We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Auburn Hills
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chardon, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very nice new hotel”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel was in new condition. Ther deadbolt didn't work on my door at first but maintenance fixed it. The bed, pillows and linens were really comfortable and the main reasons why I pick Hampton Inn when I travel. I thought the cost was a little high.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Shoe500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your thoughts about your stay. As you mentioned we are still a brand new hotel, we have only been open for about six months now. It is because of this that we genuinely appreciate any insight our guests are willing to provide us with.
I am glad that the maintenance concern was resolved quickly, everyone here takes pride in our abilities to address concerns such as yours quickly so we are not impeding on the comfort of your stay. Our goal for each guest is to ensure that your stay is as comfortable and smooth as possible, it is good to know that your room was comfortable and that despite the initial setback you were able to enjoy your Hampton Bed and overall stay.
Thank you again for your comments about our property, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    85
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
154
63
19
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico, D.F., Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Special congratulations to your service staff. They are excellent people and have excellent attitude towards service and customer satisfaction. As suggestion, for your gymnasium, an universal machine is desired for leg and chest workout. Another suggestion is you to have scrambled eggs and fried beans everyday...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jesus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel as well as the helpful suggestions as to how we may better you next stay. We take great pride in our efforts to make sure each guest has a comfortable stay, a key component to achieving this goal is a staff dedicated to helping at any opportunity. Our guests have the best view of our property through impartial eyes. This vantage point is very important to us because it allows us to expand on what we are doing right and remove things that could be improved upon. Thank you again for taking the time to tell us about your stay, we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokena, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

On a recent trip to Detroit for a concert at the Energy Center we decided to stay here for the convenience. It was your typical Hampton Inn; nice comfy beds; good internet; delicious breakfast; fresh baked cookies upon arrival. It did have a pool and fitness center but we did not use them. Everything looked fresh and clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
We are so glad to hear your stay was went smoothly. High quality of your stay is only valuable if it is consistent, and reviews such as yours allow us to see that we are doing the right things. It is very important to us that we meet expectations of all of our guests, the unique perspective of those who stay in similar hotels often is very helpful. We are grateful that you were able to allow us to see our property through your eyes so we may better see how we may improve ourselves. We thank you for being our guest and look forward to seeing you the next time you come to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hamburg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Hotel was great! Clean, Joe who checked us in was very friendly. If you are staying there soon and don't know the area, call the hotel in advance to get directions around the road construction on Featherstone.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
We greatly appreciate you kind words about our hotel and staff. It is extremely fulfilling to see that the effort we all place on giving you a comfortable stay is being noticed. We also appreciate you taking the time to allow us to see what you saw through your review, as well as allowing future guests to better prepare for their visit. We rely on communication with guests and a commitment to our goal of a comfortable stay for all of our guests to constantly improve ourselves. Thank you again for telling us about your stay, we look forward to having you the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2014

from the minute me and my mother in law and niece walk into the hotel till the time we left it, we were beyond happy with the staff and service we received while down from hamilton for the 57 canusa games, Mark and Joe were very friendly and helpful with helping me get to the best mall i have ever been to. it was a very short drive to the outlets, which was nice. being on the outlets property was very busy and noisy, i prefer the quite, the staff seeing i had my niece offered us the room right nex t to the pool, and even being beside the pool u couldnt smell the cholrine or hear the other visitors enjoying the pool. with the vending machine being a bit finkey joe gave my niece some gummy bears which made her very happy, the coffee was always hot and the breakfast were pretty good, im not a big breakfast eater but i did enjoy what i did eat :D i plan to be back in october and would def book here again!!!

Room Tip: any room is a good room we just asked for the best and they gave us the one by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
We are so happy to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We all put forth a great deal of effort to ensure that each guest has a stay that both goes as smoothly as possible, and is as comfortable as we can make it. I am glad you were able to enjoy so many great attractions in the area, and still enjoy a quiet night at our hotel. Being so close to Great Lakes Crossing Mall and a number of venues we know that service and a quiet room are things which must be placed at the forefront of our efforts to give you the best possible experience. I am glad our staff was able to take good care of you and your family during your stay; reviews such as yours allow us to clearly see that the pride we all take in our work is noticed by those who matter most. We look forward to having you again in October, feel free to call any time and we will do our best to get you in the room best suited for your next stay. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Would definitely stay again. Only reason they did not get 5 stars was difficult to get to with the construction. Hotel was very clean and staff very attentive. Had a very comfortable night sleep. Beds are very comfortable. Breakfast was the usual for a Hampton. Only complaint about breakfast would have liked brown sugar for the oatmeal. Not the end of the world but would have been nice. Kids and wife liked the pool. Internet worked fine for me in the room. Have to drive a little bit if you would like a selection of restaurants. Very convenient if going to Oakland Community College or Chrysler both just down the street.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pso418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your stay. Comments from our guests are the most accurate method we have to determine how our efforts are being perceived. We apologize for the inconvenience the construction caused you, we are aware that it is difficult for people traveling to an unfamiliar area to negotiate any added difficulty when finding their way to our hotel. We are hoping that we will have our road back soon. For your next stay, if there are any delays to your travel on the area roads please feel free to call us at any time and we will be more than happy to help you with directions or detours. I am glad to hear your family enjoyed our newly renovated swimming pool and spa, we are all very proud of how it looks after being updated. Thank you again for taking the time to share with us about your stay, we look forward to having you back for your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, FL, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a hidden gem. Although the neighborhood to the west is not very attractive, this property is well kept and a good value. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the competent staff always greets you with a smile. I have compared this hotel with other similar properties in the area. For the money, it is my preference. The travel websites list the room prices. However, if you call the desk at the hotel, you can often negotiate a better deal. They want your business.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ralph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are always proud to hear when an entire stay from booking to checkout goes smoothly. Everyone here is proud of our hotel and of individual efforts put forth to best serve our guests. Being a newly opened property, the perspective of any guests who is compelled to share thoughts about their stay is very important. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to your next visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auburn Hills hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
#4 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Auburn Hills - North (Great Lakes Crossing Area)
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#1 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
#5 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills
Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills
#11 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Detroit Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South

Property: Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South
Address: 2200 Featherstone Rd, Auburn Hills, MI 48326-2806 (Formerly Auburn Hills Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Auburn Hills
#2 Family Hotel in Auburn Hills
#3 Green Hotel in Auburn Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auburn Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable and modern hotel in Auburn Hills, Michigan. Welcome to the Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South - the closest hotel to the Silverdome stadium in Pontiac, MI. Centrally located in the Chrysler Headquarters, west of I-75 and south of Featherstone Drive, our stylish Auburn Hills hotel offers easy access to fantastic shopping opportunities at The Somerset Collection and Great Lakes Crossing Outlets and sports and entertainment at the nearby Palace of Auburn Hills. Oakland University, Oakland Community College, Baker College and the Thomas M. Cooley Law School are just two miles from our welcoming hotel in Auburn Hills, MI. Our spacious guest rooms at this hotel in Auburn Hills, MI, feature a refrigerator, a microwave, free WiFi and a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R). Enjoy Hampton's free hot breakfast featuring hot and cold favorites including fresh-baked waffles and hearty oatmeal with toppings. If you're in a hurry, grab a free Hampton On the Run™ Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday. Print documents and surf the web in the free 24-hour business center and hold a meeting for up to 12 people in this Auburn Hills, MI hotel's flexible boardroom. After a busy day, relax in the heated indoor swimming pool or energize with the latest equipment in the free fitness center. Enjoy free tea and coffee 24-hours a day in the modern lobby, and consult the front desk staff about what to see and do in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Auburn Hills Hotel Auburn Hills
Wingate Auburn Hills
Wingate Hotel Auburn Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing