We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Ann Arbor
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Okay, but not great”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I stayed here for several nights in August with my husband. We felt like the overall experience was acceptable, but if we had to go back to Ann Arbor again, we might do more sleuthing to find another option. Here are the pros and cons.
Pros: Really friendly and helpful front desk staff. Excellent customer service and genuinely nice people.
Given the large number of guests, the hotel's common areas including the breakfast area are very very clean and well maintained. I was impressed.
Housekeeping staff was very nice and friendly.

Cons: I'm 5'8 and...I was too tall to go on the gym's eliptical machine without hitting my head on the ceiling in the gym. If hitting my head hadn't left me concussed, I'm pretty sure that the overpowering smell of chlorine from the ajacent indoor pool would have done me in. In other words, the gym wasn't able to meet my needs

Think long and hard about a first floor room if you don't like the smell of chlorine. Some of my relatives were on this floor and they were pretty overwhelmed by the smell.

Our room was maintained (bed made) but not cleaned (e.g. the bathroom sink wasn't cleaned) on a daily basis by the housekeeping staff. I'm not sure if this is common practice so this isn't really a criticism, but just something to note. I would prefer a hotel with more thorough and regular cleaning.

Our room had some issues with dampness from the air conditioning. I didn't really notice this until the end of my stay, but the air conditioning unit caused moisture which made my suitcase (which I put on the luggage rack near the air conditioner) quite damp. Upon closer inspection, the whole wall area was somewhat damp and seemed a bit moldy.

So, in sum, it was an okay visit, with some friendly and kind and helpful staff which still left some things to be desired.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glendale_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennaSmithGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with comments regarding your past stay. I am sorry to hear about some of the housekeeping issues and would like to resolve this issue. Please email me at jsmith@fhginc.com or you can reach me directly at 734-996-4444. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    184
    121
    50
    27
See reviews for
252
127
53
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Enjoyed my stay here last weekend for the UM/Notre Dame game despite the inflated price ($299/night) for Friday and Saturday. The hotel is very, very clean and is modern and comfortable. The staff are attentive and they had a welcome gift ready for us (UM bag with bottled water and snacks for the game) at arrival. The room was good sized with a separate sofa and table and the large flat screened TV was a good feature. The bathrooms are very small but well-appointed.

The breakfast buffet (6am-10am) was great. You can make your own waffles (you actually cook them yourself) and they had home fries and bacon plus some reheated omelettes. They had three different coffees and fruit/yogurts and juices. I liked the white rice with Japanese toppings as well.

Applebee's is right next door for food and drinks and a cab to Central Campus is only $15. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBlueiFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennaSmithGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
We are you glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Go Blue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The property is well-maintained.
We could not obtain a senior citizen or AAA discount.
Our room,although small, was clean and well-maintained; the air conditioner was loud and disruptive.
The free breakfast provided an excellent variety.
The fitness room is minimally equipped.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broadway2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennaSmithGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
We do value your feedback and appreciate your comments. Discounts are limited based on events and demand in the area, however we are glad to see you were comfortable during your visit. Please join us again if you are back in Ann Arbor. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Having stayed in some of the "competition" hotels in the North Ann Arbor area, this Hampton Inn was a wonderful and refreshing upgrade: The hotel is modern, clean, and professional. It is what I would call a "Corporate Quality" hotel with all the ammenities one would expect.

Having read the mixed reviews here on TripAdvisor I was a little sceptical at first. But I was impressed with the way Jenna (GM) responds to every TripAdvisor post about her hotel and the fact that she actually seems to care about the comments.

Staff:
The entire staff, from the front desk to the breakfast crew, are absolutely the best. Friendly, outgoing, helpful, and knowledgable. You couldn't ask for more. They accommodated special room changes for my family, and even had a refrigerator moved into our room for our extended stay. Wow! Housecleaning does a great job - the room was perfect every day.

Rooms: Well kept and nice looking. The WiFi access was great, and the rooms are nicely decorated and well maintained. Bathroom was clean and in very good condition - no flaking caulk or stained bathtubs or any of the stuff that's common at the competitors' hotels in this area. The bed matress is great!

Parking:
Lots of parking in a well-lit lot that seems safe and secure.

Facility:
The indoor pool, hot tub and excercise room are all well maintained and in great shape. Be sure to take advantage of it all!

Breakfast:
The young 70-year old who runs the breakfast operation every morning is the best! Food is very good for a "continental" type breakfast, and he'll put out bacon, sausages, omelettes and more every day. This isn't 5-star stuff, but it's a very nice way to start your day and enjoy a little conversation - I really liked it!

I would highly recommend this Hampton as "the place to stay" in North Ann Arbor: We've tried the rest - this one is the best!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennaSmithGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on various areas of your stay! We are always working on the hotel condition and staff friendliness and I am glad to see the guests are enjoying all of them. It was a pleasure to have you and thanks for choosing Hampton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I joined my husband on his business trip here. We stayed in room 403 and it was quiet and comfortable. Housekeeping does a good job, and the front desk is friendly and accommodating. There's a shuttle to take you anywhere you'd like to go in town at your convenience, and while I didn't use the fitness center or pool, they both looked clean and quite nice. If you're looking for a less expensive choice, check this place out!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettibiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennaSmithGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for your feedback! I will make sure to pass your comments along to all of the departments to let them know what a great job they did during your stay. We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Tiles in bathroom not secure. Carpet needs to be replaced. Over priced by comparison to other lodgings we've stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kubined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennaSmithGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. The good news it that all carpet has been replaced in the guest rooms. We have also looked into the tile in your bathroom and have had that replaced since your stay. I do see we issued you the 100% guarantee since you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We hope you will consider us again for future stays to Ann Arbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My husband and I have been long time fans of Hampton Inns. They (generally) give us a great experience for a decent price.
First of all, I feel like this Hampton was a bit overpriced. Now, here's our "list."
1. The first room we were sent to was filthy. I mean, bed in disarray, towels wadded up, trash on the floor. And on the dresser, there was an apology note from the staff to the last visitor. Not a good sign. So we called down and a member of the staff brought us up another key card.
2. We open the next room to find that the room has 2 double beds, not the king size bed we paid for. My husband calls down and is informed that their computer doesn't say king size (then why oh why did the first room have a king bed?) Like the "boy scout" couple we are, I whip out our Hampton conformation that specifies "KING" on it. So they find us a king room.
3. A king room, next to the elevator, with a view of a wall..
4. Our hair dryer lit up like a Christmas tree while I was using it our first morning there, smoked and blew. Awesome! So I call down and I did receive sympathy from the staff and was quite promptly brought a new dryer. (I barely had time to hang up the phone.)
5. The room was not cleaned most of the nights there. Towels left on the floor, no replenishment of our products. (Coffee, cups, soap, toilet paper.)

With all this in mind, when we got back the first thing I did was compose a letter to the Hampton Inn and within 2 days I received an e-mail back from the manager of the Ann Arbor North Hampton Inn. She expressed her apologies and DID refund one night of our stay.
I will definitely continue to use Hampton Inns, but when we make a return trip to Ann Arbor, I believe we shall find another place to stay.

Room Tip: Bring your confirmation with you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hulmerishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennaSmithGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of these items that caused you to have an unpleasant stay. I will continue to look further into the matter to assure these items are corrected for any future guests at our hotel. We do honor our 100% guarantee for any guests that are not satisfied, and we hope you will give us a second chance if you are in the Ann Arbor area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.9 mi away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
5.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ann Arbor West
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn PLUS+ Ann Arbor University North
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-South
#12 of 35 in Ann Arbor
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North

Property: Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North
Address: 2300 Green Rd, Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2951
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Ann Arbor
#14 Business Hotel in Ann Arbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Ann Arbor-North hotel, ideally located for your visit to Michigan universities, area companies and other attractions. Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport is only 25 miles from our hotel in Ann Arbor, MI. Situated northeast of downtown Ann Arbor, our north Ann Arbor hotel is minutes from the University of Michigan North Campus, Cleary University, the Thomas M. Cooley School of Law, Concordia University and Eastern Michigan University.Stay with us when you take campus tours or attend football games, graduation and other events. Stroll through the Matthaei Botanical Gardens and Nichols Arboretum. Browse the jewelry stores, gift shops and markets, or enjoy the district’s vibrant nightlife. Visit the Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum. Drive to Detroit to explore the history of the automobile industry and to enjoy cultural and family-friendly attractions. Surrounded by many area companies, our hotel in Ann Arbor, MI is only a mile from Domino’s World Headquarters.Reserve one of our 129 guest rooms featuring king and double beds, and a hospitality suite. Connect to free WiFi to surf the web or check email. Get some work done at the desk or set up your laptop on the convenient lap desk. Watch your favorite cable programs on the 32-inch HDTV. Ask about additional amenities such as a mini-refrigerator and microwave. We look forward to welcoming you to Hampton Inn Ann Arbor – North, a great choice among hotels in Ann Arbor, MI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ann Arbor - North Hotel Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing