We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, nicely updated and quiet if you need it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Ann Arbor
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Lovely hotel, nicely updated and quiet if you need it”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I was very impressed with the comfort and updated furnishings and decor in this hotel. The king room had a nice bed as well as small comfortable sofa with table in front. Very nice fabric shaded light fixtures and art in the room was not cheesy, but calming and well placed. The combo desk and rolling table made work easy anywhere in the room (solid Wifi that does not cost extra). Plenty of outlets for electronics. TV was on a swivel stand so you could watch from various spots in the room. I really needed some quiet and the front desk picked a great room for me. Although there were multiple groups of kids in the hotel and I could hear some noise in the hallway, inside my room was wonderfully quiet! Convenient for visit to Univ of Michigan, only a few minutes drive away.

Two of the few disappointing things here (relatively minor) was that although the courtyard outdoor space is nicely furnished, it acts a de-facto smoking area, so non-smokers can't really enjoy that space. Though the lobby lounge was comfy with the tv off in its own area, so it didn't dominate, but the pop dance music playing in the downstairs lounge was a bit much, perhaps something less bombastic and innocuous.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanMai25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    106
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
79
23
14
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Lobby, restaurant, market, rooms all updated to the latest Courtyard standards. Lobby is spacious, open, with multiple seating zones for relaxing or working, individually or in a group. WiFi readily available, multiple workstations available in the lobby - not buried away in a dingy room down the hall!

Restaurant was great for breakfast - fast & friendly, with reasonable prices.

My room was decent sized, well appointed and featured the pull-out desk and desktop connections that make it easy and efficient to set up and get work done.

Staff was friendly and efficient - overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedalboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Had a great experience at this hotel. Check in was flawless. Room clean and nice size. The staff is very attentive to the guest's needs. They always said hello and asked if I needed anything. Had breakfast in the onsite bistro.. Service very good. Would defiantly choose to stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend when in the area for a swim meet. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms were very clean, and everything was nicely decorated. It's a very nice hotel!

The few negatives - which are not deal breakers but should be noted: the mattresses were saggy soft, the food in the lobby cafe is overpriced, and there isn't anywhere nearby to walk for breakfast if you want a choice.

Bring some cinnamon rolls along with you for breakfast and hope that the mattresses get replaced by the time you visit. ;)

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Vette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stay here more than any other hotel. Its a courtyard marriott on the new model, so if you know the courtyard model, there will be no surprises. Here is what I like about it:

1- The Staff. Friendly, helpful, polite, entertaining, VERY service oriented.
2- Location. Right off I-94, easy to go into downtown Ann Arbor, and a great korean restaurant that is a 2 minute walk.
3- I mentioned the great staff?

Its not unusual to see college teams that are coming in to play Michigan staying at this hotel. Minor annoyance. No big deal.

I am a business traveler, and I use the gym and pool. I would say that this is a hotel my kids would be happy, with a pool they could splash in all day long.

I feel at home here...

Room Tip: Bottom floor, the elevators are painfully slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korbyn M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ann Arbor, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stays! We are glad you feel at home here and hope that never changes for you! We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This Courtyard appears to be a fully upgraded property with Courtyard's new lobby and freshened rooms. The check-in staff was very responsive. There was a bartender behind the lobby bar and was doing a bang-up business. I bet this is generating solid revenues for them. Finally, they have taken out the bath tub and shower curtain and replaced it with a shower and glass doors. No more shower curtains sticking to your butt. The suite was comfortable, but the bedroom was a bit smaller than in most Courtyards and this one was in an exterior corner rather than an interior Courtyard corner which is preferable. Very positive experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KARXPRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korbyn M, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ann Arbor, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We do have some upgraded rooms with the Shower as opposed to the bath tup, though not all rooms offer that, so make sure you request that when booking! We appreciate your comments and hope to have you with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
#11 of 34 in Ann Arbor
385 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#7 of 34 in Ann Arbor
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#13 of 34 in Ann Arbor
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ann Arbor

Property: Courtyard Ann Arbor
Address: 3205 Boardwalk St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
#11 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ann Arbor 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully designed and smoke-free, the Courtyard Ann Arbor hotel impresses savvy business travelers with its innovative facilities and delights leisure travelers with its superior amenities. As one of the preferred University of Michigan hotels, the Courtyard Ann Arbor is conveniently located near research parks and the University of Michigan's campus, hospitals and medical centers. Now serving Starbucks coffee in the NEW Bistro Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Marriott
Ann Arbor Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing