We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for RUDE staff!!!! UGH!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Auburn Hills Suites
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Auburn Hills
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here as part of a very large group of figure skaters who were competing at the Fraser rink. Hotel is large with open concept. They have a large bar area which is nice. The parents and grandparents spent the night in the bar area watching the Packer game and spending A LOT of money. We were the only ones in the bar area that night and were a respectable group. Around 10:30pm, we were getting hungry and wanted to order pizza for our group. The Hilton kitchen was closed for business so we could not get anything from them. Front desk gave us the pizza info and we ordered, Once it was delivered and we started eating, a VERY RUDE front desk worker told us we could not eat that here or we would be thrown out. Some sort of Michigan law - that you can't bring in outside food? He threatened to call the police. I'm sure the Detroit police department would have loved to receive THAT call. We ate our pizza anyway but needless to say I have NEVER been so insulted at a hotel before. There were no signs stating this fact anywhere - it seemed to us like this guy needed a little power and decided to threaten all of us at 11pm at night. One of the other parents asked if we could eat it down by one of their fireplaces, which was outside the bar area, but that is not allowed either I guess. I will NEVER stay here again. NEVER! My husband and I are Hilton Honors members and have never had this kind of treatment before and feel just insulted by this episode. We have stayed at different Hilton Hotel's 5 times within the last 2 months. This left a VERY BAD feeling for me and for the other parents and grandparents in our group.
On a different note - rooms had terrible heating and cooling systems. Rooms were very hot and we could not get it to cool down. Numerous other parents said they had the same thing. A few opened their windows (in January!) to cool down - we didn't realize the window opened otherwise we would have.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twilightmom4sure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinWalsh, General Manager at Hilton Auburn Hills Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hello twilightmom4sure -

Thanks for your review here on TripAdvisor. I'd like to apologize for the level of frustration we caused your group while you stayed with us. It sounds like we didn't have the right approach when speaking with your group. In hindsight, we should have offered you a better alternative to enjoying your outside food (the pizza from a local restaurant) that was in our restaurant.

Thanks again, and we did enjoy having your group stay with us. We hope we get another opportunity to have you stay with us again.

Thanks,

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 888 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

great atrium, nice rooms, and potentially a solid 4+ rating place, however
in need of some upkeep. sauna didn't function the entire 4 days we were there, nor did the jets on the hot tub. (it was hot, at least) the pool is great, good size for lap swimming or accomodating a lot of kids. the doors on one of the elevators refused to open when it got to the floor. and because the elevator responded to the button, the other one wouldn't come. so we just took the stairs down 4 flights, but for some people this could be a problem. not to mention, if someone was IN that elevator. anyway, the room was nice, what you'd expect from a quality hotel. just the other items did not seem up to par.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laker1rn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinWalsh, General Manager at Hilton Auburn Hills Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hello laker1rn4 -

Thanks for your review here on TripAdvisor. I would like to apologize for the experience you had while staying with us. We valuable your feedback, and have made, and continue to make, improvements to our property to better accommodate travelers. Our Pool, Sauna, and Jacuzzi are fully functional, and are actually being renovated this month to refresh the entire area. Additionally, the elevators are getting a full renovation in April - to modernize and make the experience much better.

Again, thanks for your review, and I hope we get to see you next time your staying in Auburn Hills!

Thanks,

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with a large group of competitive ice skaters. Check in was good, hotel is very nice and comfortable rooms,although many in our group were to have double beds and there are none or few available and everyone was given king beds. Many of us were in the bar area watching football games and spent LOTS of money at the bar. Around 10:30 p.m. we decided to order carryout pizza because there was nothing available at the hotel. When our pizzas arrived we were told we could not eat them at the bar (Michigan law) The staff was very rude, and threatened to call police if we ate the pizza there. We ate it anyway and told them to arrest us all. Very horrible experience. If we would not have been there that night the bar would have made no money. We are parents and grandparents of the ice skaters and were not looking for trouble just hungry. If that is a Michigan law, signs should be posted - Would NEVER stay there again!!!

Room Tip: If you need a double bed room better make sure it is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grannyofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinWalsh, General Manager at Hilton Auburn Hills Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Hello Grannyofthree -

Thanks for your review here on TripAdvisor. I appreciate the feedback that you have provided about our property.

I'd like to apologize for how our staff approached your group that evening. In hindsight, we should have offered a better alternative for your consuming of outside pizza in our restaurant. It sounds like things got escalated, and I can understand your groups reaction's and frustrations about how it was handled.

Again, thanks for your review. We did enjoy having your group stay with us that weekend, and we hope we get the opportunity to host you again.

Thanks,

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hotel met and exceeded my expectations. Staff friendly and helpful. Room clean, roomy and well appointed. Onsite meal and bar are good dining options. Hotel is nicely located to several good restaurants with easy access to many Pontiac MI businesses. The only issue I experinced was with a noisy heating system.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

A very nice hotel property...
I spent a hurried trip into Auburn Hills; travel was hectic with missed flights, missed groound connections, but the hotel was probably the best part of the trip. Check-in went smoothly, the suite was well appointed and quiet, off the main atrium.
Restaurant had a good menu for late evening dining with good atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMcNeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Size, decorating and cleanliness of rooms (true Suite-style) were an outstanding value.

Front Desk personnel very friendly and helpful.

Manager's reception was lame compared to other Hilton properties. Breakfast in the "Executive" Room however was better than most (THANK YOU for having "real" scrambled eggs). Nice lounge area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KibbleGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here on business travel. The rooms are excellent. Business Center is decent. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was reasonable and overall good.

Pool was ok but sauna was not working. Lobby was spacious. Hotel store was ok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auburn Hills hotels
0.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
#5 of 17 in Auburn Hills
298 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
#4 of 17 in Auburn Hills
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#3 of 17 in Auburn Hills
333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills
Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills
#12 of 17 in Auburn Hills
275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auburn Hills Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auburn Hills Suites

Address: 2300 Featherstone Rd, Auburn Hills, MI 48326-2851
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auburn Hills
#4 Business Hotel in Auburn Hills
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auburn Hills
#7 Family Hotel in Auburn Hills
Price Range: $112 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Auburn Hills Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Suites Auburn Hills hotel near Detroit is the only full-service, all-suites hotel in Auburn Hills, Michigan. We are just 5 miles from the Great Lakes Crossing Shopping Mall, 3 miles from The Palace of Auburn Hills, and a short drive to DTE Energy Music Theatre. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, the Hilton Suites of Auburn Hills and our surrounding areas share some of the most popular points of interest in Michigan. We will have you coming back time and time again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auburn Hills Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Motel Auburn Hills
Hilton Auburn Hills
Auburn Hills Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing