We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION FOR FOOTBALL SATURDAY!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We actually had no idea how close to the Stadium we actually were and we saved time and money and actually walked to the game on a Saturday!! (It's about a mile and a half) The hotel is not a "grand dame", but it was clean and comfortable and very close to Campus and Downtown Ann Arbor for a reasonable price.

It is an extended stay, so they do not clean the room daily (which was fine with us). We did get fresh towels the second night, just asked the front desk clerk and he was happy to oblige. He also came up with a couple of extra pillows for us!

The full size fridge and microwave came in handy as well!!! We would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EXGO27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 92 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is the 2nd time we've been here since 2009, and the place is showing its age. It's an OK place to be, and it's convenient for us, but...water pressure lousy, trash in the halls all night, and the overall appearance is not what it was. It needs an overhaul to be sure. Staff was nice but we didn't need much from them. Like I said, this was OK. Just OK.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mexinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The Sales and Management staff had a verbal agreement with our Engineering Firm to provide room when available at a negotiated rate. After many nights of staying with them, we booked a room and were abruptly told at the last minute that they could not honor our rate, giving no written or verbal warning of this change what so ever which left us stranded. This was due to how busy they were now, and even though they were not sold out, they tried to tell me they were. Very unprofessional.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jzcontrols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Didn't spend much time in the room, and that was fortunate. Just keep in mind before you book that this hotel only provides housekeeping weekly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DL5505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Have stayed at this facility before while visiting. Requested a nonsmoking room and was given one except the wing we were in was once a smoking wing. Still had the oder of smoke lingering. Probably because of nonsmoking nose. Garbage disposal did not work and lights under microwave did not work. We're not that finiky so weren't that concerned about minor problems. The rooms are always clean and the location for us is ideal. No room service as it is built for extended stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UncleRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

For $65.00/night, my expectations were pretty low. I was very, very pleasantly surprised with my stay at Candlewood. Check -in was effortless. Staff was very friendly- even asking which floor I would prefer to have my room.

The room itself was very, very clean and nicely appointed. The refrigerator was a great amenity, and was immaculately clean. The bed had feather pillows and clean, contemporary linens. I was on the third floor, and it was nice to be able to open the window for fresh air. The wireless internet , armchair recliner, and contemporary desk/office set up was very nice.

Overall, I felt very at home and was happily surprised. It's definitely a perfect place to stay for short trips/overnights. Close to freeway, shopping and downtown Ann Arbor. Very comfortable, and for a single traveler, I felt very safe.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5loavesand2fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I travel a lot, and this was easily the worst hotel stay I've had in many years. It wasn't just one thing, it was several things that added up:
1) Although the entire hotel is supposedly non-smoking, my room (in fact the entire hotel wing) smelled like an ashtray. The cigarette smoke permeated everything -- the bedspreads, the curtains, the carpeting. I opened the window to try to air out the room, but to no avail. Made the entire room feel filthy.
2) The curtains are attached to the curtain rods with sharp pins. I found out the hard way when opening the curtains in the morning. Very dangerous.
3) There are no ice machines in the hotel. There are refrigerators in each room with ice makers, but there was no ice in the ice makers, either.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aqualoaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#12 of 35 in Ann Arbor
568 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor
Residence Inn Ann Arbor
#21 of 35 in Ann Arbor
144 reviews
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Ann Arbor - Univ of Michigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor

Address: 701 Waymarket Dr, Ann Arbor, MI 48103-6624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ann Arbor
#8 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range: $102 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection.The Candlewood Suites Detroit Ann Arbor is nestled in the city of Ann Arbor, the home of the Ann Arbor Art Festival. The hotel is located only 40 miles west of Detroit and close to I-94. Only a hop, skip and jump away you may visit the University of Michigan, Cabela's and Lake Forest Golf Course. Concordia and Eastern Michigan Universities are 10 minutes away. Shop until you drop at Briarwood Mall within mile and enjoy 10 excellent restaurants & Whole Foods Market directly across the street. The moment you enter the hotel you will enjoy the warm comforts of home. Everything from an executive desk to home entertainment helps guests work smart and relax. With two separate phone lines and free high-speed Internet access, you can relax and enjoy the amenities we have to offer. Each room offers a full kitchen, DVD/VCR, and a CD player. Visit our Candlewood Cupboard to purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. You may also borrow from our video & CD library. If you here for the night or a month, take advantage of our comforts. Complimentary on-site fitness and laundry facility are always available. Domino's World Headquarters, VA Hospital, General Motors, Henry Ford Museum and Purple Rose Theatre are all in proximity. This is life on the road at its best.Pet friendly restrictions and fees apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Candlewood Suites Ann Arbor
Candlewood Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing