We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here one night on February 21, 2013. They have a program with the University of Michigan Hospital where they provide significantly reduced rates where family members of patients have a rate of $29.99 a night. They are within 5 miles of the hospital and the rooms are more than adequate. They were clean and provided a full kitchen for those who would stay for any extended period. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The room did not have a hairdryer but when we asked we promptly received a new one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDO_Sarah_L, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you so very much for your nice review of our property. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. We know you have many lodging options in the area, which is why providing you and every guest with professional, friendly service is our priority. I am glad to hear that you found our staff helpful. We strive to provide a home away from home atmosphere for all our guests.
Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    12
    23
    19
See reviews for
18
13
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

first room was dirty! urine stains on the toilet seat, dirt at the entrance, once I opened the door, needed dusting, dirty kitchen, hair on the fitted sheets....
second room was a little better. still needed dusting, stains on wall and carpet, dirty recliner..
staff was polite for the most part. i called to ask about their breakfast and the lady who answered the phone was kind of rude and short with her answers. Decided to go to a nearby store to buy my own breakfast instead. It had snowed during my stay and they did not bother to shovel the entrance.
They have wi-fi available, but on the card that is left on the table to the room it never states what wireless network connection to choose, i still had to call tech support to assist! I did make a comment to him about the informatio on their cards.
Last, I was never informed about what was available at their facility.....laundry, fitness equipment, etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strajed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDO_Sarah_L, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.
Please know that we have strict quality control standards that are meant to prevent an unacceptable situation like yours from occurring. All rooms are regularly cleaned and disinfected upon a guest's checkout as well as during applicable periods of the stay, then inspected by a manager who determines if it meets our quality standards. Obviously, your experience indicates that our system broke down. In response, I have met with hotel management and staff to find out why and to determine a system for preventing a repeat occurrence.
Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ann Arbor hotels

Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

So friendly .... each time I went down and had questions, (and I had many) she took the time to answer each. Very nice lady and very funny. Showed me a few rooms too when I asked about upgrading. Once I had a question she suggested I get the answer from the Hotel Manager Erica. She also was great and took the time I needed to make sure I got a detailed answer. The daytime staff are great too! Like the little kitchen, and the convenient location. I would stay here again. ... and you can use the LA Fitness too just for staying here.

Room Tip: Choose a room that you can look out and see the mall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl911S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDO_Sarah_L, Manager at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about your staff in Ann Arbor. I am so happy to hear you had a great stay with us and received such great service. We strive to provide exceptional guest experiences so it's always rewarding to receive feedback like yours. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I enjoyed my experience at Extended Stay by Briarwood Mall. The builiding was clean and quiet and the staff was extemely helpful and pleasant. The staff did an excellent job with accomendating me durining my stay. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and relatives.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDO_Sarah_L, Owner at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review. I was thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and the staff took great care of you. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've recently moved back to Ann Arbor, and I haven't found the home I've wanted yet. I've been staying at the Extended Stay America - Ann Arbor for the past few months and I'm happy to call this home. The friendly staff really make a difference and the mini kitchen is great for cooking!

Room Tip: If you stay on the first floor, I like to be on the inside of the hotel facing the back parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDO_Sarah_L, Owner at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy to have you as our guest. It's wonderful to hear you are feeling at home with us. We want all of our guests to feel like our hotel is a home away from home. Sounds like our fully equipped kitchen is working out too! Thank you again for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here while my husband had surgery and follow up care. However, I had to switch hotels because of the lack of cleanliness and unsanitary conditions.

There was crusted food in the microwave. The bedding (besides the sheets) was dirty and oily, with a disgusting odor. The bathtub slimey...

When I saw a cockroach by the garbage piled up in the stairway, it was time to go. The stairways overflow with garbage on the weekends, when no one is there to take it out. After seeing open garbage as well as smelling the stench in there for 2 weekends in a row, I notified the staff, who told me no one takes the garbage out on weekends and that there were not enough cans. After seeing the cockroaches, I wondered if the garbage strewn about was going to attract rats and left afraid I was going to contaminate my husband post-surgery if I picked up some type of bacteria from the unsanitary conditions.

It's trivial that the front desk staff are friendly-they can't do anything about the problems here. I'd rather have unfriendly staff, but a clean room and hotel. I transferred to a hotel down the street, for just $10 more a night, but the new place was clean and the rooms were much nicer. I cannot believe how cleanliness is disregarded here and am suspicious of any positive reviews. Beware.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDO_Sarah_L, Owner at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience. Providing for your total satisfaction, from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart, is my staff's primary duty. Hearing that we failed in your case is truly disheartening, and for that, I offer you my sincerest apology. Please understand that we maintain strict quality control standards, which demand that every room is inspected prior to making it available to our guests. Clearly there was a failure in our system during your stay. In response to your comments, I’ve personally met with all of our staff and used your review to demonstrate in which specific areas we can improve. The situation you experienced with the trash containers in the stairwells was unacceptable and I can assure you not the norm. I completely understand your misgivings considering your husband's surgery. I am truly sorry you had this experience at our hotel. It was unfortunate and completely insupportable. Again I appreciate you sharing it with us as it only helps us improve. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us with any further questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending the last two years on assignment in Ann Arbor. My "home" during this time was the Extended Stay at Briarwood Mall. The staff at this facility went out of their way to make me feel comfortable. The staff that cleaned my room (Teresa) did a great job every week and if I had any maintenance concerns Denis would take care of them promptly. The Front Desk staff was always friendly and helpful. I would like to specifically call out Sarah Humphreys for her attention to detail and caring attitude. This goes for Miss Judy, our overnight desk person, as well. When they weren't working, I could always rely on Anthony to get me what I needed. I have stayed in many place in my business travels-none as friendly and warm as this! Thank You!

Room Tip: Pick a first floor room away from the highway. Very quiet and you get morning sun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimBornick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDO_Sarah_L, Owner at Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your glowing review. It was very rewarding to read your comments about our staff. We work very hard to maintain a home away from home for our guests so I appreciate you sharing your feedback. I am so happy to hear you were taken care of and felt comfortable during your stay. We really appreciate your business; thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites University South
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Ann Arbor
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#13 of 34 in Ann Arbor
553 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#7 of 34 in Ann Arbor
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall

Property: Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall
Address: 1501 Briarwood Cir, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Ann Arbor - Briarwood Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing