We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Auburn Hills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sylvania, Ohio
1 review
“Hotel Say”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

As usual, the Hawthorn caters to my ever changing schedule. they always are courteous and gracious, even at the late hours of my arrival without a reservation. I am usually in my room within minutes. They make my stays very convenient and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Jeffery O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornSuites_mgt, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to say such nice things about our hotel and staff. Great guests such as yourself make it easy and rewarding to come to work. I am happy to hear that our staff continues to take great care of you every time you come. We hope you continue staying with us throughout 2013 and will be able to take advantage of our renovations after they are completed. Many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    124
    64
    32
    15
See reviews for
101
129
29
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pontiac
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was expecting a Queen sized bed and it was a full sized bed in the room. This was my first visit there and didn't appreciate the false advertising. When you measure the size it is a full. Greatly disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornSuites_mgt, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
I would like to apologize that your stay with us was not as comfortable as you had hoped for. Unfortunately, all of our beds are queen size per Serta. I have heard that many people do feel they are more like a full size, but then others say they are right on size. All queen size sheets do fit the bed. We would love for you to try us again after our renovations this summer and see if you still feel the same way. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and I will definetly bring this up to our corporate office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

So, they advertise wifi in every room, but it's slower then dial up! When I asked about it, there was many apologies, but they are in the process of upgrading. Didn't help much, I checked out and went next door. The entire place just needs upgrading! Not even Hi Def TV's.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank hhpmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornSuites_mgt, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We are very aware of our internet problem and after 4 months of fighting with Comcast, we are happy to report that it has been fixed! We have had many guests report that the internet is now very fast and they are now very happy with the service. I hope that you will try us again the next time you are in the area. We will be going through renovations starting in June and I know you will be happy after they are completed. I apologize that your stay wasn't what you'd hoped it would be. If there is anything we can do to get you to try us again, please let me know. Best Wishes on your future travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We recently stayed at here earlier this week. Wife and I travel weekly across Michigan and Ohio. We were very impressed by the price, cleanliness and service at this location. Megan was especially helpful as she lent her own personal cell phone to assist on locating my wife's lost phone. Thanks again Megan and we will definitely stay here again next month.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gampaj1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornSuites_mgt, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such great things about our hotel. Megan is an exceptional example of how our staff tries to make all of our guests feel comfortable and appreciated during their stay. We look forward to having you back as our guest if you are ever again in the Auburn Hills area. Best of luck on all your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auburn Hills hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#1 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
#4 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
#9 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
#5 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills
Address: 1650 North Opdyke Road, Auburn Hills, MI 48326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Auburn Hills
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auburn Hills
#6 Business Hotel in Auburn Hills
#10 Family Hotel in Auburn Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently Renovated in 2013! Stay as long as you'd like at the Hawthorn Suites in Auburn Hills, Michigan. This is the hotel where business travelers prefer to stay for any length of time. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with two separate phone lines - check email with our new and improved Wireless High Speed Internet. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player, or watch TV on our brand new flat screens. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Pantry. Our studio suite is perfect for those short trips away, or lesser expensive for those time-consuming projects. The one bedroom suite is large enough to accommodate the family, or when one-on-one meetings are crucial to your success. We are minutes away from Continental, Chrysler, and Borg Warner. Conveniently located off Interstate 75 in Oakland County, we are near many of Eastern Michigan's sports and leisure attractions such as the Detroit Pistions, Detroit Lions, Detroit Tigers and the Detroit Redwings. Great shopping can be found at Great Lakes Crossing Outlet Malls and Canterbury Village. Don't delay, try Hawthorn Suites in Auburn Hills on your next trip away! Pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Auburn Hills Hotel Auburn Hills
Candlewood Suites Auburn Hills
Candlewood Auburn Hills
Auburn Hills Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing