We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh Not so great”

Bd's Mongolian Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Bd's Mongolian Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 129 Restaurants in Auburn Hills
Cuisines: Mongolian
Restaurant details
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Eh Not so great”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Typical for a BD's, just not into the mass produced grill top food anymore, the food is what you make of it since you choose the ingredients, but service is just ok...

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yuck”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Chain restaurant with nothing but chicken with a ton of preservatives in it. The food is so terrible, I can't begin to describe it, but it is a popular bar atmosphere for adults with children and the view outside is beautiful in the summer.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie48359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bland on First Visit”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Pros:
Lots of choices, fresh ingredients, friendly staff

Cons:
Unless you know what you're doing, the food will be bland, overcooking is common

I love the idea but the execution is flawed. Choose your own ingredients -- and as much as you can pack into the bowl -- but you need to either be a chef or a multi-time visitor to get something that has a good flavor. If I'm spending $15 bucks on dinner I want the restaurant to prepare the food for me. No thanks.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoGetemTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level Contributor
348 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Fun food, cooked fresh”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Love selecting the veggies and meats I want. Enjoy the brown rice and sauces too. Its fun to watch the grill master use the lllooonnng spatula's to turn your food on the huge flat grill.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Candace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison Township, MI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food okay - atmosphere not so good”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We went to the one in Sterling Heights, MI and our biggest issue with the restaurant was that for us it was incredibly noisy. Because there are no partitions between tables or booths, there's a tall, open ceiling with echoing walls, and you are in the same room as the kitchen with clanging metal cooking utensils, it gets very, very loud. Plus, the restaurant has loud music playing so if you want to go there and have a conversation while you eat, don't, or just be prepared to yell at each other. However, our waiter was very nice and the food was tasty. At the time, the restaurant was running a special, knocking two dollars off the usual cost so you go back for free seconds - or more. The restaurant should just keep that offer going, otherwise it's too much just for one shot at the grill. Likely you'd want to pay the extra two bucks so you can eat more, but we didn't go back for another shot at the grill mainly because we didn't want to spend time waiting in a long line, though it did keep moving, it was rather slow. Also know that you will easily fill up on soup and salad before your meal. We went on a Tuesday night, a time we thought would be less crowded, but it was still very busy and we were glad we arrived early. It's hard to imagine what the noise level would be on a weekend, and the wait in line on a high traffic night might cut into enjoying a sit down meal with the family. I'd think managing kids at this restaurant would be tough unless you order off the menu. I think we would go back for the food, as they had a very good selection of ingredients, but won't likely go back due to the atmosphere. It was just too noisy and distracting for us.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bd's Mongolian Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bd's Mongolian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing