We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere for Kids But...”
Review of Rainforest Cafe

Rainforest Cafe
Ranked #3 of 130 Restaurants in Auburn Hills
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere for Kids But...”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great Atmosphere for Kids but the food was not so good. The ingredients in my beef wrap was unidentifiable and the sauce that accompanied the wrap was not edible due to the horrible taste. The kids didn't finish their meals which is rare when they do their own ordering. The girl server was friendly and professional which took the edge off the poor food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Golfeverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    84
    75
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

First, let me say that the atmosphere in this place is pretty cool. My son loved all the meschanical animals, the rainforest theme and the storms every 10-15 minutes. I, on the other hand, could not get over the prices! Yikes! Hard to find any dinner plate that didn't cost almost $20 per person. Had the food been spectacular, then maybe that would have changed my mind, but it wasn't. It was okay, at best. So, this will most likely be the last time I venture into the rainforest cafe again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

The wife and I have been taking the kids here for years, and we always receive great service and very good food. I wouldn't go so far as to say the food is outstanding, although it is quite good. However, we really enjoy the atmosphere and the wait staff. Every single employee there has gone out of their way to provide great service and friendly interaction. The kids love the decor, the thunderstorms, the animals, and of course the tropical fish that are on display.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pentastarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The kids love it, but to me over rated”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The kids lvoe coming to the Rainforest Cafe. I could pass it up and not look back. Food is over priced, and average. Service sucked the last time I was to the Auburn Hills Michgan location.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful 1st Visit. Highly recommend it.”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

It was our first visit to the rainforest cafe and what a lovely visit it was too. We took our 2 year old granddaughter who loved the aquariums and the animals all over the restaurant. The food was excellent and the service was superb. It is a little more expensive than the normal everyday restaurant. The food was also of a superior standard and well worth the extra cost. The menu was varied with lots of lovely choices. Will recommend this to everyone and will try and fit in another visit before we go home.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Cafe also viewed

 
Rochester Hills, MI
 

Been to Rainforest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing