We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the Palace” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Auburn Hills

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Auburn Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Close to the Palace”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We picked this hotel because of the location close to the Palace, so we could cab there and back. Our hotel recommended a driver for us, and he offered to come back and get us after the show. That was nice and convenient for us. His rates were good as well.

When we got to the hotel, there was someone in line ahead of us, and we waited forever to get checked in, probably 20 minutes or so. I have no idea what the delay was, but it was just long and annoying. There were 3 people at the front, but only 1 person was actually helping anyone.

The staff was nice and friendly, they were just very slow...

They have a nice variety of food to order, which was great because I was hungry after the concert. However they don't deliver the room service, you have to go down and pick it up. When I placed the order they told me to wait 15 minutes and come down and get it.....they don't deliver it. They still charged my credit card, so it's not like it was a little cafe inside that took cash or something.

Which I thought was really strange and inconvenient. I've never been told I have to come down and pick up the room service before.

Overall the hotel was nice, and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikechik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    156
    52
    19
    17
See reviews for
209
116
24
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nice - good size rooms, clean & the people are friendly but they need help in customer service. They are trying to do too much. I refused a 'tour' of the hotel when I was checking in, due to the lineup behind. There's no sense of urgency. Good luck getting coffee in the morning too.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Swimmiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was a beautiful hotel in excellent condition. The front-desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially "Sharon." They offered us numerous eating and travel suggestions. The room service we ordered at 12am was fresh and delicious, while being affordable. The morning breakfast buffet offers an excellent array of hot and cold options, including biscuit sandwiches.

The room was spacious and clean.

However, I found the elevator particularly slow, and had a "weird" kind of unstable feeling to it. As well the "gym" had no weights or resistance equipment, only cardio which negatively impacted my morning routine.

Altogether an excellent hotel and well worth a visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiggsIvyLoraDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed one night at this hotel so I could attend a concert at the Palace. The hotel itself is wonderful. I've never had such professional and friendly service at a hotel before. I told the attendant at the counter that I was a light sleeper and therefore needed a quiet room. I was put on the 4th floor away from the elevator. Unfortunately, there was a noisy family next to me. I called the front desk immediately and asked to be moved. Sharon was so kind. She moved me up to the top floor at the end of the hall. Very quiet room. :) The t.v. in the room is huge! Comfortable wrap around couch to sit on. In the lobby there is a small bar/cafe area. I ordered a drink and she said I could sit anywhere in the lobby and she would bring it to me. Apparently Sharon can make a mean martini too. They have a wireless seating area for laptops and lots of other comfy places to sit. The only other mishap at the hotel was in the morning I went to brew a cup of coffee and they only stocked it with decaf. I went downstairs and upon checking out they brewed me a to-go cup of their coffee.

Now this part doesn't really have anything to do with the hotel. Upon check in they offered a shuttle to the Palace for the concert. It was $10 per person. It sounded like a good idea at first so my friend and I signed up for it. The idea was to get on the shuttle, the shuttle stops at a restaurant called Hoops, and then another shuttle takes you from the restaurant to the Palace. The shuttle (or bus really. Remember riding a school bus as a kid?) arrived on time and took us to Hoops. Unfortunately when we got there instead of being able to enjoy dinner and a drink we entered an impossibly crowded establishment with an hour wait just for a table. At that point dinner was out otherwise we'd been late for the concert. We were able to get just one drink. So we left and hopped the shuttle to the Palace. The driver told us he'd pick us back up at the same drop off point. Trying to get dinner at the Palace was a disaster. It was so crowded, no where to sit, too late to make a reservation. So I ate a pretzel. After the concert was over we waited at the curb and when the shuttle picked us up he crammed as many people on in one trip as he could so it was standing room only. That shuttle took us back to Hoops where we had to wait about 20 min. just get the shuttle back to the hotel. Epic fail. We were cold and hungry. I wish I had driven us to dinner and then to the Palace myself. Definitely not worth all the stops to take this shuttle. Drive yourself.

Room Tip: No late room service, although they did prepare us an entree and called us down to the lobby to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skinnyjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stay in a LOT of hotels. From Atlanta to DC to Michigan, etc. Most leave me longing for home and my bed. With four children in tow, we are the last folks most hotels want to see coming.
Then, there's this hotel. They came out to the pool where our children were splashing and yelling and making an obscene amount of noise, and instead of telling us to quiet down they brought pool noodles and warm towels. Greg at the front desk was particularly amazing. The man was ON HIS BREAK and spotted us in the parking lot trying to decide where to have dinner, and went back inside to get a list of local restaurants. If there was anything amiss with this hotel, I didn't notice. I was too busy enjoying the special treatment by the staff. Also, I've paid $20 for breakfast at a Hilton before and it wasn't any better than the free breakfast buffet. We will DEFINITELY stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KBBaeumert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I and another couple stayed here for a romantic weekend on 2-7 to 2-9-14. The staff was the friendliest I have ever seen at a hotel! Everyone was so nice and helpful. Brandie gave us coupons to Great Lakes Crossing Outlet, and tried to get us a discount at the pub we were going to have dinner. She printed out maps for us, and gave us playing cards that evening. The breakfast was ok. To me, the sausage was greasy, but that;s just me! There was no safe in the room, which I thought was odd, considering this is a very business-oriented hotel. The rooms were amazing! Huge, with a separate kind of living area. It even had a fridge. The pillows were small, too. The pool is big, but no jacuzzi. The fitness center is small, too, but you can borrow hand weights if you want. I thought that was very helpful! All in all, I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are the same. I would never stay near the pool, though. Too much noise if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stantonfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We needed a room for three when seeing a concert at the DTE Energy Music Theatre. It's a good location if you have a car as it is only about a 12 minute drive away.

What really pleased me was the welcome by the woman at the front desk. She was incredibly friendly and was seriously detail oriented going through everything we needed to know. A short while after getting into our room we received a follow up phone call by the front desk asking if everything was alright and if we needed everything. I have stayed at some pretty nice hotels in my life, but no one has ever done that.

The room was nice and clean. It isn't the most modern of decor nor the fanciest, but for a good night's sleep and a comfortable atmosphere, the hotel is a good pick. I usually stay at a fancier hotel down the road when I am in the area but the service here is far, FAR better. So I would make the switch.

What I also liked is that after we got back from the concert we were all hungry but of course all the restaurants were closed by then. No problem! They have a full service food bar that runs past midnight serving pizza, sandwiches and quesadillas.

If you like shopping, the Great Lakes Crossing Outlets mall is a short 10 minute drive away as well. In any case, whenever I am in the area for concerts, I will come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DingerzDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auburn Hills hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#1 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Auburn Hills - North (Great Lakes Crossing Area)
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Auburn Hills
Crowne Plaza Hotel Auburn Hills
#11 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South
1.1 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
#5 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
#7 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Auburn Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Auburn Hills

Property: Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
Address: 1545 North Opdyke Road, Auburn Hills, MI 48326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Auburn Hills
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auburn Hills
#7 Business Hotel in Auburn Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Auburn Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Place Auburn Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills Hotel Auburn Hills
Hyatt Auburn Hills
Auburn Hills Hyatt Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing