We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Auburn Hills
Certificate of Excellence
New Hamburg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

This place felt like home. I hate staying in hotels because i'm a bit of a germ phob.
It was so clean I actually could kick back and relax. Beds were comfy and the bathroom was nice and very clean. The staff was super nice and very friendly.
The breakfast was the best I have ever had at a hotel.
This was an all around great hotel!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    57
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
89
44
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ON,Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here on Jan 12,2013. The hostess that checked us in was friendly and welcoming. She was knowledgeable about the area and answered every question we asked, she was very helpful. Our room was clean and smelled fresh. The halls, the lobby the dining area and the pool area were also very clean. All staff we met acknowledges us and asked if we were enjoying our stay a pleasant change from a lot of hotels we have stayed at. The hot breakfast really was hot and fresh with more variety than I have seen in any other hotel. The pool was clean though it did show a little wear on the bottom. Our room was stocked with towels, shampoo, lotions, cups and conditioner. It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel and I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and we found it to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyk656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My family and I stayed there for five days total. The location is great since it is right across from the Outlet Mall and also only 10 mins drive from the Stadium. However, I would still prefer the one right next to them which is the Hampton Inn. They are both great but I stayed at Hampton Inn at the beginning of this year for a business trip and the room there is def. much more newer and nicer compare it with the Holiday Inn. However, Holiday Inn do offer better breakfast deal in the morning lol

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSSNAKEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I love this chain of hotels!!
This hotel was great as well other than a few issues. The walls were super thin. We could hear the radio through the wall in the middle of the night. Also we woke up to snow the next morning and as we were loading our things into our car walking down the stairs outside was trecherous. No one had salted or shoveled. When I mentioned it to the front desk as we were leaving at 930am she told us that priorty was their other property and they would be dealing with it soon. Hopefully soon meant before someone fell and hurt themselves.
Breakfast staff was very nice, joking about how us Canadians LOVE our coffee. Very clean rooms and still smelled new in the hallways.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mama_2_a_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I took my wife and daughter shopping at the mall and the location was fantastic. I went back to the room and watched college football all afternoon while my wife and daughter went shopping. The hotel got all the ESPN channels and I had my choice of SEVEN football games. The front desk personnel were VERY polite, room was great and the breakfast (free) saved me $25.00. This was our second time staying here and most certainly will not be the last!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgropp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our second stay at this Holiday Inn and it didn't disappoint. We stayed for 1 night for a girls shopping trip. Check in was a breeze both times we stayed and the staff was friendly and helpful. I emailed ahead enquiring about the shuttle service they offered and received a prompt reply. As we arrived later in the evening we didn't end up using it this time but what a great service. The shuttle runs until approx 10 pm and will take you to stores within the area. I forget the radius but it included all of the stores we wanted to go to (Kohl's, Meijers, Target etc). The rooms were clean and the beds comfy. I used the pool in the morning and it was delightful. As posted previously breakfast is free and better than you get at a lot of places. Great Lakes Crossing is within walking distance and the sales were great. It was a nice get away for my daughters and I. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank librarylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have stayed at this Holiday Inn before and had a great experience so I was expecting the same this time. I found the room I stayed in to be very nice however I am not sure if it was thoroughly cleaned after someone stayed in it or if a guest stayed a short period and it wasn't cleaned at all. There was a welcome letter for someone on the desk that was not myself (I stayed last minute) and then I found a retainer in its holder on the floor at the foot of the bed.

The breakfast area is a great set-up and there is a lot of choice however the apple I bit into was rotten.

I found the rate with the CAA discount (which is not much of a discount) to be expensive. I also realized that I was charged for a collect call I made after reading the hotel's handbook that said there would be no charge?

Overall I was a little disappointed because I have had such a great exerience at this hotel previously.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Julie I,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Auburn Hills.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auburn Hills hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Auburn Hills - North (Great Lakes Crossing Area)
0.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Detroit Auburn Hills
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
Hyatt Place Auburn Hills
#4 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#1 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
4.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills
Crowne Plaza Auburn Hills
#11 of 17 in Auburn Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Address: 3990 Baldwin Rd, Auburn Hills, MI 48326-1219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Auburn Hills
#5 Business Hotel in Auburn Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Variety and Convenience at Our Auburn Hills Hotel The Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Auburn Hills, is 10 miles from Oakland County Int'l Airport (PTK), and offers a free shuttle anywhere within five miles of the hotel, except DTE or The Palace. This suburban Auburn Hills hotel near Metro Detroit, offers activities from shopping at the neighboring Great Lakes Crossing Mall to watching a Detroit Pistons game at The Palace. You'll find something new to do every season, such as splashing away the summer heat at Waterford Oaks Water Park, just three miles away. During the winter you can go skiing at Pine Knob just five miles from our Auburn Hills lodging. Our hotel near Metro Detroit is conveniently located for business travelers, with the corporate headquarters of companies such as Guardian, GM, Continental and Chrysler within five miles of the hotel. Crittenton Hospital is only seven miles from our Auburn Hills hotel. If corporate guests need to host a meeting, we offer two rooms that they can utilize, as well as a 24-hour business center. Our Auburn Hills accommodations offer wonderful amenities such as free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access, and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. Take time out to relax in our heated, indoor pool and whirlpool or enjoy a workout in the 24-hour fitness center. Our Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Auburn Hills is delighted to meet all of your hospitality needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, IHG, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Auburn Hills
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Auburn Hills
Auburn Hills Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing