We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nasty customer service, dirty noisy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd.
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Auburn Hills
markham, on
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nasty customer service, dirty noisy hotel”
Reviewed October 19, 2007

I was stayed in this cheap terrible hotel on oct 2007 for 2 nights with my family. We were 4 ppl in the trip and booked 2 rooms. I was the one who booked the rooms through their website because I stayed with their other property before and they will email me a promotional code every week! This hotel is so dirty the carpet is not clean and the air conditioning is not working, due to the long trip in the day and the weather is not that hot so we were too tired to ask to change rooms. But the wall is so thin you can hear everything in the lounge and the next room, it was so noisy in the morning 7-10am from the ppl warking in the lounge we couldn't sleep until we wanted to. Remember we had booked for 2 nights we don't need to wake up so earily to check out! We tried to fly some eggs in the morning but the fan in the kitchen is FAKE, not a REAL fan with suck all the smoke outside of the room, the room was full of smoke that we had to stop cooking and opened all the windons and door. The kitchen was useless because you can't use it without a fan and there had NO REAL FAN. Finally we checked out on the 3rd morning when we looked at the bill they didn't give us a $20off for the promotional code we booked for, they keep saying that we didn't had the code when we were booked the rooms. Well! I received their email every week and book right through from that email with the promotional code but they refuse to give us. $20off is not a big deal when you were going on a vacation, the problem was the attitude of their stuff was so bad, his name is Frederick! The way he was EXPLAINING to us was so rude! You will know he was saying we were cheap to begging $20off. When we tell him that we could show him about the booking comformation email with the $20off promotional code he said their hotel didn't had a computer?!? what a joke!! A hotel didn't had a computer?!? I think his just making excuse to not giving us the discount! We argued with him in the lobby for 15 mins, because we still had plans we need to leave that hotel. When I got home I wrote a letter to the hotel to complaint about this, the other joke is their hotel manager reply me a letter saying that I had 3 people in the room and didn't charged us for the extra persons, we saved far more than $20?!? come on, we were 4 ppl but we had 2 rooms, where was the extra person?!? I reply the letter to them saying we didn't had extra person but they didn't reply to me again! So, DON'T STAY THIS HOTEL. THE HOTEL IS DIRTY , THE STUFF ARE RUDE AND FULL OF NONSENSE!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bbtam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    21
    11
    8
    24
See reviews for
17
19
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2007

I booked this for a one night stay to do a little shopping in the area. There were only two of us, and as we had booked through Priceline (paying a total of under $40 including taxes) we were given a "studio" room, their smallest. The first room we were given had ants in the bathroom. After killing them and watching more reappear from under the molding that separated the bathroom tile from the carpeted area, I called the desk to ask for a different room. We were moved to the second floor and were happy to see no ants. However, we did notice that the remote for the TV would not work.

We stopped at the desk and asked for a new battery for the remote and we were told that the problem was not the battery but that the remotes kept deprogramming themselves. The clerk wrote out instructions for us to reprogram the remote and said if we were unable to fix the problem she would be happy to come up and do it for us. We didn't need her help and took care of it ourselves.

Despite the couple of snags, I gave this hotel 3 stars because it was such an excellent value at the price we paid. Beware that this hotel provides T.P. and soap in the bathrooms but no shampoo, conditioner, or other amenities. There was a coffeemaker in the kitchen area with a packet of coffee but we chose to get our morning coffee from the breakfast area downstairs in the morning.

Breakfast was a very basic setup of cold waffles, pancakes, and bagels that you could warm up in the toaster. I think it could get ugly down there with only one 4-slice toaster for everyone to use, but it was not busy while we were there. There were also some apples, juice, and 2 coffee blends available. I missed my morning oatmeal, but again, for the price we paid...

  • Liked — The Price! Having the kitchen would have been a big plus if we were staying longer but it didn't really come into play on this trip.
  • Disliked — I would not recommend this hotel for a group of more than 2 unless you book several rooms. Also not recommended if you don't feel comfortable sharing a bed with your travelmate. Oh, also not recommended if you can't pick up after yourself - there is no maid service on a daily basis.
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElCheapster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2005

Stayed here on the weekend and there was one incident after another that left me dissatisfied. First of all, they could not provide us with room types as reserved. Told us to come back in a few hours. When we did so, they still didn't have a room of any description to give us. Finally, a room of a different type was found.

Then, went out to breakfast the next day and came back to find out we were locked out of our rooms. Had to wait in line at the front desk until we could get our cards reprogrammed. The last day, we received a call 5 minutes after checkout time telling us to vacate our room as we were scheduled to check out. I've infrequently been 5-15 minutes late leaving a room and have never received such a call - - it seemed especially rude since we had to wait hours to get into a room, but we couldn't be 5 minutes late leaving it.

Also, they described the rooms I reserved as a 2 room suite. By my counting there were two rooms - - one was a kitchen, living, dining, bedroom which were all pretty much wide open to each other and the other was the bathroom.

Finally, the rooms would have been nice if they have been clean. Walls and carpets seemed stained and grubby. Thankfully, the linens appeared to be fresh in at least one of our rooms.

Stay somewhere else in Auburn Hills. The Staybridge Suites and Hilton Suites are much nicer and worth the extra $20 or so it costs.

p.s. check the reviews for Extended Stay Americas in Auburn Hills carefully. I think some people have gotten the ones on Doris Rd. and Featherstone Rd. mixed up. The good review for the Featherstone property and the bad review for the Doris Rd. property are mixed up in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucretia3221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2004

Recently visited Detroit/Auburn Hills on vacation to tour Chrysler & Ford museums and operations, needed room for 5 nights. This property was a link on Southwest Airlines site; had previously not heard of this chain. Few web postings existed, but one said this was a newer facility that could be had with great rates. Believe it! Clean facility, great friendly staff, continental breakfast, kitchenette (with dishes & silverware) & microwave, recliner & workstation, coin laundry in vending areas, pool (open till 10 PM) and high-speed internet access - all at $54/night (rack rate at $89.00). No restaurant on premises, but plenty within 1-3 miles; Wal-Mart within 1 mile, should you have forgotten something. Chrysler Group HQ within 1/2 mile across the interstate; Pontiac Silverdome around the corner. Would HIGHLY recommend; will use again next visit to Auburn Hills.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPTurnerNashville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auburn Hills hotels
0.1 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
Sonesta ES Suites Auburn Hills
#5 of 17 in Auburn Hills
285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
Quality Inn Auburn Hills
#3 of 17 in Auburn Hills
321 reviews
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - I -75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Auburn Hills
2.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - University Drive
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit/Auburn Hills South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd.

Property: Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd.
Address: 2100 Featherstone Rd, Auburn Hills, MI 48326-2804 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Auburn Hills
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Auburn Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Extended Stay, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Auburn Hills - Featherstone Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe Auburn Hills/Featherstone Hotel Auburn Hills
Auburn Hills Extended Stay
Extended Stay Auburn Hills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing