We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, comfortable and affordable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Auburn Hills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    130
    69
    36
    15
See reviews for
111
135
30
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

So, they advertise wifi in every room, but it's slower then dial up! When I asked about it, there was many apologies, but they are in the process of upgrading. Didn't help much, I checked out and went next door. The entire place just needs upgrading! Not even Hi Def TV's.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank hhpmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornSuites_mgt, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We are very aware of our internet problem and after 4 months of fighting with Comcast, we are happy to report that it has been fixed! We have had many guests report that the internet is now very fast and they are now very happy with the service. I hope that you will try us again the next time you are in the area. We will be going through renovations starting in June and I know you will be happy after they are completed. I apologize that your stay wasn't what you'd hoped it would be. If there is anything we can do to get you to try us again, please let me know. Best Wishes on your future travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We recently stayed at here earlier this week. Wife and I travel weekly across Michigan and Ohio. We were very impressed by the price, cleanliness and service at this location. Megan was especially helpful as she lent her own personal cell phone to assist on locating my wife's lost phone. Thanks again Megan and we will definitely stay here again next month.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gampaj1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornSuites_mgt, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such great things about our hotel. Megan is an exceptional example of how our staff tries to make all of our guests feel comfortable and appreciated during their stay. We look forward to having you back as our guest if you are ever again in the Auburn Hills area. Best of luck on all your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Good location, good basic suite with kitchenette. No frills property, but clean, at a great price! Most Hawthorne Suites have a hot breakfast, this property just has a grab & go basket with muffins, granola bars along with juice and coffee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hubby and I booked this hotel for 3 nights because of its price point and proximity to his parents house. Great location. We were impressed when the night manager came to our room within minutes when we called to say the heater didn't work (it's 26 degrees with several inches of snow outside). And guests are offered bottles of OJ or water and a choice of blueberry or banana muffins or granola bars in the morning. But things went downhill from there.

The rooms are equipped with a little kitchen area and are approximately 20x15, including the bathroom - two people don't feel cramped in it. But there is only one nightstand and the other side of the bed is 10-12 inches from a wall - no surface by the bed for a 2nd person to put a drink or cell phone. The lone light by the bed is over the nightstand so the 2nd person cannot read in bed.

The TV remote doesn't control the volume. We replaced its batteries but still no go.

Two months ago my hubby stayed here 5 nights. Not once was his room cleaned or towels restocked. He was told to go to the front desk to get clean towels. This stay they did clean the room and restock the towels the first day but not the 2nd day (we left the room about 915am both days). Why the inconsistency?

The parking lot is snow-plowed but the sidewalks are not.

My hubby says "Well the room is only $96 a night. You get what you pay for". I say the front desk should inform you of cut rate service and be consistent in their delivery of service.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highpocketsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auburn Hills hotels
1.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
#5 of 17 in Auburn Hills
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#3 of 17 in Auburn Hills
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
#4 of 17 in Auburn Hills
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
#6 of 17 in Auburn Hills
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills
Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills
#11 of 17 in Auburn Hills
267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills
Address: 1650 N Opdyke Rd, Auburn Hills, MI 48326-2655
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Auburn Hills
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auburn Hills
#6 Business Hotel in Auburn Hills
#10 Family Hotel in Auburn Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently Renovated in 2013! Stay as long as you'd like at the Hawthorn Suites in Auburn Hills, Michigan. This is the hotel where business travelers prefer to stay for any length of time. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with two separate phone lines - check email with our new and improved Wireless High Speed Internet. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player, or watch TV on our brand new flat screens. Borrow your favorites from our free video and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Pantry. Our studio suite is perfect for those short trips away, or lesser expensive for those time-consuming projects. The one bedroom suite is large enough to accommodate the family, or when one-on-one meetings are crucial to your success. We are minutes away from Continental, Chrysler, and Borg Warner. Conveniently located off Interstate 75 in Oakland County, we are near many of Eastern Michigan's sports and leisure attractions such as the Detroit Pistions, Detroit Lions, Detroit Tigers and the Detroit Redwings. Great shopping can be found at Great Lakes Crossing Outlet Malls and Canterbury Village. Don't delay, try Hawthorn Suites in Auburn Hills on your next trip away! Pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Auburn Hills Hotel Auburn Hills
Candlewood Suites Auburn Hills
Candlewood Auburn Hills
Auburn Hills Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing