We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd stay there again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Au Train
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Au Train Lake B&B & Cottage
Ranked #2 of 2 Au Train B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I stayed in the cabin, which is a separate building from the B&B with all of the amenities I needed (full kitchen, bath, two porches). The cabin was extremely private, with some traffic driving by on the highway out front. I was here the week prior to the beginning of the tourist season, and I felt like I had the area to myself for the most part. I'm sure traffic increases when more tourists are around, but this property seems to have some privacy from the many resorts you'll find down the road.

Five minute drive to Hiawatha National Forest, 2 miles to Lake Superior, 20 minutes to Munising and Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore, and 30 minutes to Marquette. All around great choice for me that I'd recommend for an individual traveler or two people max.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank workationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Au Train Lake B&B & Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Au Train B&B in mid-May 2009, just as spring was starting to come out in the U.P. The lodge was a beautiful place to spend a couple days, and it was made even better by the friendly inn-keeper and great breakfasts. We've stayed at quite a few B&Bs over the years and some are better than others - this one definitely is at the top of the list. The scenery from our room and private balcony were ideal - we slept with the windows open just to take in the sounds of nature from right outside. The inn-keeper was very helpful in getting us oriented to the activities in the area, and even made some phone calls for us to help find out hours and schedules. We will stay at this B&B any time we're in the area, and highly recommend it to travelers who want to sleep and travel comfortably but don't want the resort scene.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dc3chuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

My new wife and I stayed in the Au Train Lake Bed and Breakfast Museum cottage astride the historic Paulson House for our honeymoon. The cottage is very cute and filled with hundreds of tiny fun details. We especially enjoyed having breakfast on the porch which has a perfect view of the sunrise over lake Au Train. If you stay here, you must talk to owner Sue Larson who is very informative and thoughtful. She will tell you which attractions and restaurants to visit, which will make your time here well-spent.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank atomic_ski_bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

My husband and I had to attend a family wedding in the area and couldn't agree on a place to stay until we found the Autrain lake B&B. Never having stayed at a bed a breakfast before, we didn't know what to expect, but it was wonderful . . .sleeping late in a huge fluffy bed and having a gourmet breakfast waiting for us when we traipsed down stairs. The whole experience was incredible. I highly recommend it to those thirty-somethings looking for a unique experience of pampering.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Maliamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

I stayed in the B&B and it was absolutely exquisite. The innkeeper, Susan, came out to meet me with an umbrella in a drenching downpour. She showed me to my beautiful room and brought hot tea and a piece of cake. What a delightful welcome! The view from my bedroom was of a smaller lake surrounded by forest. So peaceful I couldn't stop gazing out the window. And the linens! Gorgeous fine linens and a perfectly made, inviting bed. The towels were also lovely, thick and absorbant. Susan is a wonderful cook and her breakfast was delicious and different...and enough for twice as many. What a delightful and cozy place this is.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mcbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Au Train
8.9 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#1 of 11 in Munising
93 reviews
11.1 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
24.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#15 of 19 in Marquette
233 reviews
9.6 mi away
Superior Motel & Suites
Superior Motel & Suites
#2 of 4 in Munising
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Train Lake B&B & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Train Lake B&B & Cottage

Address: N6925 Autrain Forest Lake Rd, Au Train, MI 49806-9614
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Au Train
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Au Train
Price Range: $110 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional B&B located between AuTrain Lake and Paulson Lake on the grounds of Paulson House, Michigan Historic Site 176, in north central Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Three rooms, each with private bath and decks, furnished for comfort, supremely restful beds, thick towels Views of the lakes, meadow and forest. Country gourmet breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing