We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent & clean for a quick over-night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Auburn Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Morris Twp., Michigan, USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“decent & clean for a quick over-night stay”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband & I went to a marriage retreat in February of 2013. Our room was a suite & was quite clean & very nice, actually. The only problem I had was the conference room was very small for the size of group that was at the retreat. We felt crowded into the room & that made it a bit uncomfortable. Breakfast was okay, since it was continental & provided what a person would typically get in a typical hotel. I always bring my own food, since I am Gluten-Intolerant & the continental breakfasts usually offer things that are not what I typically eat at home (I eat mostly Organic foods & of course, Gluten-Free foods).... I do wish these places would use "real" dishes & coffee cups, etc., since the chemicals in styrofoam leach into the food & drink... Very few of the hotels or Inns use the real thing, sadly. ......Also, I suppose that since it is a Holiday Inn "Express", that's why the entry way is quite small. there's really no place to sit & read a book in comfort, because of all the people going in & out & also the workers are right there..... Our room had a nice sofa & table & chairs, so it would be fine for that.... just no other place in the building for privacy.... I think I am a bit spoiled by Essenhaus Inn & Conference Center in Middlebury Indiana and the B&B's we tend to stay at ;-)

If you're looking for a quick stop, this is a good choice. Clean. Offers Breakfast. Nice staff.... Certainly NOT a place that encourages romance for a Marriage Retreat. (But that was the choice of whoever set the retreat up). It does have a lot of shopping & several restaurants right there, since it is right next to the Great Lakes Crossing Mall & other shopping areas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebRu05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear DebRu05,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is great to read from our guests on how we are doing. I sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not up to your standards and would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    60
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
91
48
12
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice now using our free anniversary night from the Priority Club Visa card. The toilet is interesting - the first time I've ever have a bidet type In a Hiexpress. The room and beds are comfortable, and the breakfast is good - I love the cinnamon rolls! At first we received a bill for our stay, but the manager sorted it out and was very nice. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, especially if you want a shopping getaway to Great Lakes Crossing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockinrobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN USA
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in a convenient area. Room was comfortable and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. And this is the first HI Express I've seen with a bidet on the toilet! (an add-on type, but cool nonetheless).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTravelerLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here one night when we ran into a bad snow storm on our way from Troy back to our home in Lansing. I just picked it off a google search from my phone and didn't disappoint. I used to travel a lot for a previous job and stayed in many budget hotels and this is by far the nicest I have stayed in. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The bathroom was nice and had very nice toiletries for a Holiday Inn. The check in person was great and even gave us toothbrushes and tooth paste because he knew we had nothing with us. The breakfast was good as far as budget hotel breakfasts go. Our only complaint was that as we left they did not salt the walk and my husband slipped and hurt his back. I read about this just a few minutes ago in another review, sounds like it is a consistent problem there and Holiday Inn should get that rectified or they will end up with a law suit. The walk to the parking lot behind the hotel is steep and can be very dangerous when slippery

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times and it gets better each time. The staff are always very friendly and helpful - thanks Michelle and Amy the manager is fantastic! From the time you arrive, the lobby is clean, there is always hot coffee and fresh baked cookies to enjoy as well the guest rooms are very clean. The gym (recently renovated) and pool area are also well maintained. The breakfast is awesome - what a great bonus! We travel from Toronto, Canada and this hotel is our 1st choice to stay at. We love it!! If you are looking for a hotel in this area be sure to stay here.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an upgraded room - it's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mongoose0870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
2 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Originally was booked to stay at this hotel only one night, as the next I would be moving on to stay with a frriend. I was travelling by bus, which left me in downtown Pontiac, not the safest place to be. Called the hotel and Matt assured me that the bus stop was within 5 miles from the hotel and the shuttle could come and get me. He even brought me coffee as it was brutally cold!! Everything from the moment of arrival to the moment I checked out (two days later) was amazing. The hotel is in the best location for outlet shopping. The staff was amazing, the room was one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in. I ended up suffering acrisis and had to stay an extra night. The staff went above and beyond to help me, and to accomodate my needs. The shuttle service was great. The friendliness of the staff was much appreciated. The overall experience was fantastic. I would recommend this hotel to EVERYONE. And plan to stay again if I am ever in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi_intheTdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you are traveling in the Auburn Hills area, this is the place to stay. Clean, quite rooms and a staff which is at the top. There is a Hampton Inn across the parking lot which just opened. Normally I would take a brand new Hampton in as the place to stay but somehow the staff at this Holdiay Inn continues to make it the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gadgetguy5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auburn Hills hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Auburn Hills - North (Great Lakes Crossing Area)
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Detroit Auburn Hills
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
#4 of 17 in Auburn Hills
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#3 of 17 in Auburn Hills
324 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
#5 of 17 in Auburn Hills
288 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
Comfort Suites Auburn Hills
#6 of 17 in Auburn Hills
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Address: 3990 Baldwin Rd, Auburn Hills, MI 48326-1219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Auburn Hills
#5 Business Hotel in Auburn Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Variety and Convenience at Our Auburn Hills Hotel The Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Auburn Hills, is 10 miles from Oakland County Int'l Airport (PTK), and offers a free shuttle anywhere within five miles of the hotel, except DTE or The Palace. This suburban Auburn Hills hotel near Metro Detroit, offers activities from shopping at the neighboring Great Lakes Crossing Mall to watching a Detroit Pistons game at The Palace. You'll find something new to do every season, such as splashing away the summer heat at Waterford Oaks Water Park, just three miles away. During the winter you can go skiing at Pine Knob just five miles from our Auburn Hills lodging. Our hotel near Metro Detroit is conveniently located for business travelers, with the corporate headquarters of companies such as Guardian, GM, Continental and Chrysler within five miles of the hotel. Crittenton Hospital is only seven miles from our Auburn Hills hotel. If corporate guests need to host a meeting, we offer two rooms that they can utilize, as well as a 24-hour business center. Our Auburn Hills accommodations offer wonderful amenities such as free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access, and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. Take time out to relax in our heated, indoor pool and whirlpool or enjoy a workout in the 24-hour fitness center. Our Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Auburn Hills is delighted to meet all of your hospitality needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Auburn Hills
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Auburn Hills
Auburn Hills Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing