We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best whitefish ever!!!”

The Brownstone Inn Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Au Train
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Casual - cozy - rustic atmosphere Fresh, generous, scratch-made, comfort-style food
Munising, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Best whitefish ever!!!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Love the Brownstone, my favorite is the Jamaican Whitefish, always excellent! Tonight we were delighted with Evan's special honey, citrus sauce on our apple crisp with vanilla ice cream. If you come to the UP you need to eat at the Brownstone!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phyllishn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    77
    34
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Warm, Friendly, good food and great beer selection”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Brownstone is an annual pilgrimage for us when we visit the U.P. The food is on the better side of bar food and portions are generous, making it a good value too. They feature a wide variety of regional beers in bottles and cans. I'd appreciate it if they had more IPA. Also, anyplace with more than 6 beer selections should train the waitresses on the differences. (This is just a general; gripe and not exclusive to the brownstone. They never seem to know which beer is hoppy and god forbid a barhop should know what "IBU" is). With that said, it's to their credit that they promote the local brewers and did I mention the food's good too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint and delicious restaurant!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We had the sweetest waitress who recommended some delicious fish that was caught within the last couple days. Good beer and wine selection. We also got free dessert for our anniversary :-) We loved this place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heatherlyn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the drive.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were staying in Munising and after a day of driving we weren't sure we wanted to drive another half hour to eat, but we were glad we did. It was far better than the other restaurants we tried in the Munising area. It was rustic, yet charming. I had fresh Lake Superior whitefish and it was delicious. My husband had a burger and thought it was great. Although the wine list wasn't extensive, there were some we liked and at a good price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lehotsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this place!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

It's a beautiful drive from Munising and we were glad we took this recommendation from the desk clerk at our motel. I had Jamaican Whitefish that was very good, some of the best sweet potato fries I've ever had and a wonderful burgundy mushroom soup. My husband had charbroiled shrimp that was almost like lobster, it was so good, and a really good homemade 1000 Island dressing on his salad. Our drinks and desserts were equally good and we enjoyed the music that was playing as well. Charming place. We will definitely go back again if in the area!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaGirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brownstone Inn Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Munising, Upper Peninsula
Munising, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to The Brownstone Inn Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing