We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountain Biking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Custer Recreation Area

Fort Custer Recreation Area
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mountain Biking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great camping great biking. There are a number of trails at varing difficulties. Trails are in great condition and very well maintained. Get an annual park pass and you can bike anytime!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ZeekIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hiking and biking trails throughout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great place to hike or mountain bike. Many trails go around the lakes, through woods, across fields. Get a Michigan park pass for free entry. Nice swimming lake in the summer.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelswithDogsNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mountain Bike trails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Trails were a blast. Scenery was awesome! Drove from Lansing great morning trip. Definately worth a couple hour drive to check it out

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandville, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Back to Nature with many large secluded sites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

If you like being in nature and are not into parking lot style camping right next to your neighbor this is a park for you. Many sites are paved, large and secluded. There are small no wake lakes and the Kalamazoo River for canoeing, fishing or kayaking. There are hiking, biking and horse trails. Gull Lake Viiew and Stonehenge are about 5 miles away for golfers, Firekeepers Casino is less than 10 miles away and the Barn Theatre in Augusta is really close.The beach is nice although it is not located at the campground. The bathrooms were clean. We stayed in a large popup camper. The road into the park has been repaved. At $21 a night it is a great value and we will definately be back.

Helpful?
Thank howmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Kicked out, please read”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

For one thing, you should get rid of your park ranger who obviously has power/control issues. David Glenn was rude, exaggeratory, believed a couple next to us without asking me ANY questions, which by the way, there was NO ONE else around close at all, and he exaggerated on his "report" that said he had to have great restraint... FOR WHAT? Neighbors came over and asked us at 4:30 in the afternoon to turn down OUR CELL PHONE RADIO, that was INSIDE the truck, with the windows UP, because the lady wanted to take a nap. We were not being loud at all!!!!!! So Mr. Glenn decided to KICK US OUT because of accusations made by the couple, as well as THEY LEFT and he came over to tell us about the complaint that we were loud, I said ok, and was quite confused, and thought the problem was remidied since they left the park. No, instead Mr Glenn decided to call the POLICE on us at 11 p.m., as we were SLEEPING peacefully, and police made us leave or we were going to jail!! FOR WHAT??? Oh because the lady apparently told Mr Glenn, who failed to tell me this, that my husband peed in front of her and was threatening her! THIS IS JUST CRAZY!!!! We didnt even speak to them, other than "ok" and shook our heads at the turn down request. How loud can a cell phone radio be????? Mr. Glenns report also stated that the music was excessively loud and our dogs were barking out of control. This is a flat out lie to justify his own actions. Why on earth would we be asked to leave by police when NO ONE WAS AROUND US? Wasnt the problem (the couple) removed already? I cant help it if people fight during their camp experience and blame other people for their unhappiness, or people who love drama and create an unpleasant environment for others. We are peaceful, fun campers and have never ever had any problems ANYWHERE we have been. People have been much louder than that, and that is their business, and let them have fun. Really? 4:30 in the afternoon and some woman wants to sleep and we have to whisper? Are you kidding me Fort Custer? I can assure you that we were in no way shape or form loud, harassing no one, dogs are quiet until someone walks up to our site, and yes, they bark, thats their jobs, they are dogs!!!! Mr. Glenn you flat out lied about our music, you failed to inform us of the accusation of the urinating in front of her, so this is very clear to me that you lied and ruined our trip because you had a bad day maybe? Arent you sposed to be having fun when you camp? Did you feel like a real man calling the police to kick us out? And how the campsites are set up, site 99 as a matter of fact, it would be IMPOSSIBLE to pee in front of anyone!!!! WOW! Disgusted at how we were treated, like criminals, for going camping, and having Iheart radio on our cell phones!!!! Park manager Tony Trojanowski was pleasant, kind, respectful and listened to my complaint via phone. Mr. Glenn needs further people training and how to let people enjoy themselves and I would suggest a problem solving skills seminar or just firing him. Again, since the couple next to us left, why were were burdoned at 11 pm for 3 police cars to come and make us leave??????

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
20 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Custer Recreation Area also viewed

 
Portage, Kalamazoo County
 

Been to Fort Custer Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing