We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Chicken” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elwell Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Elwell Grill
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Chicken”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We love the new place, recycled. We love going to this local nice restaurant with great food. Patrick the owner seems to always be on hand, talking and joking with us as he works his way among his guests. The pan fried chicken and cheesy potatoes are my favorites

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
274 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Finally back where he belongs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Formerly Patricks, then some overpriced Bistro, now the original owner took his restaurant back and we have become regulars. We have been here now 4 times, 3 for dinner, once for lunch. The service is great and the food is wonderful. My only disappointment has been the side dinner salads. The lettuce just isn't fresh enough for my liking.
I have had the turkey dinner, the ribs, and the chicken pot pie. All delicious and generous portions.
I love the atmosphere as well.
The bar is cozy with booths on one side to give some intimacy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kathy203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful family run business with great food and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Fabulous Restaurant with great food and service.

Had a brilliant meal here with a work group, after a personal recommendation from a colleague.
Brilliant service, couldn't ask for more attentive staff. The food choices were great although they did run out of the steak I wanted but the ribs I had as a substitute were a great alternative.

We were fortunate enough to meet the owner and discuss some of his previous clientele, Muhammed Ali, Tom Jones to name but two. Really gracious and friendly guy with some brilliant anecdotes.
I real must if you are in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
353 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Welcome Back Patrick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

A wonderful menu with a flair for unique dishes await your visit. We have never been disappointed with the high quality and personal attention that Patrick Elwell gives to his restaurant. His crab cakes and specials offer great food at reasonable prices. This is a jewel in the renovated 'downtown' Auburn Hills. We loved the trip down nostalgia lane with the photos of celebrities who have come to Patrick's restaurants to dine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A tradition returns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Very nice restaurant. The proprietor was famous as Patrick's, and he has reopened with all the tradition of fine food, friendly service and a personal touch for which Patrick was famous !!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank billcamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elwell Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing