We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant and nice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Au Train
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Au Train Lake B&B & Cottage
Ranked #1 of 2 Au Train B&B and Inns
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“pleasant and nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

A great place to stay if you're considering exploring the UP. My wife and I stayed at the cottage. We found the owners kind, and a valuable resource for information on things to do. The location of the cottage/B&B was also just right for us. It made getting to Marquette, Munising and everything in between pretty easy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

Although the room we stayed in was lovely, as was the area surrounding the B&B, we found the owner, Susan, to be an extremely poor hostess. She seemed unhappy that we inconvenienced her by coming to her B&B. At times, she was absolutely rude. The home made breakfasts were poor..... little taste although the fruit was fresh and good. We have stayed at many B&Bs through the years and have never encountered such a disgruntled owner. I would NOT recommend this B&B to anyone. We did not even have hand soap in the bathroom, nor was there a curtain on the bathroom window. I wonder if this was the same Susan that all the positive reviewers met!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pietras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

My wife and I spent four nights while visiting my wife's brother. We originally chose the B&B because it was close to where he lives, and I'm glad we did. Susan was a great hostess, and served some of the best gourmet breakfasts we've had in some time. The room was quiet, clean, and had a beautiful view of Paulson Pond. We'll be staying there again the next time we travel to the UP!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

Susan provided us with a quiet, private, relaxing retreat. Her artistic abilities are apparent in every part of the cottage. The location, across from Au Train Lake and not far from the beautiful beaches of Lake Superior, is perfect.

The herb gardens surrounding the cottage were enchanting.

We could not have asked for a more personable host.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyUP37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a romantic secluded stay for a few days and would definitely stay again! The cottage was very clean, the bedding superb, and the little details at every turn a joy - especially around the fireplace. Definitely in tune with a couple in mind. We enjoyed the fully equipped kitchen furnished with Mikasa dishes and wine glasses. To our delight we found a chest filled with board games and spent our evenings on the back porch enjoying the spring flower/herb garden with candles (there are mosquitoes!) while playing Scrabble with soft music in the background. There is a great cooking library along with novels in the cottage. Many attractions within 30 miles to enjoy along with hiking, walking on the nearby beach, canoeing and tubing down the nearby Au Train River, and don't forget a romantic dinner at the Brownstone Inn 5 miles down the road.
Highly recommended and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobjean513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

We spent several days at the Museum Cottage and highly recommend it. It is spacious and includes a full kitchen, up-to-date bathroom, and other amenities needed for a lengthy stay. Outdoor recreational opportunities are nearby such hiking, biking, waterfalls and other sights to visit. The point at which the Au Train River and Lake Superior converge is ideal for swimming (sandy and warm). Great place; we plan to return next year!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank screen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

Susan Larson's beautiful home on a historic property, bordering two lakes, proved to be a delightful 2-night stay. The only minor drawback is the lack of a quality, decent restaurant in the local area.

Our "Paulson Room" faced the lake on the property, which is home to loons and great blue herons. It is a bird-watcher's and nature-lover's B & B. Moreover, Susan is the only B & B owner who left fresh wildflowers and home-made, mint-lemon-aid in our room upon our arrival. No one to date has ever made this sort of special effort or showed us this brand of kindness. The following day, we arrived home after exploring "Pictured Rock State Park" to find warm banana bread on a silver tray in our room! Not only is the B & B clean, beautifully appointed and comfortable, the owner is the ultimate hostess.

Susan's breakfast is unparalleled. She serves hot, home-made, steel-cut oatmeal (not the typical, packaged gluey-glop) as well as an assortment of quality, cold cereals; whole-grain bread; muffins; lots of fresh fruit accompanied by a bowl of low-fat yoghurt (this generosity and nutritional IQ is unprecedented--except for "The Sunflower Hill Inn" in Moab, Utah). The main course was fantastic: whitefish hash with a poached egg one morning and a vegetable omelette-souffle with asparagus.

This B & B has no competition. I highly recommend The Au Train B & B.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FreighttrainToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Au Train
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
11.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
8.9 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#3 of 11 in Munising
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
24.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#15 of 19 in Marquette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
11.3 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Train Lake B&B & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Train Lake B&B & Cottage

Property: Au Train Lake B&B & Cottage
Address: N6925 Autrain Forest Lake Rd, Au Train, MI 49806-9614
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Au Train
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Au Train
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional B&B located between AuTrain Lake and Paulson Lake on the grounds of Paulson House, Michigan Historic Site 176, in north central Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Three rooms, each with private bath and decks, furnished for comfort, supremely restful beds, thick towels Views of the lakes, meadow and forest. Country gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing