirt someone cleaning could have also. Didn't use the tub as when the water was turned out you could feel a later of soap and after the shower experience was not going to go there.

The overall inn was very nice. Food was good.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustmeMadison_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2009

The hotel room was very nice. It was roomy and with nice decor. The hot tub was very big. We like that we could walk to the shops and to the message appointment. We both had the prim rib dinner at the Catfish. The service was greta , but the food was OK. Over all we had a great night away from home and we will be back in the summer to watch the boats and walk along the river.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elvis008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

My wife and I stayed for a romantic weekend away and we could not be happier with the stay. The room (#21) was beautiful with a fireplace, jacuzzi and vaulted ceilings with skylight. The staff was very welcoming and helpful.

No matter what your budget, eat at the wheel room/Pennington room. The staff was incredibly attentive but also knew when to not bother you. They were extremely helpful in wine selection but did not make you feel cheap when ordering the least expensive wine.
The food was simply amazing. Their mushroom risotto is the best I have ever had.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johntripmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2009

It was a pleasure to stay at Afton House because the service was excellent, the room and view marvelous, and the weather beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duchessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afton
10.8 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
3.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
5.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hudson House Grand Hotel
9.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton House Inn

Property: Afton House Inn
Address: 3291 Saint Croix Trl S, Afton, MN 55001-9424
Location: United States > Minnesota > Afton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Afton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Afton House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Afton House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afton House Hotel Afton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing