We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very relaxing.”
Review of Afton House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Afton House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Afton B&B and Inns
mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very, very relaxing.”
Reviewed April 10, 2009

The hotel room was very nice. It was roomy and with nice decor. The hot tub was very big. We like that we could walk to the shops and to the message appointment. We both had the prim rib dinner at the Catfish. The service was greta , but the food was OK. Over all we had a great night away from home and we will be back in the summer to watch the boats and walk along the river.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elvis008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    79
    50
    39
    19
See reviews for
15
232
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2009

My wife and I stayed for a romantic weekend away and we could not be happier with the stay. The room (#21) was beautiful with a fireplace, jacuzzi and vaulted ceilings with skylight. The staff was very welcoming and helpful.

No matter what your budget, eat at the wheel room/Pennington room. The staff was incredibly attentive but also knew when to not bother you. They were extremely helpful in wine selection but did not make you feel cheap when ordering the least expensive wine.
The food was simply amazing. Their mushroom risotto is the best I have ever had.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johntripmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2009

It was a pleasure to stay at Afton House because the service was excellent, the room and view marvelous, and the weather beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duchessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2009

David, one of the owners' sons, personally hosted us throughout the weekend. The head chef was present during the meals to advise on wine selections and to provide interesting information regarding the entree choices and food preparation. We felt as if we were part of a great family of Afton House Inn owners and employees.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newport00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2009

There were a number of maintenance issues in our room (#21). TV remote did not work, lamp by the bed was not working correctly, and the radio did not work. Mary, the bartender/a.m. dining room hostess, was excellent. Our phone was not activated upon check-in. We had a wonderful time but with a little sprucing up of staff, etc it would have been perfect.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

My husband and I needed some time away from a hectic work schedule and children. We didn't want to spend and arm and a leg just to get away for one night and wanted to stay close to town. The Afton House Inn was perfect as our room was cozy, affordably priced and in-town with the "not in-town" feeling as the area was quiet. The dinner in the Pennington Room was wonderful with my husband's meal cooked right at the table as well as our banannas foster (complete with flames). It was a wonderful experience and the food was beyond delicious. The next morning we enjoyed the champagne lunch and appreciated the $6 coupon associated with our room on the brunch. The brunch was phenomenol and worth the money. The service and ambiance was wonderful. I also enjoyed the option of early check-in (2 p.m.). I have already recommended the Afton House Inn to several friends. We will definitely be back!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetheinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Well, to begin with. When I called to request a room, I was told that the only rooms available were the $229 rooms that overlooked the river. Upon pressing the employee I was told that she did have a room with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub for $159.00 per night. I agreed to take that one thinking it would be a nice romantic evening for my husband and me. I was required to pay in advance (that is usually a bad sign as I should know better by now!) Upon arriving, what seemed to be the manager behind the desk was complaining about another employee loudly (I believe the complaint was about "Lisa") which would have been no big deal except she comes into play later in this story. We were given a personal escort to our room by the front desk clerk, with no mention of any type of breakfast being offered in the morning (so we ate down the street at a really cute restaurant called Sail Away--which was friendly and yummy!) Our room hardly warranted $159.00 per night! Yes it had a jacuzzi tub that looked like it had been an afterthought to the room, yes it had a fireplace (which you could not have enjoyed once on the bed, which was only two feet away and much higher and no where else to sit in the cramped room.) The television was propped up on a very small table which you could not watch in bed because the foot board was blocking the view and the remote control did not work so you had to get out of bed to change the channels! The room was seriously outdated with maroon carpeting and outdated wallpaper. If they were trying to achieve an "old style" look, they failed. I will say the room was clean. We wanted to sleep with the window open but no screens so opted for the loud a/c. Due to the recommendations we ate elsewhere for dinner. We did however come back to the inn for dessert. I will say the Creme Brulee was very, very good and it would have been a nice end to the evening except for the loud "off duty" employee "Lisa" hugging the bar and yelling the entire time to the bar tender and fellow employee who had just gotten off work. It was obnoxious at best. We ate hurriedly and left. We will NOT be back, way over priced for what we got.

  • Liked — Right next door to place we were visiting
  • Disliked — Price, poor service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Swindleheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Afton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afton
5.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
10.8 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
336 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
102 reviews
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 8 in Hudson
71 reviews
9.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton House Inn

Property: Afton House Inn
Address: 3291 Saint Croix Trl S, Afton, MN 55001-9424
Location: United States > Minnesota > Afton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Afton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Afton House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Afton House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afton House Hotel Afton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing