We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hardest working staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
1,264 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
“Hardest working staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel itself is a fairly standard Hampton Inn in rooms and layout. It has a pool and small workout area. The breakfast is Hampton Inn standard. While we were there the hotel was busy with kid hockey teams in town for a tournament. The Hampton Inn staff worked hard to keep everything in order despite the swarm of kids. The constantly restocked breakfast, pool towels and kept everything as clean as possible. I was impressed with how hard they worked to make sure everyone enjoyed their stay. The hotel is located near the UM North Campus but less than a 10 minute drive downtown (probably only 5 miles but 10 minutes driving). There are some restaurants nearby but I would go downtown for countless better, non-chain options. We will stay here again when in Ann Arbor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaHogle, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very pleased you decided to stay at the Hampton Inn North while in the Ann Arbor area! We are also grateful that you provided feedback. I will make sure to pass your wonderful comments along to my staff members; they take pride in their work and are always continuously trying to improve our guests' experience.

We hope to provide you with another opportunity to serve you if you are ever back in the Ann Arbor area!

Best regards,

Jessica Hogle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    171
    113
    50
    25
See reviews for
234
120
48
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St.Joe-Benton Harbor, MI
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

For the past few years we book our rooms almost exclusively through Hotwire. For the most part we find that Hotwire guests are treated pretty much like full-price rack-rate guests. This was not the case at this Hampton Inn. "Ryan" checked us in early, at around 3 pm. By the parking lot we assume the hotel was fairly empty. As we usually do, we requested a King or Queen room, what followed did not surprise us, what Ryan said, did. He said they didn't have a King or Queen room and that the room we were "entitled" to was a double. I pointed out that our Hotwire reservation was for a standard room, and by the hotel's own website and literature, a standard was two double beds, minimum. His comment surprised us, he said, "if we were picky about our room we should have booked though the hotel website and paid full price." He left us with the impression that because we got a "good" deal, he was going to see to it that we got a sub-standard room. Which we did. We had a handicap room (132) with one double bed and minimum furniture. I had to use a lobby desk to do my paperwork for lack of a decent work surface. On a positive note, the good coffee all day, and the really good complimentary breakfast made up, a bit, for a so-so night's sleep. We had a similar thing happen recently at a Red Lion in Denver, but were moved when we asked for a larger bed. Seems some desk people hate to see someone get a Hotwire deal.. hope this isn't a trend.

Room Tip: If you come in with a Hotwire or other good deal, don't expect a "good" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TruckDriverFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaHogle, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. I would like to apologize on behalf of Ryan. The interaction with our staff member, with regards to your comments about Hotwire guests', is certainly not typical and I will be sure to raise your experience with our entire service team as a training exercise. I am pleased that you enjoyed our coffee and breakfast.

I would take pleasure in welcoming you back, so that you could experience the hotel as it was meant to be. Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that you come back and stay with us in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jessica Hogle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed one night.

Pros:
Smooth check-in. Had been told to get on the 8am shuttle to the hospital (I was there for an interview) but upon check-in was told 7:30am was the only available. No problem.
Applebees connected to hotel. I opt for to-go dinner to eat in my room after a long day traveling.
I liked the layout of the room, except for the fact that the flat screen TV was across from the bed and on the same wall as the couch/loveseat. Basically, you couldn't watch TV on the couch, only on the bed.
Happy to see a coffeemaker, iron, ironing board.
Desk with outlets.
Slept well in comfortable bed, no noise.
Shuttle to hospital was on time in the morning.

Cons:
Dusty (see picture)
Tub caulking needs attention (see picture, dirty/dirt rubbed off when I wiped it with a washcloth
Furniture seems a little worn (dresser, bathroom vanity)
Away from the desk, outlets are hard to come by. For instance, I had to try to move the dresser (with the TV on it) to get to the outlet in order to plug in the coffeemaker.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaHogle, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to apologize that you were disappointed with your stay and that you were not 100% satisfied with your hotel accommodations. I have personally looked into the specific issues you encountered during your stay, rectified them and ensure that these issues do not reoccur in the future.

I would take pleasure in welcoming you back, so that you could experience the hotel as it was meant to be. Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that you come back and stay with us in the near future.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your comments are imperative to our continued success!

Sincerely,
Jessica Hogle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We booked this hotel the night before our son's EEG specifically so he could swim since he had to stay awake most of the night. He was crushed when we arrived only to find the pool was closed for renovations. Not only did the desk manager let us cancel our reservation, but she found another hotel room for us at the hospital rate - with a working pool. Thank you for saving the day! The hotel was lovely...disappointed we had to switch but the pool was a must have amenity that night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mycrazylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaHogle, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that you were unable to stay with us due to pool being under renovation. I am pleased that your interaction with the front desk staff was helpful and enjoyable. I will be sure and pass your comments along to them.

I would take pleasure in welcoming you back, as our refurbishment is now completed, so that you could experience the hotel as it was meant to be. Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that you come back and stay with us in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hogle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had an adequate night at this plain property. The breakfast was very good. The service was very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and clean.
The room was smallish and poorly designed. The couch in our king bed room was facing away from the TV. The bathroom was small. The room had no refrigerator nor microwave. There was only a blind on the window. Your choice was totally dark or total view of the parking lot. The fitted sheets didn't fit and kept coming off as we slept or turned over in our sleep.
These shortcomings were not enough to keep us from coming here again. The price was $94 on a weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaHogle, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay.

You may also be interested to learn that very soon we will be starting a full refurbishment of our lobby and later in the year, the guest rooms as well. I would take pleasure in welcoming you back after our refurbishment is completed so that you could experience the hotel as it was meant to be.

Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that you come back and stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Jessica Hogle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The place was worn-down and the AC wasn't working when I stayed. I was pretty disappointed when I arrived to find out I had been put in a disabled room because that was all that was left. Make sure you double check what your booking as.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megs0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaHogle, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to apologize that you were disappointed with your stay and that you were not 100% satisfied with your hotel accommodations. I would be happy to personally look into any specific issues you encountered during your stay so these issues do not reoccur in the future.

I am very proud to share with you that we are in the process of multiple hotel improvements! This will most certainly improve all physical aspects of our hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Your comments are imperative to our continued success!

Jessica Hogle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I usually stay elsewhere in Ann Arbor but decided to try something different. This Hampton was very clean, seemed updated (carpeting seemed new, bathroom looked new). The room was very nice. It did not have a refrigerator, which I thought I had reserved. No problem - the front desk delivered one to my room within minutes. the pool area and hot tub were clean and nice. Towels and bed linens were outstanding. The hotel was pretty noisy though. There were at least two groups of high school-age kids in some tournaments. Some of these girls were staying in the rooms across from me, and I could hear them for hours. They did, however, pipe down when I used my "mom" voice to tell them to get to sleep. Still, i didn't sleep well here, although the bed was quite comfortable.

Room Tip: If you want a refrigerator/micro, make sure you request it when you reserve. Also, ask to be put in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoyaalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JessicaHogle, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are very pleased you decided to stay at the Hampton Inn North while in the Ann Arbor area! We are also grateful that you provided feedback. I will make sure to pass your wonderful comments along to my staff members; they take pride in their work and are always continuously trying to improve our guests' experience. I apologize that you encountered noise issues during your stay with us. We work very hard to try and keep the noise disturbances to a minimum and I am truly sorry you did not receive a good night’s rest. We hope to provide you with another opportunity to serve you if you are ever back in the Ann Arbor area!

Best regards,
General Manager
Jessica Hogle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
5.4 mi away
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#6 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#10 of 34 in Ann Arbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North

Property: Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North
Address: 2300 Green Rd, Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2951
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#14 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-North hotel, ideally located for your visit to Michigan universities, area companies and other attractions. Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport is only 25 miles from our hotel in Ann Arbor, MI. Situated northeast of downtown Ann Arbor, our north Ann Arbor hotel is minutes from the University of Michigan North Campus, Cleary University, the Thomas M. Cooley School of Law, Concordia University and Eastern Michigan University.Stay with us when you take campus tours or attend football games, graduation and other events. Stroll through the Matthaei Botanical Gardens and Nichols Arboretum. Browse the jewelry stores, gift shops and markets, or enjoy the district’s vibrant nightlife. Visit the Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum. Drive to Detroit to explore the history of the automobile industry and to enjoy cultural and family-friendly attractions. Surrounded by many area companies, our hotel in Ann Arbor, MI is only a mile from Domino’s World Headquarters.Reserve one of our 129 guest rooms featuring king and double beds, and a hospitality suite. Connect to free WiFi to surf the web or check email. Get some work done at the desk or set up your laptop on the convenient lap desk. Watch your favorite cable programs on the 32-inch HDTV. Ask about additional amenities such as a mini-refrigerator and microwave. We look forward to welcoming you to Hampton Inn Ann Arbor – North, a great choice among hotels in Ann Arbor, MI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing