We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Ann Arbor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Ann Arbor
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Ann Arbor”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Really nice place to stay. The rooms are great and the service is excellent and friendly. Very clean hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the "extended" king room. That's the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    106
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
78
23
14
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have had mixed results out of Marriott lately, many of the hotels have been run down, or just gave poor service. So, I was a little nervous when I booked the room at the Courtyard in Ann Arbor for Home Coming weekend in Oct 2011. I was out visiting my son who attends UM and to take in a game at the Big House. The hotel was a bit far from UM campus - it took me on average 15 minutes to drive from here to North Campus. Central campus is a bit closer - figure 10 minutes. Either way, you need a car to get back and forth from this hotel to UM.

My trepidations however, we're unfounded. The hotel was perfect. The front desk experience was smooth, I checked in in under 90 seconds! My room was terrific as well. I booked a deluxe King room. It was quite comfortable, with a full sitting area, that had a desk, a flat screen TV, and plenty of reading lights. The couch also folds out to a Queen size bed which is great for the kids. The sleeping area was a separate room with a very comfortable King size bed, dresser and another flat screen.

My only dissatisfaction was with the bathroom - and it is a small thing - there is only 1 light switch and it controls both the light and the exhaust fan. The fan was SO loud it sounded like a small jet engine and it is a small thing, but worth mentioning since it irked me.

Otherwise, the place was great. Clean, well kept, very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love_to_travel_NYC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I went up there to see a football game. It was a great location, easy to walk to the game. The hotel was very nice and it was kept up to date. Not extremely convenient to walk to campus and go out but it was a very short taxi drive. Perfect place to stay as an away fan. Nice bar and lobby area as well.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelli9595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This was an excellent renovation, there are only a few small details left that hinted at the history of the rooms. Overall, this was a great hotel and would highly recommend it to others. The staff, the environment and the rooms were all fantastic, and we loved the video board in the lobby, it was perfect in helping to find a restaurant in the evening!

I love the (asian inspired?) design of the rooms, the bed was so comfortable. The lamps lit the room nicely and made the room a relaxing oasis after a long day. My entire group agreed that we would again choose this hotel when we return to Ann Arbor.

Breakfast choices were great and even offered soymilk for my Chai! We loved the meeting spaces on the other side of the lobby, a great place to strategize for the day ahead. I have many great things to say about this hotel, try it for yourself!

Room Tip: The king size rooms are very spacious, and mine had a sofabed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CincyLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The hotel is right off 94 in a safe, friendly area loaded with shopping and dining options. The hotel is nicely renovated with very comfortable rooms and common areas. The pool and fitness facilities are very pleasant. The staff are also very friendly and accommodating.

The four stars for service is because when we had to call the desk on three occasions the phone rang and rang and rang. Once when they finally answered I ended up on hold for 8 minutes.

There is a limited service, counter service restaurant with nice breakfast and light meal options. It isn't open all the time, but it is open in the evening for snacks and beverages. The small sundries area near the front desk also sells snacks and beverages-- including beer and wine.

In the morning there is free coffee and tea, or you can buy Starbucks in the food service area.

The common areas have many nice seating areas, many with small TVs for personal use. Most of the seating areas have multiple power outlets. The TVs all have directv with many more channels than you will get in your room. Public computers are also available.

There is also a sitting area with a coffee table and a large screen tv. This is where our kids sat and watched Disney channel- which is not available in the room. We ordered dominos pizza to the hotel and ate it here. FYI. Dominos showed up exactly 17 minutes from the time we ordered.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnybrook311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This location seems recently renovated. I arrived late, the night clerk seemed indifferent on giving me directions to my room and nearest entrance, (since the parking lot was full and I had to park far away). Free internet

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawno360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MHardyDOS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Ann Arbor, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear Shawno360,
Thank you for your recent feedback! Please know that we take your feedback very seriously and we will address your concern with the front desk team. We value your business and I apologize for the experience you had that did not fully demonstrate our excitement for your arrival and to assist you. Please feel free to reach out to me if you wish to discuss further how we could better serve you next time you visit Ann Arbor, I do hope you will try us again. 734-995-5900.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

There are lots of hotels to choose from in this area, and choosing the Courtyard was an excellent move! Had a great stay at this property. No complaints! The staff here is professional and attentive. The lobby here is very contemporary, including a touch-screen LCD welcome center which allows you to view the weather, maps, news, etc. Our room was clean, contemporary, and comfortable.

We used the pool and fitness facility, and both certainly met our expectations. The courtyard area is gorgeous - a great place to read a book and be outdoors, while insulated from the outside world! Parking is free.

We'd certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
2.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
Sheraton Ann Arbor Hotel
#13 of 34 in Ann Arbor
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ann Arbor Univ. Michigan Area
0.4 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#8 of 34 in Ann Arbor
421 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Ann Arbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Ann Arbor

Property: Courtyard Ann Arbor
Address: 3205 Boardwalk St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#11 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Ann Arbor 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully designed and smoke-free, the Courtyard Ann Arbor hotel impresses savvy business travelers with its innovative facilities and delights leisure travelers with its superior amenities. As one of the preferred University of Michigan hotels, the Courtyard Ann Arbor is conveniently located near research parks and the University of Michigan's campus, hospitals and medical centers. Now serving Starbucks coffee in the NEW Bistro Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Ann Arbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Ann Arbor Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Marriott
Ann Arbor Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing