We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afton House Inn....Interesting.....”
Review of Afton House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Afton House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Afton B&B and Inns
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Afton House Inn....Interesting.....”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked a room here along with another couple as a part of a TripAdvisor Stay and Ski deal. Ended up paying the $99.00 and what was also included was a pass for $10..00 off a lift ticket.(For the Afton Alps Ski Hill) We never made it to the ski hill, so just decided to relax and enjoy our stay in Afton itself.
The Inn is indeed, very OLD and QUAINT ,,,aka...(beginning to need more upkeep). The check in went smoothly and we stayed in Room #33. Large vaulted ceiling, tiny little window way up high, so you couldn't see out. Very dark in our room, but neat with a large gas fireplace and two person jacuzzi tub. The room was clean and comfortable, and the bed was King and nice as well. I walked in and immeadiately thought..."this smells like my grandparent's home on the farm!", but I couldn't figure out why....(reason to come later)
For the price and the deal and the location, yes, we would stay here again. Linens, bed very comfortable, towels were nice...interesting set up as they have a lot of rooms. I would think in the summer, this is a great stay, as it is right next to the Marina, on the St. Croix River. Our friend's room...#28 I believe, was way brighter, although smaller. It had a sliding glass door, allowing you to go out on a long deck, which over looked onto the marina. They also had another large window in the room as well. It was FREEZING in there when they were shown to the room, & it took a while to heat up,so they came to ours and passed the time until theirs was acceptable.(several cocktails' worth ;) ) They also had a cute little gas fireplace and smaller jacuzzi as well.
We got comfortable and quickly decided we would not be having dinner @ the Inn. The did have a beautiful "gourmet" restaraunt (no one was in there). We spent some time at "SWIRL" the wine bar which was alot of fun. It was decorated very nicely and played some great music and had a couple of decent bartenders. We did like this alot. Afton Inn also has a nice casual restaraunt as well, called "CURRENTS" and that had a cute bar and decent food. We however, ended up going to the "SAIL AWAY CAFE", just down the stree, and had a ball. Super food and a couple of guitar guys...made for a fun night.
(Service was horrible...but who cares, you are out to have a great time...no worries!)
Although the outside of the inn is in a bit of need.... the carpeting is old ect...the place does have a lot of charm. I think the deal of 99 bucks was fair, but I would hate to pay much more than that...Our surprise came that evening when we decided to try the tubbie....ahhhhh, the water was ORANGE and smell badly of rust.(GACK) I am sure it 's because the pipes are so old, from the 1900;s,,,but really, it was quite nasty. The washcloths, towels, tub and ourselves, became foamy orange. I refused to take a shower the next day, for fear of changing my hair color!!! I left a tip for the maid in the room, thinking how much work it must be to clean the hot tub with the ring of orange. It was the same for our friends as well...and shhhhhhhh No one breathed a word of it at breakfast, till we were chatting and others finally joined in about it ,,pretty much stating it was a problem through out.
The breakfast was fine, over done, nasty eggs...but the waffles looked really good ( I didn't have one) They used a homemade, all organinc mix, and the others in our party seemed to like them. Also offered was pastries from "Sam's Club"! , fresh fruit (good) , small yogurts, and Cheerios! Ah well, you get what you pay for.... either way, I still had a great time, and would probably stay again. I think it would be a blast in the summer months, but then thinking they wouldn't run the price special then....Hey, we are happy campers, so it doesn't take much to impress us. Just be aware of the rust color and smell, and the older condition, and you'll do just fine.

Room Tip: ah....good luck with that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedneckCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    78
    50
    39
    19
See reviews for
15
229
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Afton House Inn a few weeks ago as part of a ski and stay package. The package offered about a 30% reduction in the price of a room, along with a small discount on each of our ski life tickets for one day. Our room (28) was a nice size with a gas fireplace and whirlpool, and a balcony that overlooked the marina and parking lot (which I'm sure is more scenic during the summer).

While the room was comfortable for the evening, it was plain to see that it was starting to deteriorate. The antique chair at the sitting desk could not be sat in because of the immense hole in the caning on the seat. The lamp did not work. The shower had a leak, etc. We probably paid a reasonable price for the amenities and the shape the rooms and Inn are in.

Unlike any other B&B I have stayed in (many), there was no communal gathering room or dining room, and no feeling of being "welcomed" like you usually receive at a B&B. Instead, the main focus of the Inn seems to be on their multiple restaurants, rather than accommodating overnight guests in a unique atmosphere. When we stopped by the Inn's bar after a day of skiing, the bartender was rude and unattentive ... like we were a disruption to her day. Consequently, we went in search of somewhere else to eat that evening ... which we found down the street at the Sail Away Cafe (great!)

Breakfast was served in the main restaurant, which was a let down from other B&B's. Plenty of food, but nothing special than you couldn't get at ANY restaurant. We were able to get a pot of coffee brought up to our room in the morning when my husband went down to get a cup of decaf for me. But we had to wait until 8 AM before it was ready! It was also a little disconcerting to realize that there apparently was no "night staff" on duty at the reception desk since when we called from our room we could only get a recording telling us the Inn wasn't open at that time!

If you are looking for a quality B&B, you'd be better off staying at one of the many fine ones in Stillwater.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelBuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Afton Inn a couple of weeks ago and had a great time. The room was spacious and nice. We stayed in the same room a couple of years ago as well. I would recommend getting a room with a hot tub. They are slightly bigger and the hot tub is very nice. We had a working gas fireplace that was cozy. The next morning we enjoyed a lovely upscale continental breakfast that included eggs, items for making waffles, juice cereal, fruit, pastries, coffee and tea. The staff at the Afton Inn are super friendly and very accommodating. It was nice to see all the renovations of the Inn as well.
A wonderful overnight getaway! Go check it out.

Room Tip: Try and book a room with a hot tub, these rooms are slightly bigger and more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelbyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Our daughter's wedding reception was held here. Although the venue was attractive and the food was well prepared, there were persistent problems with the service before, during and after the event. When we went there hours before the reception started in order to set up, we found the tables were not arranged per our agreement, and we were told we it couldn't be changed to how we wanted it, which meant last minute readjusting of the seating charts. This unfortunately led to some unhappy guests who were not able to sit with their friends.

They were too quick to remove food from tables so that some of the wedding party didn't get to eat a full meal because they were busy greeting guests, and when this was pointed out, nothing was done to rectify the situation though there was plenty of food still in the kitchen. Along with the food being removed from the tables, so too were small gifts that were never recovered.

We were told beforehand there would be beer available by the keg; at the reception we were told it couldn't happen, resulting in higher costs than budgeted. And we were charged for mixed drinks though we specified beforehand that anyone wanting mixed drinks would have to pay for the drinks themselves.

When these concerns were brought to management's attention, they compromised on the costs only slightly, and very begrudgingly.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Afton hotels

St. Louis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The staff was friendly. It appears the rooms are individually decorated we found our bed comfortble. Our dinner was most enjoyable; we especially liked the Caesar salad and Banana's Foster both prepared tableside. The wine bar adjacent to the Inn offered wine tasting with seating around a fireplace. We found Afton a charming little town with an abunance of boutiques within walking distance of the Afton House Inn. We would like to visit during the summer. The Inn and town are on the St. Croiux River and we understand there is increased activity during the summer months.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary by spending a night at the Afton House Inn and dining in there main dining room. We enjoyed our stay and found the food in the dining room to be top notch, but a bit pricey. Being on the National Historic Register, the building and facilities are older and could use some sprucing up. However, you will enjoy the atmosphere as it is a throwback to earlier and simplier times. All in all, an enjoyable and unique lodging experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife and I decided to celebrate by 50th birthday with a weekend away at the Afton House Inn. We had stayed here once before about 10 years ago and remembered it to be a quaint Bed & Breakfast. Our stay this past weekend was a disappointment. The pictures on the website (http://www.aftonhouseinn.com/) show comfortable rooms appointed with many antiques. The rooms also feature one or more of the following: jacuzzi tub, fireplace, balcony overlooking the St. Croix river.

After checking in, we were shown to our room by the very pleasant and helpful reception clerk. After she had left us we did a cursory inspection of the room and were very disappointed. The jacuzzi tub was badly stained and the water jets had a heavy calcium build-up on them. The balcony did overlook the St. Croix river and marina, however there was a large parking lot immediately below the balcony and the St. Croix river is a considerable distance away. Note that the balcony is considered a value added feature of the room so this room came at a premium price compared to other rooms that do not have a balcony above the parking lot.

The unbooked rooms had the hallway doors open and there was a room across the hall that we believed to be the same room that we had shared ~10 years ago. This room did not feature a balcony, but did offer a gas fireplace. Besides, the jacuzzi tub was in considerably better shape. When we asked to change rooms, the staff was very cooperative and we made the change with no problem,

The bed was very comfortable with a good mattress and great pillows. There was a shortage of electrical outlets in the room and what few there were had lights, a TV, and an alarm clock plugged in. The only available outlet was in the bathroom. I use a CPAP when I sleep so I had to rearrange the furniture a bit to gain access to an outlet near the bed so that I could plug in the apparatus. The Inn does offer wi-fi, but again, the outlet situation comes into play as there was no handy place to plug in a laptop or to charge cell phones.

One other problem that we had with the room was temperature control. Even on the lowest setting, the heater in the room got the room excessively warm. We could not use the fireplace at all since the room was already well above toasty. For a while, we had the window open (December in Minnesota - this is not normal), but closed it because of an unpleasant odor (very sulfurous) coming from that side of the building. We ended up running the air conditioner on low all night and still slept with only a top-sheet as a cover.

Also see the photo of the broken curtain closure rod. There were parking lot lights outside our room that we could not block out. It was also a bit unnerving to be sharing a romantic couple's getaway with my wife with the window curtains open quite a ways - my apologies to the guests in the Annex building across from our room :)

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We visited the wine bar named Swirl and thought that it was very, very nice. Great atmosphere, nice hostess, good selection of wines, decent prices. We also visited the nearby Calla Lily spa for a couple's massage and this was very, very nice.

We ate dinner at the Currents restaurant at the Inn (see my review) and had a great meal, served by a great waitress. We went back to the Currents restaurant for Sunday brunch the following morning and had a second fabulous meal served by another great waitress.

The restaurant was the single gem on this weekend couple's getaway. While the Afton House Inn is billed as "all of the charm of an historic country inn with an antique ambiance, along with the modern conveniences of a private bath and television" we found the Inn to be more "run down" and "worn out" than "quaint" or "rustic".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afton
10.8 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
3.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
4.8 mi away
Royal Inn - Hudson
Royal Inn - Hudson
#3 of 8 in Hudson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hudson House Grand Hotel
9.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
5.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton House Inn

Property: Afton House Inn
Address: 3291 Saint Croix Trl S, Afton, MN 55001-9424
Location: United States > Minnesota > Afton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Afton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Afton House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Afton House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afton House Hotel Afton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing